Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Lactation Cookies by Noel Trujillo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Lactation Cookies by Noel Trujillo

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2010

      These taste pretty good and do boost your milk supply, but it's not the healthiest recipe. I'm a doula and I make some variation of these for all of my moms. I follow the basic recipe, but I always use scant cups of sugars, 4 heaping T. of Brewer's yeast (this is the most crucial ingredient), 2-4T. Blackstrap molasses, half whole wheat flour and half whole wheat pastry flour or oat flour. Depending on what I have on hand and my mom's taste and needs, I usually add walnuts, almonds, cashews, macadamia nuts, pumpkin seeds, dried fruit, hemp seeds, carob, almond butter, spirulina, sesame seeds or any combination of the above. I also add ginger if a mom has slow letdown, but only if she didn't have significant blood loss after the birth since ginger is a natural blood thinner. If it's been a few weeks since she gave birth and her bleeding has stopped, ginger is fine. I have added fenugreek to the recipe as well, but only if the mom is having serious supply issues. Otherwise, I recommend fenugreek tea since it's milder and easier to control the amount you consume. I've even made them vegan by using Ener-G and vegan margarine and shortening. I think it's a good base recipe and it adapts well. Every version I've ever made has been tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I make these for my wife, and she likes them a lot... I make one alteration: Only use 2 T of water instead of 4. The cookies won't spread out or fall apart, and hold their shape much better than if you use 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      I'd give this five stars once I altered it (keeping in mind that I intended for it to be a healthy snack to give to the kids while boosting my milk supply. Don't expect chips ahoy and you won't be disappointed). Here's an important note: The whole point of flax is to boost milk supply. WHY ON EARTH does this (and every other similar recipe I've found) contain eggs, then?? Ground flax is a natural egg substitute! Forget the eggs, double the flax, and not only have you boosted the nutritional value and lowered the cholesterol/calories, you've increased one of the most important ingredients for helping your milk supply! You won't even notice they're missing.

      So here's my recipe, using this recipe as a guideline. I've just about changed the whole thing, so I better just type it out. The sweeteners can be flexible according to what you have on hand. Hopefully that isn't sugar, but nobody is perfect!

      1 1/2 cup pureed/mashed sweet potato (can probably also use applesauce, banana, or finely shredded zucchini, though I haven't tried it)
      1/2 cup Suconat
      1/2 cup honey
      1 Dropper Liquid Stevia
      4 heaping TBS ground flax (preferably freshly ground, as it's more nutritious)
      2/3 cup water
      1 tsp Vanilla
      1 1/2- 2 cups Hard white whole wheat flour (also known as white wheat whole wheat)
      1 tsp Baking Soda
      1 tsp Salt
      2 tsp Ground Fennel
      1/4 heaping cup Nutritional Yeast (otherwise known as Brewers Yeast)
      3 cups Rolled Oats (preferably thick cut)
      1 cup Chocolate Chips (or cacao chips, cranberries, raisins, nuts, or any combination of the above)

      Mix ground flax with water and let sit while beating mashed sweet potatoes and sweeteners. Add ground flax mix and vanilla, beat again.
      In another bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt, fennel and nutritional yeast.
      Add flour mix to wet mix. (Depending on what you use as a butter substitute, you may need more or less flour, depending on how wet it is. You want to be able to stir it after the oats are added, but not too easily...You don't want the cookies to mash together in the oven. I always do a test cookie before spooning out the whole batch.)

      Stir in oatmeal and other mix-ins.

