31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. I made the recipe with the ingredients and measurements as the author stated and did not change it (Ever notice how people here don't follow the recipes then leave comments saying the recipes suck? I hate that!). The bars tasted great and my 18 month old ate them up!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
niami May 14, 2011

I made these for my Baci over Thanksgiving. I adapted it to fit her diabetic needs: subbed sugar-free maple syrup for the molasses mixture, subbed unsweetened applesauce for the oil (to lower fat content), used Splenda (which is GOD lol), and I didn't have enough rolled oats to make all of the called oat flour, so I added some all-purpose to complete the full cup. I used various dried fruits: raisins, cranberries, papayas, and apricots. Baci raved! So did my little cousin! Alas, I did not try them, but I will speak for her by giving this recipe (and the fact that it's easily adaptable and easy to make in general) 5 stars! - they also smelled darn good even while just MIXING!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nomnom December 11, 2002

I made these for my husband who does not eat breakfast! He loves them I use the full recipe and bake it in ONE 8 by 8 in pan. And start with 1/4 cup oil and only add more if needed. Also I use brown sugar as I prefer it with oatmeal. Finally I soak crasins in orange juice for bit before combining to soften them up. I get 8 large breakfast bars (about the size you would buy). I package them individually so they are a quick grab and go breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaysin May 01, 2012

These are pretty good! I made them with walnuts, craisins, and a few chocolate chips just for fun! THis was a great recipe for my toddler to help with and she loved eating the batter "raw." I think I slightly undercooked them but this wasn't really a detriment because they tasted a little like chewy oatmeal chocolate chip cookies....can't beat that for breakfast! Thanks for the great recipe Sackville!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender February 20, 2012

I would give these 5 stars for taste, but only gave 4 because they are pretty crumbly. I followed the recipe exactly. I made them to take along when we drive to Oklahoma - it takes 11 hours so we don't take time to eat breakfast before we go. However, I'm afraid these would get all over in the car.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea October 11, 2014

Fast and EZ to make! Yummy good! Thanks for sharing this recipe! <br/>Has anyone tried to nuke this recipe? Might be an idea for the dog days of summer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janell76 August 17, 2014

I'm really sorry to only leave a 3-star review, but this was a disaster. They did not hold together at all and I followed the recipe to a 't.' I guess I'll use it as topping or a granola type snack. Disappointing....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
campergramma October 13, 2013

These were really good, not overly sweet like the boxed breakfast bars and best of all my 20 month son ate them up!

I have been looking for a good breakfast bar recipe, he has peanut, treenut and egg allergies and we need a bit more variety for b'fast!

I subbed 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup oat bran for the oat flour, I also used unsweetened applesauce for the oil and used backstrap molasses and water in place of juice. The molasses adds a good amount of iron and potassium! I also increased the cinnamon to 1.5 tsp, added 1/2 tsp of cloves and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NinaLemon September 17, 2010

These are really good! I used applesauce instead of oil, whole wheat flower instead of oat flour (and subbed 1/4c of that for vanilla casein powder) also upped the cinnamon to 1 1/2t and omitted the salt and nuts. Thanks for sharing, this is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 August 27, 2010
Oatmeal Breakfast Bars