27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this bread! I have tried lots of bread machine recipes recently and this so far is my favorite! I do not like sweet sandwich bread so I decreased the honey to 1 T and left the salt as called for in the recipe. Next time I will add some sunflower seeds for some crunch. It was just to my liking for sandwiches, a hint of salt and not too sweet. I might make it with all the honey if I was going to use it for french toast or something, though. Excellent bread. Oh yeah, I didn't bake it in the oven--I don't have time for that last step, so I just baked it in the bread machine and the crust turned out crispy. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amieech August 02, 2011

I was wanting some homemade bread so, started to do a search that would use the ingredients I had on hand.When I came across this one, and decided to make it.Since wheat bread isn't a particular favorite around here,all white flour was used.After reading CarrolJ's review the salt was reduced to 1 teaspoon and continued on with the recipe as it was written.After placing in the prepared loaf pan,I let it rise for 1 hour and it just rose wonderfully. Baked at the temp. suggested in Step 3 for about 30 minutes and it was perfect.Thank you for posting a recipe that will be made again." Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � March 11, 2011

I was a little disappointed in this recipe although I think i know why. It tasted a little salty to me. I love salt...but I discovered not in bread. Next time I will decrease the salt to using only 1 teaspoon. I think that perhaps the baking soda + 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt caused the problem. I also used all bread flour since I don't care for the taste of wheat flour. I will make this recipe again and hope for better results.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ March 04, 2010

Excellent bread. I used a stand mixer and put an egg-wash on the loaf with oatmeal flakes before baking. Outstanding taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Apple Guy November 21, 2009

This is wonderful! I made the dough in the machine and then baked in the oven (first time I have not let it bake in the machine, but I do have to admit, the texture when it comes out is not nearly as good as when it goes into the oven! I am a convert) I used the milk and lemon juice as buttermilk substitute, and otherwise followed the recipe to a T, using King Arthur Flour. I accidentally let it rise an additional cycle because I forgot the dough, but it came out gorgeous and springy - I'll add the extra rise in every time! Spread some butter on top when it came out for some sheen. What a gorgeous loaf - I can't stop eating it! Man cannot live on bread alone? I think not!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aspiringourmet July 11, 2008

I absolutely loved this bread. I loved the texture and the hint of sweetness. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. BTW, it made wonderful toast this morning. Thank you, beccalynn, for the newest addition to my favorite bread recipe file.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely April 09, 2006

Just perfect for me! Hearty and lots of flavor. I served it with ham and beans and it was awesome. I'll be having some for toast after while!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ewokchef December 15, 2013

RedAppleGuy recommended your recipe and I am so glad he did. As my Ds said- " Mom thi sis a 10 star loaf andmake it again tomorrow. Oh and if you make this all the time you don't need to buy any other bread." I must say that is high accolades from my son. Thank you for a repeater recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie December 11, 2009

Amazing bread!! I made it by hand, because I don't have a bread machine. Instead of honey I used agave nectar, and also I used milk and lime juice instead of buttermilk, and turns out wonderful. Thanks for the recipe, this one is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nobmx October 15, 2009

Beautiful, easy bread! Definately a new favourite recipe. I added 1/4 cup sunflower seeds and 1/4 cup flax seeds to the machine at the last minute, and it turned out wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe! Made for All New Cookbooks Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen May 08, 2009
Oatmeal Bread (Bread Machine/Bread Maker)