8 Reviews

Wow was this yummy. I scaled it down to a 1 lb loaf and it turned out great. DH an I had it with dinner and I Toasted some the next day for a breakfast sandwich. I didnt put molasses in mine, but doubled the honey as I didnt have the molasses on hand. Thanks Chia, for a great one!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie March 11, 2003

Excellent Wheat Bread. I did have a little trouble with the dough and ended up adding additional flour to get the consistency I thought I needed. But the final outcome, I could not have been more pleased with. Great texture and wonderful flavor. Thanks so much for sharing chia. Made for the Diabetic Forum Heart Healthy tags. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ February 20, 2010

Wonderfully light without being a fall apart bread. Easy to make and simple instructions. Overall my family loved it and it goes well with wild concord grape jelly! A definite keeper in my book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori, misplaced Irish desert rat! October 17, 2007

This is our new family favorite. I added 3 Tbs. vital wheat gluten and used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 1/4 cups bread flour. It rose wonderfully and had a nice soft, dense texture. Even my 3 year old who only likes Oatnut bread likes this one. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan_k09 September 04, 2006

5 stars for terrific taste and a nice dense texture. The molasses added a wonderful flavor addition. My loaf did not rise well, but I'm going to assume that perhaps my yeast was not as fresh as it should have been. Still have to give the stars, based on taste! Will definitely make again, with some fresh yeast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou June 24, 2005

chia, this bread is a real treat for us, and will make wonderful sandwiches. We enjoyed it with a bowl of your vegetable tagine, and although it's not a sweet bread, I'll be having another piece instead of dessert (it's that good). I added vital wheat gluten, flax seed, and soy powder, and used white whole wheat flour. Next time I'll add a bit more gluten so the loaf will rise higher. The loaf was on the shorter side, perhaps accounted for by my additions. Still, it was nice and soft, and not-unpleasantly dense. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. January 23, 2005

I made this in the bread machine through the dough cycle and then baked the loaf in the oven. It is a nice whole wheat bread recipe I will use again especially for a sandwich bread. Thanks Chia!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D November 29, 2004

I love this recipe! I have the same recipe in a cookbook for bread machines .. sometimes I use less honey and add a couple of tablespoons of wheat germ .. thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa May 06, 2004
Oat Wheat Bread