Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oataroons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oataroons

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2010

      Easy and light! When you use gluten-free oats, they are a wonderful flour less cookie for those of us with gluten sensitivity. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      These were light and sweet, crisp on the outside and chewy inside - wonderfully different to your typical heavy, fat-ladden cookie. The hint of almond was heavenly. I toasted my oats beforehand to crisp them up. The batter looked a bit liquidy, but didn't spread out too much (to about 1.5 original diameter)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      Ok, I definately didn't think these were five stars. They were so small and when I want a cookie, I want a cookie! However, the taste was light and sweet which I really enjoyed. I'm not saying I won't try making these again, but they aren't going to be a recipe I go for when I am having a craving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Loved them! Used Splenda, and left out the walnuts. Also used Eggbeaters & vanilla extract. Couldn't believe how easy they were! Great flavor; this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      This was recommended to me in the forums by Toni Gifford and I am so glad I tried it. I love meringues and the extra nubbiness of the oatmeal made them sound extra good (the flavor reminded me of penuche). I was out of cream of tartar and took a chance and they worked out fine (My regular meringue recipe doesn't use the tartar so I thought it would work). I got around 14 cookies, so you might want to double the recipe if you need more. I am going to make these often. Thanks Roosie, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      These were pretty good.I had 2 egg whites left over from another recipe so I decided to try this one.Like I said I had 2 egg whites so I doubled the rest of the ingredients but still only got 22 small cookies.I would recommend cutting back the sugar a little.I used vanilla extract and chopped almonds in my recipe.It was an ok cookie,just something to use up my egg whites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      Wow! I love these little gems! I recently jointed Weight Watchers and glad to find that 3 of these only cost me 1 point! I have made these twice now with vanilla, not almond extract, and my husband and I love them. I doubled the recipe this time, and added 1 Tbsp applesauce and about 1 tsp cinnamon. I was afraid the applesauce would make the dough too liquid, so I added another 1/2 cup of oats. I loved them this way too, but had to let them cool on the cookie sheet for a couple of minutes because they want to fall apart while still hot. I really like them in the original version too, just experimented with the applesauce, and found it added a great flavor to an already great cookie. These sure do help a sweet tooth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      I am so glad I found this recipe! I love that it's scaled down so that it works with just 1 egg white, as I'm usually left with 1 from another cookie recipe. I made my cookies quite small though so I ended up with more than 30. They're great bite size cookies! They stayed incredibly sticky out of the oven though, but dried out well and became more crunchy/chewy. I found that they were a little too sweet for my liking (crazy, I know) so I'll probably cut the sugar down next time. I didn't have almond extract on hand so I had to use vanilla and it was still great. I'm sure I'll look into getting almond extract though, even if just for this recipe! And did I mention that I LOVE that it's so low in calories? Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      These had a cool texture - sort of meringuelike, a bit marshmallowy, but the oats made them more substantial. The oats toasted even inside the cookies, which was cool. I used vanilla extract and peanuts. The peanut flavor was really a bit too strong, but the cookies did taste quite a bit like the inside of a candy bar. I'd like to try hazelnuts in these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Wow! This is a winner. I was skeptical of this recipe because I thought it would be a weak imitation of one of my favorite cookies - coconut macaroons. Boy, was I wrong! The oatmeal provides a chewy texture very similar to coconut and the almond extract provides just the right flavor. My whole family loved them. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2005

      These were pretty tasty, extremely healthy cookies. I used chopped pecans, as I only had whole walnuts on hand. I followed the recipe ratios exactly, yet I definitely didn't end up with 24 cookies. Nonetheless, I am glad to have found such a wholesome snack recipe. I think next time I will try vanilla extract instead of almond extract, as I wasn't too wild of the almond flavor in these cookies. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      Delightful little treats! The almond extract adds a great flavor and should not be skipped. More substantial than a meringue with lots of good for you ingredients. I ate the whole batch in one sitting. Would be great with a cup of tea or hot chocolate. Thanks, Roosie, for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

      Roosie - I have made this recipe so many times! My children & neices absolutely love them & keep asking me to make them again and again. I usually use pecans in place of the walnuts & mince them up really really fine - the kids don't even realise they have nuts in them & they are packed full of goodness. The nuts teamed with the egg white & oats make for a really healthy snack without tasting like it. Anyone hesitant about these - just give it a go - you won't be disapointed - they are delicious!!!! Thank you Roosie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      These were really good and healthy! Thanks for this recipe!! Sorry my picture isn't the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      You can whip up a batch of these in an instant and they will be gone just as fast. My batch only made 16 small cookies which we devoured in one sitting. I made mine with currants instead of walnuts. Next time I think I'll try them with chopped almonds (not a huge fan of walnuts). Thanks Roosie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      Who would believe that a low-fat cookie could be so tasty? Try these and you'll be a believer. Normally, my husband turns his nose up at any dessert that doesn't contain chocolate, yet he loved these. Thanks for posting !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      Wowza! These were really good, the only thing was that they weren't very attractive! But who cares, very yummy. The only change I made was using vanilla extract instead of almond, because that was all I had! Oh well, they were delicious anyways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2004

      These were great Roosie! Thankyou. I loved the addition of the oats and the walnuts. These will be a regular feature as a tea time and anytime snack around here. Coming for Tea(Chai) :) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2004

      Ok. Truth be told, I doubled the recipe and figured we would eat 1 or 2 here and take the rest to a friend's house tomorrow. I mean, my husband hates walnuts so I figured I was safe. We ate them all. The whole doubled batch, in 1 sitting! Dh said he thought they tasted like the Stella D'Orro "S" cookies. The kids just whoofed them down, not even caring that they are healthy. I love that! Thanks Roosie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oataroons

    Serving Size: 1 (17 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 58.5
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    23%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites