Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oatmeal Breakfast Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Breakfast Cake

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2008

      Per DH's instruction I am giving this 5 stars :). His logic: contains oatmeal (1 star), graham crackers (2), yummy bundt-pan crust (3), blueberries (4 had some frresh and added 'em), and cake for breakfast (5). LOL these are a few of his favorite things! I omitted the white sugar and added the berries and 1 t vanilla, and used applesauce like Maito and egg sub for 2 of the eggs. This is a great base recipe that you can alter according to your mood--coconut and coconut extract, dried cherries and almond extract...you get the idea. Thanks for posting! Made for Healthy Choices 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      Just made this earlier today and I found it to be really similar to banana bread, only without a banana flavor. It was easy and quick and I will definitely make this again. I was thinking I might add some pumpkin puree sometime too. I did add the walnuts like you suggested in your intro, and white whole wheat flour. Thanks for a good standby recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I knew I'd enjoy this cake since I recently made Graham Cracker Pancakes (By Elaine Ann) and loved them. I used quick oatmeal since that's what I had on hand. The oatmeal's nubbiness fooled me into thinking I was eating coconut (which I love) but without the calories. We've been enjoying this for breakfast, snacks, and dessert. Mine turned out just like the photo, too! Thanks Marlene, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      This is a very good quick bread. I like that it uses oatmeal (though sorry Roxygirl, it doesn't taste like coconut!). I used 5 sheets of low fat graham crackers without hydrogenated fat to make up one cup. I also subbed half of the oil as applesauce (it was still moist). I followed other reviewers and added 1 tsp of vanilla, 1/2 cup of walnuts and 1/2 cup dried cranberries, and left out the white sugar. It was sweet enough for us with just the brown sugar. I think next time I would add the nuts, but not the dried fruit. Baked this about 35 minutes (30 was too short). It would be easy to halve this and make a loaf or a dozen muffins. It's a great bread, and you can really taste the prominence of the graham crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      These is very good and very easy to make. I added 1 tsp of vanilla, 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup dried cranberries. Topping this with a warm cream cheese/cranberry glaze would take this recipe over the top! Do check on it after 30 minutes or so - as with another reviewer, 40 minutes was a wee bit too long in my oven as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Made for Spring PAC 08 - This was so GOOD!! We loved it! ONly added a little less than 3/4 cups of brown sugar and no granulated sugar. The cake turned out moist and tasty!! Can't wait to make this again! Added some dried cranberries to the mix. Thanks Marlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      Very tasty and nutritious, but 40 minutes was toooo long in my oven, which made it a little dry. I added 1 cup of chopped nuts and the next time I will also add some fruit, dried or fresh. Also, the granulated sugar could be cut down to 1/4 cup or use honey, instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      Where is the 10 star rating system?? Hummmm.....absolutely delightful, smelled so inviting ly good, and it got my son up and out of bed early this AM. My family is partially vegan, so I substituted egg replacer for eggs, soy milk (vanilla) for buttermilk, and added Earth Balance buttery sticks (1/4 cup) mixing with the other 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, otherwise followed this recipe to a tee!! Easy to follow instructions, had everything on hand, and this wonderful cake was on the table before my husband went to work. Highly recommend this tried and true recipe! The only other addition was coconut, because we had it on hand....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Breakfast Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.5
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    38%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 40.2 mg
    13%
    Sodium 239.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites