20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these for a bakesale and these are on my top 5 list for BEST DESSERT EVER. The people who gave these a negative review are either nuts or made it wrong. I follwed the recipe exactly except I used quick oats for the oatmeal. Thanks for this recipe, I will use it for many years to come.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koshka November 06, 2007

These turned out very very good. I used regular oats - not quick or instant, and they were not dry and did not crumble. They were moist and delicious!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharon.carnevale January 26, 2011

This was one of my favorites from a long time ago. I made this the other night and ate quite a few and they were delicious! My husband ate quite a few as well. I woke up the next morning and found one of the sticks of butter left on my counter! Needless to say, they are great with only one stick of butter! I also used brown sugar and more cinnamon (because I like cinnamon). I cooked it on the lower setting for a few minutes longers. I also think if one would want, you could use half the amount of butterscotch chips and come out with still an abundance of butterscotch flavor. No matter what, they are delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betti Spaghetti November 20, 2010

If I was going to make these again I would leave out the butterscotch morsels. They were very artificial tasting. These would be so much better without them. Besides that Nestles only makes them in an 11 oz bag and not the 12 oz called out by the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Mt. laurel May 29, 2014

I really wanted to love these and was so disappointed. Sadly I agree with the one other person that they were too dry and brittle. I baked to bring for a family gathering and left them at home as I was too embarrassed to share with others.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel in NC December 29, 2008

Thanks KMSoprano! I needed something quick and easy for dessert for supper tonite, and this fit the bill. I cut the recipe by half (because if it was as good as everyone said, I knew we wouldn't control ourselves) and I am glad I did. The only thing different I did was add 1/2 teaspoon of butter rum flavoring along with the vanilla. Wonderful! Wanted to add this,,, if you are trying to get some flax seed in your families diet, you can add a couple of tablespoons of grounded , and no one notices. ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Carol Kay August 10, 2008

These bars are very good. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfect. Will make them again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird March 08, 2008

Fantastic!! I made these tonight for a pizza party at my house with my best bud and her kiddos. The only change I made was that I took another reviewer's suggestion and used brown sugar. I found the batter to be really thick but these were the perfect consistency when done. We loved 'em!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer January 26, 2008

Very good cookie. Quick, easy, and yummy. When putting it into the pan it was hard to spread. I simply greased my hands a bit and used my hands to spread it. I did have to cook mine about five more mintues. The middle did not look completly cooked, but it hardened upon removing it from the oven. Be careful not to overbake them. Thanks for a keeper. i think this same recipe would be interesting with chocolate chips or a mixture of the two.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko October 22, 2007

These are great. I made them with chocolate chips instead of butterscotch, and they were just what I was craving. I also used quick cooking oats and they worked fine, and I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan. Love the taste and the texture - Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeighAnn May 15, 2007
Oatmeal Butterscotch Bars