Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nuways A/K/A Maid-Rites Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nuways A/K/A Maid-Rites

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2003

      Very good!! The meat was very flavorful. I didn't have any dry mustard, so I substitudes yellow mustard. I was a little hesistant, because I'm not a big mustard fan. It didn't have a strong mustard taste to it. I didn't use the french mustard on my bun, but again, that is because I'm not big into mustard, I used mayo instead. Other than those two sustitutions, I followed the recipe to the T. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      YUM!!! My DH and I love NuWays and so I couldn't wait to try this recipe! It was GREAT! After the first bite, DH said "This is a NuWay!" It really does taste EXACTLY like the NuWays! I followed the recipe exactly; the seasonings are the key. My DH added ketchup to his, which he always does at NuWay. This is a WINNER!!! Thanks for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2003

      This sounds great! We live in Iowa and have maid-rites all of the time! The one ingredient we add to make it taste more like the Maid-Rites is chicken broth and then let it boil--this gives it great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      Very authentic recipe! I remember Maid-Rites in Rockford, