Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oatmeal Butterscotch Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Butterscotch Bars

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2007

      I made these for a bakesale and these are on my top 5 list for BEST DESSERT EVER. The people who gave these a negative review are either nuts or made it wrong. I follwed the recipe exactly except I used quick oats for the oatmeal. Thanks for this recipe, I will use it for many years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      These turned out very very good. I used regular oats - not quick or instant, and they were not dry and did not crumble. They were moist and delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      This was one of my favorites from a long time ago. I made this the other night and ate quite a few and they were delicious! My husband ate quite a few as well. I woke up the next morning and found one of the sticks of butter left on my counter! Needless to say, they are great with only one stick of butter! I also used brown sugar and more cinnamon (because I like cinnamon). I cooked it on the lower setting for a few minutes longers. I also think if one would want, you could use half the amount of butterscotch chips and come out with still an abundance of butterscotch flavor. No matter what, they are delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2014

      If I was going to make these again I would leave out the butterscotch morsels. They were very artificial tasting. These would be so much better without them. Besides that Nestles only makes them in an 11 oz bag and not the 12 oz called out by the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I really wanted to love these and was so disappointed. Sadly I agree with the one other person that they were too dry and brittle. I baked to bring for a family gathering and left them at home as I was too embarrassed to share with others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Thanks KMSoprano! I needed something quick and easy for dessert for supper tonite, and this fit the bill. I cut the recipe by half (because if it was as good as everyone said, I knew we wouldn't control ourselves) and I am glad I did. The only thing different I did was add 1/2 teaspoon of butter rum flavoring along with the vanilla. Wonderful! Wanted to add this,,, if you are trying to get some flax seed in your families diet, you can add a couple of tablespoons of grounded , and no one notices. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      These bars are very good. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. Will make them again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Fantastic!! I made these tonight for a pizza party at my house with my best bud and her kiddos. The only change I made was that I took another reviewer's suggestion and used brown sugar. I found the batter to be really thick but these were the perfect consistency when done. We loved 'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Very good cookie. Quick, easy, and yummy. When putting it into the pan it was hard to spread. I simply greased my hands a bit and used my hands to spread it. I did have to cook mine about five more mintues. The middle did not look completly cooked, but it hardened upon removing it from the oven. Be careful not to overbake them. Thanks for a keeper. i think this same recipe would be interesting with chocolate chips or a mixture of the two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      These are great. I made them with chocolate chips instead of butterscotch, and they were just what I was craving. I also used quick cooking oats and they worked fine, and I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan. Love the taste and the texture - Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2004

      So much easier than making the individual cookies. I had no trouble with them baking in the allotted time. This recipe uses 3/4 cup LESS sugar than the one on the package of butterscotch chips, which is why I went with it and I thought they were perfect. Took them to a school function and had the kids eating the crumbs out of the bottom of the pan! The only thing I'm going to try next time is using brown sugar instead of white. Thanks for posting! We loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      I used quick cooking oats, as that is what I had on hand. Maybe that is the reason they turned out crumbly and dry. So this is your warning against using quick cooking oats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      This was a terrific recipe. I took it to work and my boss couldn't stop eating them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2004

      These bars were good, but be warned that they are VERY sweet. They were a bit too sweet for my taste, so I probably won't make them again. But in fairness, reading the recipe, I should've expected them to be very sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      These are sooooo good. I cut the recipie in half and the dough was so stiff I thought for sure there should have been some kind of liquid added that I missed. They came out great and I know I'll be making them again and again. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

    • on January 22, 2004

      I made these a few days ago, and have since decided to upgrade my rating from four to five stars! I had the opposite problem as Kerry, mine were so soft and butter that I left them out on the counter all night before they were perfect (of course my boyfriend thought they were perfect super soft, everyone's different). I got so many that I took a bag full to work so I didn't have to stuff myself repeatedly. When I returned the next day, they were all gone! Anyway, thanks for a great recipe. I love butterscotch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      Three words...YUM YUM YUM! I made these for a group of ladies from church this weekend, and we made absolute pigs of ourselves. Easy to make and really, really addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      I made these Oatmeal bars today,and I found them to be very dry and could not even taste the butterscotch chips.I bake all the time,these are just not good at all,and I would not make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      Wonderful tasting and simple to make....just what I love! I think this is best when it is slightly warm still. My kids love it in their lunches. Will be making this again soon! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Butterscotch Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 155.0
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    49%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 125.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites