8 Reviews

First a word about bread dough: even when using a bread machine, the amount of flour may have to be adjusted due to many factors, including the weather and the age of your flour.
However, my dough was neither sticky nor crumbly--it was perfect. This rose a lot, and I wish I'd split it into two loaves instead of one. It was delicious. I loved the seasonings. The crust was very crisp without being heavy, and the crumb was tender and had a rich flavor. This was a perfect bread for sandwiches, both fresh and toasted. We really enjoyed it with tuna. It also keeps well. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl April 11, 2011

I liked the flavor of this. The spices were never overpowering, and I made some good sandwiches with this bread. I didn't use a bread machine, but I bake bread pretty often, and I found the texture to be a bit odd/too crumbly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debarra June 09, 2009

Hiya.... well, we just loved this bread recipe!! Made two lovely, perfect size loaves for just the two of us. Thanks for sharing... and your recipe is in our 'Bread' book! :) rickie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickie October 25, 2008

I certainly didn't have the problem of a previous reviewer of this being too soupy - mine seemed to have too much flour (I had to add a tablespoon or so of extra water during mixing) and turned out very, very dense. Also it reached the top of the machine and looked perfect, but when I cut into it I discovered there was a huge pocket of air right underneath the crust. It shouldn't be a yeast problem because I was using a brand new jar, so I'm wondering if the amount of yeast in the recipe could use a little adjusting. The taste, for us, was okay but nothing very special.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL January 01, 2008

Great bread. I'm going to make it again this week. Will make 2 loaves next time. I made it by hand. Duonte gave me some tips in the forums for that. "often the yeast in a bit of water with a pinch of sugar and a tsp of flour. Mix and put in warm place until it foams up. In the meantime, stir together all the dry ingredients. When the yeast foams up, mix it together with the wet ingredients. Place about 1/3 of your dry ingredients in the bowl, add half the liquid, and stir hard or mix with mixer. Add another third of the dry and remaining wet, and continue mixing. Change to dough hook if you are using machine, add the remaining dry ingredients. If doing by hand, you will probably turn out and knead in the remaining dry. Knead for 10 minutes of so until the dough is silky in texture. Place in greased bowl, turn to grease top, cover and let rise. This generally takes an hour or so, but depends on warmth of kitchen, etc. Gently punch down and shape as desired. Let rise again. Bake at 375 deg. for about 40 minutes." I did use 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups white. I liked the flavor the lemon pepper and thyme gave the bread. Nice texture. In fact, mine was a teensy bit crumbly, so I think I might use a touch less flour next time, or increase the water. It was hard to incorporate all the flour. Works great as toast, and also used it for tuna sandwiches for lunch today. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif June 26, 2007

I don't understand how the previous reviewer could get anything "gloppy" out of this if using the ingredients AND amounts as written. Mine turned out perfect. Very tasty also! I used the bread machine for kneading and did the rising and baking manually. Went great with chicken soup and sliced nicely for sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here June 17, 2007

This just didn't work. I'll try it again sometime. The first time, I mixed according to directions but it was really soupy. I assumed that the oatmeal and potato flakes would absorb the extra moisture. I told the bread machine to do it's thing and it turned out a really gloppy mess, even though it did smell good. So the second time, I did it all by hand and added extra flour. It rose beautifully but it was still really sticky when I put it in the oven. I didn't dare knead it at all. Just punching it down got it all over my hands. It was very pretty when it came out. However it was very bland because of the extra flour (the kids are eating it just fine though). My major complaint was that it was really spongy and squishy when I took the loaf out of the pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis May 20, 2007

I made this today; perfect!!! I was too lazy to bake it in the oven so I made it in the machine. It reached the top of the machine. I took a couple of pictures. I didn't know if I should include them because it didn't come out perfect.Thank you for sharing. Rita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage November 26, 2006
Oat Potato Sandwich Bread