10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really simple, healthy and delicious! I doubled the recipe, still used the 8x8 pan, and baked for 25 minutes. Yummy without being too sweet, and the leftovers are great at breakfast with Greek yogurt. Served for dessert with fat free half and half. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Torachef 1997 March 06, 2012

Wonderful berry snack! I made it with rolled millet instead of oats but otherwise as written, and it was so yummy!
Made for A Rainbow of Colour of the Diabetes Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany March 16, 2011

How can you go wrong with blueberries and oats? This is very good, but I think a few changes can and should be made. 1.a pinch of sugar is all that is needed. A tablespoon is WAAAY too sweet. 2. Twice as much blueberries are needed or maybe some other fruit to "fatten up" the filling. It's just too thin. The blueberries and half crasin/half rasin mixture I used made one thin layer at the bottom of a pan that was half this size. 3. If you are doubling the blueberries then QUADROUPLE the oat mixture. Didn't even cover all the blueberries completely. Needs more more more. I even think that the orange juice could be drizzled over the crumble to make it a bit moist and have it pick up some brown. 4. Serve with cream. DO NOT try to substitute coconut milk (big mistake).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel August 27, 2007

Oh yum! I love blueberries, so I knew i'd love this. I really like the small amount of sugar/sweetener and butter in this recipe. Made for ZWT III in memory of Amy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE July 03, 2007

This smelled so good coming out of the oven. I used frozen blueberries (thawed in fridge). I prepared the berries as directed in Fruit Cobbler (for 2), but kept the oat topping the same (used rolled oats). I also used light speadable butter. Can't wait to try it with my vanilla yogurt! Will try apples next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS February 23, 2007

23-Sep-06: I love the taste of this dessert. Very easy to make and full of flavours. I used blackberries and halved them (I didn't have had blueberries). The taste is perfect and I did it now the 2nd time in a week, so it must be perfect for me. I served it with a low-fat vanilla yogurt. WOW, a great dessert, easy to make, awesome and everyone will love it. 02-Oct-06: I've tried it now also with blueberries. Great. I think you could almost use any other berries for this treat too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thorsten October 02, 2006

Loved this! I tagged this for a game and was going to use frozen blueberries but came across some lovely fresh ones at the health food store. I did add the craisins and unsweetned juice. Cooked mine in a smaller pan with the same amount of topping. We like A LOT of crumb topping. For the butter I measured out a teaspoon of the nonfat spray butter, and then added a few extra sprays to the top. The topping would be good with a few chopped nuts in it too. Served this with a large dollop of fat free vanilla yogurt and it was lovely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit June 11, 2006

I made this for my dd and went for a walk. Just returned to a big note which says "Yummm - 5 stars!!".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy's Kitchen April 10, 2006

This was delicous! I had it for a treat forbreakfast rather than dessert.For me it only fit in half of an 8x8 pan but it still tasted great. I think this would taste great will variety of berries too. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef April 07, 2006

I think this dish has lots of wonderful potential but I may have botchd the execution. I used about 1 1/2 cups of mixed fresh berries (a combo of blueberries, blackberries and strawberries) with dried cranberries. Spread them out into a sqaure pan and thought the layer seemed way too thin, so I transfered them to a smaller pan. I continued with the crumb topping and baked for about 25 minutes. The dessert was pretty good but I probably should have reduced th amount of oatmeal since it was altogther too much even with the extra berries. Despite that we did enjoy this and I willl tinker a bit more to make it our own. Thanks Amy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 05, 2006
Oatmeal Berry Cobbler