52 Reviews

I've made these several times. I have tried variations on the main idea: Peanut Butter and jelly bars with fruit ice cream topping and melted peanut butter in place of the carmel and choc chips; and a oatmeal scotchy version with carmel butterscotch topping amd 1/2 butterscotch chips 1/2 heath toffee chips. I've also substituted some of the butter for yogurt. Seems to be an almost fail proof recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gmomoney January 29, 2012

this was a hit at a party. my kids loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies February 12, 2015

Absolutely nummy!!! I will definitely be making these again. These would be great for a potluck or bake sale.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn October 20, 2010

Delicious. Tasted great, reminded me of something I used to eat when I was younger. The only thing, is next time I may try to reduce the overall sugar content, as it is a bit on the sweeter side.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaisyFunnel September 01, 2010

I have made these several times as the guys at hubby's work request them. They are rich but they sure go down easy! I cut them using my pizza rocker cutter (like they use in a pizza place). This recipe is Fab!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buddy3229 December 22, 2009

Fabulous! Will make these forever. thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny August 26, 2009

Sinful, sinful, sinful. DH fell in love with these at a party that we went to, so I had to search for a recipe to make them for him. I felt guilty just reading the ingredients list. Seriously--two and half sticks of butter??? And I used every yummy bit of it. No shortcuts here. But hey, the oatmeal's good for ya, right? :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen August 24, 2009

Awsome bars. Very rich so a little piece goes a long way. Made exactly as written and they are PERFECT. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MARIA MAC * June 03, 2009

When I saw this review I thought "Wow, someone finally tried and reviewed one of my entries" - but alas it was someone else's entry even though it is identical to my entry. Glad to see that people have been trying it regardless of whose entry has been used. It is a delightful dessert.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Ann April 25, 2009

I'd say this is probably one of the best desserts I've ever tasted. Perfect to take to potlucks, give as gifts, but best to just eat it yourself!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 April 24, 2009
Oatmeal Carmelitas