Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oatmeal Apple Nut Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oatmeal Apple Nut Muffins

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2008

      I really wished I liked these, but I just didn't. I don't know what I did wrong, but my muffins were very dry and had a somewhat bitter aftertaste remniscent of baking soda or powder (?). I made these in the hopes of tempting my little one into eating a healthy breakfast...she couldn't get past taking a bite (spit it out). I'll eat them, cause I can't stand to see them wasted, but I don't think I'll make them again. UPDATE: I've since decided my AP flour was contaminated w/ self-rising and causing bitterness everywhere...this recipe may be better than I made it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      Scrumptious muffins! Followed the recipe exactly, except for substituting whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose. I chose to go with walnuts, plain yogurt and I used a granny smith as the apple. Easy to throw together (as a muffin should be!) and wonderful flavor and texture. I don't know if the maple flavor is really distinct per se, but it adds a wonderful sweetness and does contribute very much to the overall flavor of these tasty muffins. Really delightful flavor- mildly appley and maple and very tender on the inside and sort of crunchy on top. These puffed up beautifully for me and they sure are lookers! I have to agree with Kree, I can hardly believe that these are good for me! Thanks for another great recipe, Geema!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      Very good muffins. We used one container of greek yogurt which is probablly about the amount called for and raisins instead of nuts. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      Yummy. Made a few changes though. Chopped the apple, added additional 1T. oil and a dollop of unsweetened applesauce, 1/3c. brown sugar, only 1/3c. maple syrup, and dash of cinnamon. Baked for only 12 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      These were pretty good. Mine came out a little dry however and I'm not sure why. I will try to make them again because I really like the flavor, I just want to figure out why they weren't as moist as I expected. Thanks for posting this healthy treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      These are good and healthy too. Definitely not a real sweet muffin. My husband loved them! I used quite a bit more apple than it called for. I also used real maple syrup and vanilla flavored yogurt. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      These are delicious light fluffy tasty muffins!!! Would add more apple next time - but they are great as is!!!! Used a little less maple syrup - but that's because I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain! Thanks Geema! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      These were OK. I made them on a snow day when I wanted to bake something w/ ingredients that I had. I did not use nuts - maybe they would be better w/ them. My boyfriend and son did not like them very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      These were great-very moist, light and yummy but best of all, they're good for you! I added a touch of maple flavoring because I wanted the flavor to be more pronounced. They were delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will be making these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I made these today and we ate most of them while they were still warm. Very good and easy to make , thank you for providing me with a tasty breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Very yummy. I subbed applesauce for for the oil and used a no-sugar-added syrup. Very moist and lovely. I used walnuts in this recipe, fat free vanilla yogurt and egg white only. I figure that these are pretty much all fat free as well as delicious. No down side. *EDIT* The next time I make these I'll leave at least 1/2 of the oil in. These taste simply wonderful but without the oil about a 1/4 of the muffin remains bonded to the paper cup. I have decided to think of this batch as a portion control experiment *wink*.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      These have to be the best muffins I have ever made and tasted. Rather than coarsely grate the apple, I diced into small pieces. The flavor, sweetness, texture and moisture were excellent. Each year I cook for about 100 ladies for breakfast and lunch. These are without a doubt being added to my breakfast menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I am so glad I chose to make these for my family. We all just loved them. The next time I make these I think I might try to use the real maple syrup. Thanks for posting this for us to all try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      These had a really nice texture, but the lack of sugar was a bit too obvious. Even my ultra-healthy sister only took one bite. I won't make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      Fantastic Tasting! My wife suggested this recipe today (Inge1505) and I have tried it. I make some slight changes, because I only wanted 6 instead of 12 muffins. I used a full egg and replace the maple sirups by muscovado sugar. And (by mistake) I have forgotten the yogurt. Maybe they were a little bit to dry due to this mistake, but the were definitely the best muffins. The combination of walnuts, old-fashioned rolled oats and apples gave them a delicious taste. After the first muffin I have tried the following with a thin layer of cream cheese and a little bit of sugar beet sirup (a german speciality). This combination gave the muffin the final touch. You can be sure I will try them again in the very near future (and the without mistakes). Maybe I will also try to use wholemeal flour instead of all-purpose flour, because I like this type of flour. I can also image to use ground spelt flour. This would go well together with the walnuts and apples. Thank you very much for posting this fantastic recipe. Thorsten (using the account of my wife for posting this review)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2004

      These are really good. I made them and brought them to work where they were a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2004

      These are wonderful! I used 2 egg whites instead of the egg, and fat free plain yogurt. They are moist on the inside and crunchy on the top. I used Oklahoma pecans (my favorite kind!) and the pecans add a wonderful flavor with the maple. Yum! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      I tried it and these are great. They're a perfect low fat muffin for taking with you on the go in the morning when you don't have time to sit down and have a bowl of oatmeal and an apple! I will definitely make these again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      These are fabulous muffins! I'm a big fan of anything maple, and the maple syrup in these gives them a fantastic flavor. They taste so great it's hard to believe they're healthy! The only substitution I had to make was to use soy yogurt. Thanks for a winner, Geema! These will be made often in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oatmeal Apple Nut Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (827 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.4
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    29%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 16.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 238.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites