Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oatmeal Breakfast Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Breakfast Bars

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2011

      Very good. I made the recipe with the ingredients and measurements as the author stated and did not change it (Ever notice how people here don't follow the recipes then leave comments saying the recipes suck? I hate that!). The bars tasted great and my 18 month old ate them up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2002

      I made these for my Baci over Thanksgiving. I adapted it to fit her diabetic needs: subbed sugar-free maple syrup for the molasses mixture, subbed unsweetened applesauce for the oil (to lower fat content), used Splenda (which is GOD lol), and I didn't have enough rolled oats to make all of the called oat flour, so I added some all-purpose to complete the full cup. I used various dried fruits: raisins, cranberries, papayas, and apricots. Baci raved! So did my little cousin! Alas, I did not try them, but I will speak for her by giving this recipe (and the fact that it's easily adaptable and easy to make in general) 5 stars! - they also smelled darn good even while just MIXING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      I made these for my husband who does not eat breakfast! He loves them I use the full recipe and bake it in ONE 8 by 8 in pan. And start with 1/4 cup oil and only add more if needed. Also I use brown sugar as I prefer it with oatmeal. Finally I soak crasins in orange juice for bit before combining to soften them up. I get 8 large breakfast bars (about the size you would buy). I package them individually so they are a quick grab and go breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      These are pretty good! I made them with walnuts, craisins, and a few chocolate chips just for fun! THis was a great recipe for my toddler to help with and she loved eating the batter "raw." I think I slightly undercooked them but this wasn't really a detriment because they tasted a little like chewy oatmeal chocolate chip cookies....can't beat that for breakfast! Thanks for the great recipe Sackville!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2014

      I would give these 5 stars for taste, but only gave 4 because they are pretty crumbly. I followed the recipe exactly. I made them to take along when we drive to Oklahoma - it takes 11 hours so we don't take time to eat breakfast before we go. However, I'm afraid these would get all over in the car.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2014

      Fast and EZ to make! Yummy good! Thanks for sharing this recipe! <br/>Has anyone tried to nuke this recipe? Might be an idea for the dog days of summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      I'm really sorry to only leave a 3-star review, but this was a disaster. They did not hold together at all and I followed the recipe to a 't.' I guess I'll use it as topping or a granola type snack. Disappointing....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

    • on September 17, 2010

      These were really good, not overly sweet like the boxed breakfast bars and best of all my 20 month son ate them up!

      I have been looking for a good breakfast bar recipe, he has peanut, treenut and egg allergies and we need a bit more variety for b'fast!

      I subbed 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup oat bran for the oat flour, I also used unsweetened applesauce for the oil and used backstrap molasses and water in place of juice. The molasses adds a good amount of iron and potassium! I also increased the cinnamon to 1.5 tsp, added 1/2 tsp of cloves and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      These are really good! I used applesauce instead of oil, whole wheat flower instead of oat flour (and subbed 1/4c of that for vanilla casein powder) also upped the cinnamon to 1 1/2t and omitted the salt and nuts. Thanks for sharing, this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      If I didn't take recommendations from other reviewers, this would be quite bland... Instead of oat flour, I used whole wheat flour, & subbed applesauce for oil. Along with craisins, I added a bunch of whole blueberries (from the freezer), ground flaxseed (1/8 c maybe?), and just a little scoop of semi-sweet chocolate chips (1/8c?). Delicious! The kids (4 & 15m) LOVED them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Maybe it's because I didn't add any dried fruit, but these smelled better baking than they tasted. I used alot of the ideas of the other reviewers like applesauce in place of oil and more cinnamon and added nutmeg. No doubt they are healthy for you, but definitely tasted a little flat, like it was missing something. Even without the raisins, I expected more of a cinnamon flvor. But like someone else said --put some peanut butter on them --pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Love this recipe! I have made many variations. I normally add an extra cup of oats to increase consistency and 1-2 scoops of protein powder for added nutrition. Bars are also great with peanut butter and bananas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      These were really good. I used prunes and prune juice, and honey instead of sugar. Walnut oil versus vegetable oil. sunflower seeds instead. And wheat flour instead. I think I could have used less flour and more fruit and nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      These are really good, good for you, and they have a great texture. My son could have eaten half the batch! The recipe can be played around with and it still turns out wonderfully. I didn't have juice so subbed with applesauce and water and used olive oil instead of vegetable. Great recipe I'll be making often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Yum! Very good. I used chopped prunes, orange juice (only about 2/3 cup though), maple syrup instead of sugar, applesauce for the oil, and walnuts, turned out great. Had to control myself from eating too much :-) Surprisingly tasty considering the healthiness of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      I've made 5 or 6 batches, always with less liquid or more oats/flour. I found the molasses and brown sugar too heavy with muddy flavors. Apple juice gives a brighter taste. Since the dried fruit, apple juice & apple sauce has so much sweetness, there's no need for much sugar. This is my version of the perfect fruit-filled, lower oil bar. They freeze great and this has become a staple recipe in my house. 4 cups oats 2-1/4 cups oat flour 1 heaping cup raisins 2/3 cup chopped, dried dates 2/3 cup dried cranberries (chopped) 1 cup apple juice 1/2 cup apple sauce 1/2 cup oil 1/4 cup light brown sugar 1 heaping teasp. cinnamon 1/2 teasp. salt Mix everything and press VERY firmly into 13x9x2 pan for a dense bar before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      We loved these, I asked my DS (age 7) how many stars and he said 5 delicious stars. I used the apple juice, apple sauce, didn't have sesame seeds so used sunflower. I used white sugar, but will try brown sugar next time. Plus as others have stated I would increase the cinnamon. But those are personal preference. I also added a hand full of chopped chocolate chips. I will definitely make this again! I'm trying to freeze them because I eat too many of them. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

    • on February 03, 2008

      This is my 7 year old's favorite breakfast. I use apple cider, and substitute applesauce for the oil, and increase the cinnamon to a full tsp (or more). I use white sugar not brown- and less than the 1/4 cup, and chopped dried apples for the fruit. The apple flavors really come through. My child prefers a softer texture, so I use quick oats (the 1 minute kind) and just a small handful of chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Breakfast Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.0
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    43%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 100.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes