95 Reviews

These taste pretty good and do boost your milk supply, but it's not the healthiest recipe. I'm a doula and I make some variation of these for all of my moms. I follow the basic recipe, but I always use scant cups of sugars, 4 heaping T. of Brewer's yeast (this is the most crucial ingredient), 2-4T. Blackstrap molasses, half whole wheat flour and half whole wheat pastry flour or oat flour. Depending on what I have on hand and my mom's taste and needs, I usually add walnuts, almonds, cashews, macadamia nuts, pumpkin seeds, dried fruit, hemp seeds, carob, almond butter, spirulina, sesame seeds or any combination of the above. I also add ginger if a mom has slow letdown, but only if she didn't have significant blood loss after the birth since ginger is a natural blood thinner. If it's been a few weeks since she gave birth and her bleeding has stopped, ginger is fine. I have added fenugreek to the recipe as well, but only if the mom is having serious supply issues. Otherwise, I recommend fenugreek tea since it's milder and easier to control the amount you consume. I've even made them vegan by using Ener-G and vegan margarine and shortening. I think it's a good base recipe and it adapts well. Every version I've ever made has been tasty.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noochie_Mama September 09, 2010

I make these for my wife, and she likes them a lot... I make one alteration: Only use 2 T of water instead of 4. The cookies won't spread out or fall apart, and hold their shape much better than if you use 4.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tcox82 January 11, 2011

These are great. I have so many problems with my milk supply that I'm pumping constantly (trying to pump while nursing, now that's a trick!). Like many of the other reviewers I was worried about the nutrition content/white sugar & white flour. I found these Lactation Cookies at www.YummyMummyCookies.com which are organic and contain Fenugreek as well as Brewers Yeast. The Lemon Poppyseed Lactation Cookie one is addictive but they're so healthy I feel ok eating them everyday and they REALLY helped me. I started pumping an extra 8oz a day sometimes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
123.helloski April 05, 2010

I'd give this five stars once I altered it (keeping in mind that I intended for it to be a healthy snack to give to the kids while boosting my milk supply. Don't expect chips ahoy and you won't be disappointed). Here's an important note: The whole point of flax is to boost milk supply. WHY ON EARTH does this (and every other similar recipe I've found) contain eggs, then?? Ground flax is a natural egg substitute! Forget the eggs, double the flax, and not only have you boosted the nutritional value and lowered the cholesterol/calories, you've increased one of the most important ingredients for helping your milk supply! You won't even notice they're missing.

So here's my recipe, using this recipe as a guideline. I've just about changed the whole thing, so I better just type it out. The sweeteners can be flexible according to what you have on hand. Hopefully that isn't sugar, but nobody is perfect!

1 1/2 cup pureed/mashed sweet potato (can probably also use applesauce, banana, or finely shredded zucchini, though I haven't tried it)
1/2 cup Suconat
1/2 cup honey
1 Dropper Liquid Stevia
4 heaping TBS ground flax (preferably freshly ground, as it's more nutritious)
2/3 cup water
1 tsp Vanilla
1 1/2- 2 cups Hard white whole wheat flour (also known as white wheat whole wheat)
1 tsp Baking Soda
1 tsp Salt
2 tsp Ground Fennel
1/4 heaping cup Nutritional Yeast (otherwise known as Brewers Yeast)
3 cups Rolled Oats (preferably thick cut)
1 cup Chocolate Chips (or cacao chips, cranberries, raisins, nuts, or any combination of the above)

Mix ground flax with water and let sit while beating mashed sweet potatoes and sweeteners. Add ground flax mix and vanilla, beat again.
In another bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt, fennel and nutritional yeast.
Add flour mix to wet mix. (Depending on what you use as a butter substitute, you may need more or less flour, depending on how wet it is. You want to be able to stir it after the oats are added, but not too easily...You don't want the cookies to mash together in the oven. I always do a test cookie before spooning out the whole batch.)

Stir in oatmeal and other mix-ins.

Spray cookie sheet with olive oil (remember there is no butter in these cookies), drop cookies and lightly press with your fingers. Bake 10-12 minutes.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodnightyousleepyhead October 30, 2012

These are very tasty! My alterations - 1/2 white bread flour, 1/2 whole wheat flour; no brewer's yeast (couldn't find it); added 7 opened capsules of fneugreek powder; added 1 cup dried crasins/cranberries. Overall, they're tasty and the fneugreek makes them have an interesting maple flavor. I approve! We'll have to wait and see what they do for supply, since I've just pulled them out of the oven and eaten 3.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theldara1 November 21, 2010

Ok first off, thanks so much for the awesome recipe. I have made this a few times now and after a little bit of tweaking and trial and error, I've pretty much got the hang of this recipe. The things I tweaked were as follows:<br/><br/>Flax and water: I am generous with my 2Tbs Flax and instead of 4 Tbs of water I did 2.<br/>Brewers Yeast: I am also very generous on my 4Tbs of Brewers Yeast. <br/><br/>The result is a nice fat great looking cookie that tastes awesome and has a bit extra of the main ingredients that help with milk production. On my first attempt I think the extra water made my cookies flat like a pancake, so these tweaks definitely made a difference in that, and now they are plump and attractive, especially for giving as gifts.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie M. January 25, 2014

Delicious! I followed the recipe and they turned out great. I even used the full 4 Tbs of yeast. I didn't have choco chips so I put in raisins and pecans instead. mmm I will be making these again and again. I think I might even try making a "mix" to give to new moms.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1015092 January 06, 2010

Delish! These are super addictive and really do help with milk supply. Thanks for this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mystia November 09, 2009

These are so delicious! I used the full cup of brown sugar but reduced down the white sugar to 1/2 cup (I used organic evaporated cane juice sugar). I used the full 4 TB of brewer's yeast and really couldn't even taste it. They taste just a little savory with the sweet, which I LOVE. Everyone in my family loves these!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PDX Meems April 15, 2009

OMG these cookies are good and really does increase your milk supply. I saw a difference within hours. My supply was really low because I went back to work and I was worried that I would not be able to send milk when he goes to daycare, but with these cookies increasing my supply I can. I highly recommend and they are yummy to.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sala A. October 21, 2015
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Lactation Cookies by Noel Trujillo