Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oatmeal Base and Variations: Healthy & Low-Fat Oatmeal Guide Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Base and Variations: Healthy & Low-Fat Oatmeal Guide

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2010

      Thank you so much for this recipe compilation!! I love oatmeal but it can get so boring having it every morning so this is a really great way to change things up. So far, I have made the pumpkin, chocolate, banana PB, and PB & jam variations and loved them all! Can't wait to try the rest! UPDATE: Just made the maple cinnamon cottage cheese variation and it's delicious!! I used quick cook steel cut oats, wheat bran, skipped the salt, used almond milk, twin brand brown sugar, and a banana. I had to microwave for 3 minutes, stir, and microwave another 2 minutes for the steel oats (I went off of the container directions).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      These oatmeal variations were just what I needed! My father was visiting for a month and he likes to have oatmeal for breakfast a few times a week. I tried several of them (4, 5, 14, 17, and 24) and he enjoyed the variety very much. The nice thing was all the ingredients were things that I already had on hand. He took a copy of the recipe with him so he could try some more at home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Wow, what an impressive collection of ideas and photos! I thought I had tried oatmeal every way possible, but there are a few combinations here that I had not tried. I used the stovetop method for these, as that is what we prefer. I made the s'mores one first, and it was really great! I omitted the milk powder and used room temp chocolate chips so they would melt a little. The flavors were perfect together. Second, I made the berry cheesecake. Also very good. The only frozen fruit I had were blackberries and cherries, so I used those. Third, I made the nutella banapple one with the higher amount of nutella. This was yummy too. I don't like things too sweet, but I did add a little drizzle of maple syrup to this, as it wasn't quite sweet enough for me. Nuts would have been really good with it too. The s'mores one was definitely my favorite, for which I give this recipe 5 stars. In our house we double the amount this recipe lists for one person (same amount as on package - 1/2 cup/person).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      We are oatmeal crazy after finding these recipe variations! We love the apple/cinnamon and the peaches and cream, and I'm definitely going to try the other variations too. Yum! BTW, my toddlers especially love to have different things for breakfast and this works so well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      I love making oatmeal different so this is a great list of mix-ins that I have not thought of.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      I've only tried one and I had to do mine on the stovetop (just made regular oatmeal and added in the toppings), but it was wonderful. I hadn't thought of some of these combos. Thank you for compiling these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This is really good! I made mine with just some homemade strawberry jam and about a tablespoon of cream cheese. I can't wait to try other variations. Thank you for posting the recipe and all the time and effort you put into the pics!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I had the berry cheesecake with a few alterations, I only added blueberry's and cream cheese (no jam) to the oats with a sprinkling of salt and truvia. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

    • on June 07, 2009

      We just had BERRY CHEESECAKE and it was terriffic! I'm going to print out all the variations and keep them handy... what a nice change to the boring oatmeal that I have every morning. Thanks for sharing all of this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Mmm this was wonderful. I can't believe I never thought to add bran to my oatmeal. I made the honey nutty apricot, though I didn't have dried apricots so I used both raisins and chopped up dried dates. It was SO good! Usually I'll add brown sugar to my oatmeal but I really loved it with honey instead. I'll definitely be adding bran and flax seeds to my oatmeal from now on, and I can't wait to try all the other variations as well as my own. The base recipe is perfect! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      So far I have made the cranapple and the berry cheesecake. Both were excellent and a kid pleaser if they like oatmeal! We look forward to trying some of the other variations!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Base and Variations: Healthy & Low-Fat Oatmeal Guide

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 148.8
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    13%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 229.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites