Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2012

      These were good. I used butter instead of crisco and cut out a little bit of the sugar and chocolate chips. I think I may try making them again with cinnamon and raisins (instead of choc chips).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      This recipe is a favorite my my husband and I. It is so easy to make, and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I don't put nuts in, just dark chocolate chunks. I like to freeze most of the batch and they are delicious and chewy straight out of the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      Delicious. This recipe caught my eye when I saw the ingredients of oatmeal, nuts, chocolate chips, molasses and no white sugar. I'm always looking for recipes with oatmeal as my family does not like oatmeal as a cereal. I made half the recipe. Next time I'll be making the whole recipe and storing these gems in the freezer for breakfast or a snack. Thanks for posting this easy recipe. Those are the kind I love.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      Very good! This is going into my recipe box. Made exactly as written except omitted the nuts. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Very good! These go together easily and are so tasty! I had been looking for a recipe for chocolate chip coconut bars. I found one but it had no oil in it, and I hated to make it for fear it wouldn't turn out well. I found this one and just added a cup of shredded coconut in place of the mixed nuts. It was a big hit! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      Now this is a great recipe that certainly makes a lot of bars very easily! Loved that we could eat them warm right after baking and then the next day they are just as yummy more firmed up. I did not change anything but omitting the nuts this time around. Tagged & Made for Went to the Market Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      Very tasty, and so easy to make.
      I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 9x13 for 30 minutes. We preferred it better when cooled completely. I especially loved the outer edges. Mmmm. Thanks for sharing Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      Perfectly done! LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe! So much quicker than making cookies but all the same deliciousness....I will definitely be making these again. My only change was using butter instead of Crisco :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      I had trouble getting this to cook evenly BUT I am pretty certain my oven is dying and it was still delicious although the edges were overcooked and the middle a little undercooked... The guys gobbled it up. Can't wait until I have a better oven! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      I used old-fashioned oats instead of quick cook and I think that was a mistake. Also didn't have molasses or corn syrup. Thought about just leaving it out but used Hershey's chocolate syrup. Can't have too much chocolate. Cooked 35 minutes at 350.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      These are really delicious. I like them as much as Nestle Toll House bars; maybe more. This is the second time I have made them but just now getting to post pictures and a review. I made exactly as stated except used half shortening and half softened butter. If someone didn't have molasses they could use dark brown sugar instead and that would probably be a similar flavor. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      These were good but I found the estimated cooking time way off. My bars were in the oven for 12 minutes longer than suggested, and usually my oven cooks things on the quicker side.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      These bars have a nice flavor. I used corn syrup instead of molasses and it didn't affect the flavor. I like the combination of oats and chocolate chips, as did my boys!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      A wonderful, delicious bar! The molasses taste really adds to them. Like other reviewers, I think I would use less chocolate chips next time. Thanks for posting :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Great tasting and easy~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      These are quite good! Made as half of written in a 8 x 8 pan--and it still baked for a good 25 minutes (maybe it's my oven?). Next time, I think I will cut the brown sugar a bit--maybe to 1 cup for a full batch. Thanks for a tasty treat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Yummy! These bars remind me of some bars that they served in the school cafeteria when I was young. I loved them and bought one every time they had them. The molasses adds flavor as well as dietary iron. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Sharon. Update: I have also made these with butterscotch chips, and they are just as awesome made this way. The butterscotch chips give them a totally different flavor. I love this recipe and have made these dozens of times since finding the recipe on Zaar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Chocolate to the rescue here! I had a chocolate craving so chose to make these and sure am glad I did. Oozes with chocolate! I love the texture of the oatmeal and nuts. I did sub in margarine b/c I did not have shortening otherwise made as posted. I tried to cut them into 48 but failed and instead cut into 40 bars. Thanks Sharon for posting a great bar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      These little morsels could be very dangerous ~ so simple to prepare in one pan, chewy, loaded with chocolate and soooo tasty! I'm insisting on getting a full 48 bars out of this pan so my "bars" are very small, about one bite each and would be very easy to eat one after another ~ I have to keep reminding myself, "Moderation is the key" ; ) I made as directed in a 13x9" pan. Thanks for a wonderful bar recipe, Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      These have a very nice chewy consistency. I actually like them better then the traditional chocolate chip Toll House pan cookie version. I made these in a cookie sheet pan. Baked for 25 minutes. I didn't have any molasses so I substituted pancake syrup and it still turned out great. Next time I'll try it with the molasses.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1506 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.2
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    49%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 7.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 95.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites