42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A very good cake, and my family loves oatmeal, so this is exactly what we were looking for. I cut the sugar by about 1/3 of a cup, based on the reviews, and we didn't miss it at all. It all disappeared within hours!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mymankant November 01, 2009

This cake is truly fantastic! I was given this recipe in 1967 as well but there is 1 ingredient that is different we also add to the topping coconut 1/2 cup mixed into the topping before broiling it is great! You can also add pecans as well to the topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dixiechics357_8915418 November 03, 2013

I know this recipe hardly needs another positive review, but I'm supplying it anyway. I just had a piece of this cake and it is wonderful! It is moist and has just the right sweetness, and the icing is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except I added a few tablespoons additional water to the oatmeal as it seamed it had dried out some while I was preparing everything else for the cake. I baked it for a total of 38 minutes before the toothpick came out clean, but a bit sticky. For the icing, I melted the butter and brown sugar and cream over low heat in a small saucepan, then took it off the heat and added the vanilla before pouring it over the cake. Under my broiler, the icing was done in two and a half minutes. This recipe most definitely goes into my forever tried and true recipe collection and will be made again and again for years to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks March 29, 2013

Loved it! I took the advice of another reviewer and reduced both the sugars by 1/3 of a cup. I baked it for the full 40 mins. and it came out perfect and excellent served with a good cup of coffee. I know I'll be be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 29, 2013

This is the exact recipe I have been using for 20-plus years. It was my late father's favorite cake and I made it for him often. Good with coconut frosting, cooked frosting, or plain with ice-cream. You can also use left-over oatmeal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Backwoods Foodie July 26, 2012

I was disappointed with this cake after reading so many good reviews. It didn't raise well (and I'm pretty sure it wasn't because of leavening agents that were past their prime) which resulted in a very short, dense, sticky mess. Sorry--it just didn't work for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in KY April 24, 2012

I didnt make any changes & I added raisins (not nuts). It was delicious. It was weird though as the oats seemed to disappear after cooking - you couldnt see them so didnt know they were there! This cake was so moist it had everyone trying to guess what the mystery ingredient was! Everyone thought it was made with applesauce - they were blown away to learn it was oatmeal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustGemsOfNZ April 17, 2012

Moist and delicious. I had to bake it about 10 minutes more to get it to set. Like some others, I found the cake a little too sweet, and will cut down 1/2 cup on both sugars on the next try. I added coconut, about 1 cup, as I didn't have raisins, and even the coconut-hater in our house loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amethyst42 February 29, 2012

Very good. I might cut the cinnamon down a little and I didn't add the raisins. The icing was awesome. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
akram December 16, 2011

I have a recipe similar to this that I've made for years, but without the glaze. Let me just say, the glaze makes it so much better! So simple to make, ingredients on hand and it lasts a long time and stays so moist (if you can keep it for that long!) Very nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pies & cakes & cookies ohmy! September 11, 2010
Oatmeal Cake