74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cookies are so good. Taste close to apple crisp..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agingangied November 05, 2011

Really tasty and fluffy, almost cake-like texture. Just the right amount of cinnamon, too. I had to substitute a little butter, as I ran out of shortening, but they still came out great; may try all butter next time...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brendaeallen September 22, 2011

These cookies are delicious! I made this recipe exactly as written... though we use non-hydrogenated shortening to avoid the trans fats and I'm not sure if that would make a difference. I also lined my cookie sheet with parchment so that greasing the sheet wasn't necessary. These turned out moist, chewy and very tasty. Mine didn't seem to have the troubles other reviewers mentioned. The only exception is that if you try to sneak one while too warm they do fall apart. If you wait until well cooled they stay together just fine. I should note that I pulled the sheet of parchment (with the cookies on them) off the cookie sheet to cool. Thanks, Karen for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustAMuggle June 30, 2011

These were great Oatmeal Apple Cookies. We loved all the chewy goodness these cookies had to offer. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn December 12, 2010

These are exactly as I hoped they would be - soft, chewy, moist, with just the right amount of sweetness - sooo good! I will definitely be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_chef October 29, 2010

I needed some cookies for our sack lunches this week and was in the mood for a nice, fall-like cookie and came upon your recipe. Came together in a flash; decreased oil to 1/2 c and still had to add 1 additional cup of flour to get the cookies to even come together enough to bake. Baked up right at 11 minutes; are nice an moist and very hearty. More of an oatmeal cookie taste, apple and cinnamon a very subtle so I may increase both of those next time and sub part of the oil for applesauce. Thanks for posting a nice fall cookie recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend September 07, 2010

These are delicious! I was looking for a different kind of oatmeal cookie and this recipe was the big winner. I usually follow the recipe exactly but sometimes I substitute white chocolate chips for the nuts...Yum! Thanks, Karen, for posting. These are a big hit in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wealthave April 16, 2010

I brought this to a dance and everyone enjoyed this cookie. I used 1/2 cup butter, 3/4 cup brown sugar and two cups oats. Otherwise followed as written. 3/4 cup sugar made them plenty sweet for our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita April 03, 2010

mmm delicious! i also chose craisins, added allspice, used egg substitute, and little extra flour. they turned out so plump. chewy inside and toasty outside. thx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Long legged mama February 22, 2010
Oatmeal Apple Cookies