      Spray cookie sheet with olive oil (remember there is no butter in these cookies), drop cookies and lightly press with your fingers. Bake 10-12 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      These are very tasty! My alterations - 1/2 white bread flour, 1/2 whole wheat flour; no brewer's yeast (couldn't find it); added 7 opened capsules of fneugreek powder; added 1 cup dried crasins/cranberries. Overall, they're tasty and the fneugreek makes them have an interesting maple flavor. I approve! We'll have to wait and see what they do for supply, since I've just pulled them out of the oven and eaten 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      These are great. I have so many problems with my milk supply that I'm pumping constantly (trying to pump while nursing, now that's a trick!). Like many of the other reviewers I was worried about the nutrition content/white sugar & white flour. I found these Lactation Cookies at www.YummyMummyCookies.com which are organic and contain Fenugreek as well as Brewers Yeast. The Lemon Poppyseed Lactation Cookie one is addictive but they're so healthy I feel ok eating them everyday and they REALLY helped me. I started pumping an extra 8oz a day sometimes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      My tasty additions: 10 capsules of Fenugreek. 10 capsules of Blessed Thistle. 4T of flax seed, 4T of pumpkin seed. I blended these in a food processor for about 5 minutes, then added the 4T of water the recipe called for. The water was absorbed the the seeds. I also used 4T of Brewer's Yeast. I couldn't taste any of these additions so that's a big plus! So yummy. I felt fuller after eating way too many. We'll see what the pump says today.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      Excellent base recipe. The cookies are a treat to eat! My alterations: Instead of 2 cups of sugar, 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of honey or agave nectar; 1/2 regular and 1/2 whole wheat flour; added an extra teaspoon of vanilla and a generous sprinkling (probably about 2 tsp) of cinammon; used chocolate chunks instead of chips. The recipe made just over 4 dozen drop cookies. I was able to split a batch into quarters and freeze for later as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      very yummy. i cut the sugar in half so only 1/2 cup of each and used whole what flour and they were still delicious. because of past surgeries, i have very low milk supply but i do notice a difference when i eat a whole bunch of these. and i really hope they are ok for my kids to eat because they love them too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Delicious! I followed the recipe and they turned out great. I even used the full 4 Tbs of yeast. I didn't have choco chips so I put in raisins and pecans instead. mmm I will be making these again and again. I think I might even try making a "mix" to give to new moms.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I'd give this 5 stars if the recipe had worked well the first time. As it is, it has two problems: (1) WAY too sugary, and (2) WAY too liquid; I put 15 tablespoon-sized cookies on a tray and they melted together into 1 big cookie. To cut down the sugar shock and preserve the flavor: Instead of 1 cup sugar and 1 cup brown sugar, use 1/2 cup sugar, a couple tablespoonfs of honey, and 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of stevia powder (1/2 teaspoon is approximately the sweetness of 1 cup sugar, but it's greatly diminished in baking). Combine the water and vanilla and dissolve the stevia powder in it before adding the flax meal. You can also cut down the chocolate chips because they aggravate uterine fibroids, but keep in mind the chocolate chips also contribute to the sweetness. To prevent runniness while baking, add 1/2 cup more flour to the recipe. I use this modified recipe cut in half to make 2 dozen cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Delish! These are super addictive and really do help with milk supply. Thanks for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      These are so delicious! I used the full cup of brown sugar but reduced down the white sugar to 1/2 cup (I used organic evaporated cane juice sugar). I used the full 4 TB of brewer's yeast and really couldn't even taste it. They taste just a little savory with the sweet, which I LOVE. Everyone in my family loves these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2014

      I followed the recipe exactly except for the water. I just left it out completely. The cookies turned out great and are delicious. I know they are not the healthiest but I honestly don't care!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2014

      The first time I made these I forced myself to eat them but my husband

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      Everyone is super stressed out about the health of these cookies, but my motto is everything in moderation! I love these AS IS (although I don't love chocolate so I used butterscotch chips instead). I just eat 1 cookie for dessert and would rather have 1 deliciously sweet cookie than something that tastes like a vitamin store (sorry, I say this with love for my healthy sisters out there... I too shop at whole foods ;). I live at high altitude and these came out perfect with the addition of a few tablespoons of extra flour (a must for anyone in CO). DELISH. For those who find it watery or whose cookies spread -- try some extra oats or flour and never over-beat your eggs/butter. I think these will be my go-too sweet treat for nursing friends after having a baby. I haven't noticed any change in my supply, but I am hoping these will help keep the status quo when I go back to work and rely on all-day pumping...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2014

      I love these cookies!! I made a few change to make these cookies more indulgent. Instead of butter I used coconut oil I added 1 1/2 cup white chocolate chips 1 cup of craisons 1 1/2 tablespoons of organic vanilla extract 2 cups of old fashioned oats and 1 cup.steal cut oats. 4 large.tablespoons of brewers yeast. They turned out so so yummy!! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      So, the main players for lactation are the flax seed and most important: the brewers yeast. Dont skip this. if you double the brewers yeast and flax seed amt, the amt of sugar in the recipe helps. I found brewers yeast to be pretty "earthy" tasting (gag). Here's what I ended up doing: whole wheat instead of white flour, 4 heaping tbsp ground flax meal ( to this I added enough water 4tbsp ish to make a thick paste, think weird egg consistency) a whole bunch of brewers yeast, way more then 4 heaping tbsps, 1cup packed brown sugar, I also added some real maple syrup instead of granulated sugar, (fenugreek is another milk maker that smells like maple syrup but it didn't agree with me) I used 1 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c coconut oil. And I added chocolate chips and shredded unsweetened coconut, the coconut helped hide the earthiness, so I added some more, then some cocoa powder. I also added a bit more baking powder because of the heaviness of the whole wheat flour.... Baked 8 min at 350. <br/><br/>I tried the super doula recipe with molasses and no egg and minimal sugar.....I choked them down, didn't enjoy the cookies at. All. Which is a shame when eating a cookie. These whole wheat, brown sugar, butter, chocolate coconut cookies are actually somewhat tasty!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      the cookies taste good but they have a strange aftertaste i guess just drink something right after im still eating them i need to up my supply

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Didn't see a difference in my supply but I love this recipe. I don't eat oatmeal but these were delicious! My husband also loves these as does our son. I assume my dog does too because she stole one from my son. Lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      I love these cookies. They are easy and fast to make and taste delicious. Even the non-lactating members of the household enjoy these. <br/><br/>I make the recipe as it is. <br/><br/>I will experiment with healthier recipes someday when I am feeling creative or when the baby starts learning how to nap, but this will be one that I return to when my supply seems to take a dip or when I just want something sweet and caloric.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Lactation Cookies by Noel Trujillo

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 54

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 129.7
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    36%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 100.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brewer's yeast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites