Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Oat Wheat Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oat Wheat Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2003

      Wow was this yummy. I scaled it down to a 1 lb loaf and it turned out great. DH an I had it with dinner and I Toasted some the next day for a breakfast sandwich. I didnt put molasses in mine, but doubled the honey as I didnt have the molasses on hand. Thanks Chia, for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Excellent Wheat Bread. I did have a little trouble with the dough and ended up adding additional flour to get the consistency I thought I needed. But the final outcome, I could not have been more pleased with. Great texture and wonderful flavor. Thanks so much for sharing chia. Made for the Diabetic Forum Heart Healthy tags. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Wonderfully light without being a fall apart bread. Easy to make and simple instructions. Overall my family loved it and it goes well with wild concord grape jelly! A definite keeper in my book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      This is our new family favorite. I added 3 Tbs. vital wheat gluten and used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 1/4 cups bread flour. It rose wonderfully and had a nice soft, dense texture. Even my 3 year old who only likes Oatnut bread likes this one. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      5 stars for terrific taste and a nice dense texture. The molasses added a wonderful flavor addition. My loaf did not rise well, but I'm going to assume that perhaps my yeast was not as fresh as it should have been. Still have to give the stars, based on taste! Will definitely make again, with some fresh yeast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      chia, this bread is a real treat for us, and will make wonderful sandwiches. We enjoyed it with a bowl of your vegetable tagine, and although it's not a sweet bread, I'll be having another piece instead of dessert (it's that good). I added vital wheat gluten, flax seed, and soy powder, and used white whole wheat flour. Next time I'll add a bit more gluten so the loaf will rise higher. The loaf was on the shorter side, perhaps accounted for by my additions. Still, it was nice and soft, and not-unpleasantly dense. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      I made this in the bread machine through the dough cycle and then baked the loaf in the oven. It is a nice whole wheat bread recipe I will use again especially for a sandwich bread. Thanks Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2004

      I love this recipe! I have the same recipe in a cookbook for bread machines .. sometimes I use less honey and add a couple of tablespoons of wheat germ .. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oat Wheat Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (769 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1236.3
     
    Calories from Fat 167
    13%
    Total Fat 18.5 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 1.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2391.4 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 236.7 g
    78%
    Dietary Fiber 17.6 g
    70%
    Sugars 42.8 g
    171%
    Protein 35.4 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites