78 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I followed the recipe and they turned out great. I even used the full 4 Tbs of yeast. I didn't have choco chips so I put in raisins and pecans instead. mmm I will be making these again and again. I think I might even try making a "mix" to give to new moms.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1015092 January 06, 2010

I'd give this 5 stars if the recipe had worked well the first time. As it is, it has two problems: (1) WAY too sugary, and (2) WAY too liquid; I put 15 tablespoon-sized cookies on a tray and they melted together into 1 big cookie. To cut down the sugar shock and preserve the flavor: Instead of 1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar, use 1/2 cup sugar, a couple tablespoonfs of honey, and 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of stevia powder (1/2 teaspoon is approximately the sweetness of 1 cup sugar, but it's greatly diminished in baking). Combine the water and vanilla and dissolve the stevia powder in it before adding the flax meal. You can also cut down the chocolate chips because they aggravate uterine fibroids, but keep in mind the chocolate chips also contribute to the sweetness. To prevent runniness while baking, add 1/2 cup more flour to the recipe. I use this modified recipe cut in half to make 2 dozen cookies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alexmatulich December 09, 2009

Delish! These are super addictive and really do help with milk supply. Thanks for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mystia November 09, 2009

The cookies taste pretty good initially but have a funny after taste. I think it's because I used the max amount of yeast, but now I have a TON of cookies that leave me with a weird taste in my mouth. They're also hard to cook just right - I mostly over or under cooked them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 11, 2015

This recipe proved to increase my milk supply. Every time I make a batch, I eat a couple spoons of dough and feel immediate "action" in my breasts. I tweaked my recipe to cut down sugar, gluten and carbs. I use only 1 cup of whole wheat flour, 1 cup of almond flour, 1/2 stick of butter and 2-3 Tsp coconut oil, 2Tsp of black strap molasses, 1/2 cup raw sugar, 4-5 mejoul dates, walnuts or toasted pumpkin seeds, 4Tsp flaxseed meal, 4Tsp brewer's yeast and skip chocolate chips and oats. My whole family loves these cookies!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andariella April 09, 2015

I just made these. I followed the basic recipe but substituted the 1 cup butter for 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup virgin coconut oil. I added the 4 tbs of water to the flax seed and let sit before adding to my batter. I added 4 tbs of Brewers yeast. If you are wondering which Brewers yeast, I use Solgar Brewers Yeast Powder. If it's not cheesy smelling you have the wrong Brewers yeast. It is in a golden canister, I bought from the Vitamin Shoppe. This lasts very long! Email me to get a glimpse of my cookies from this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 07, 2015

Why on earth does everyone insist upon complaining/altering this recipe?! It's delicious as/is. I LOVE it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 13, 2015

I love these cookies!! They are so tasty and work great for keeping my supply established. I EBF my baby and have donated over 3,000oz to a local milk bank. I do recommend using less water (about half than what is called for) so the cookies don't flatten out. I also grind the flax seed and oatmeal in a spice grinder to help with the texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShawnaMommy March 05, 2015

This is a great base recipe. In order to make it healthier, I used dried cranberries instead of chocolate chips and added a cup of chopped walnuts as well. I also halfed the butter and added coconut oil in its place. Next time I make them I'll add more flax seed meal and Brewer's yeast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brokensaucer January 27, 2015

I made these hoping for an increase in milk supply. It's only been a few hours so I have not noticed a change in supply yet. But they were so delicious that my husband and 7 yr old ate them all, lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissy R. December 31, 2014
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Lactation Cookies by Noel Trujillo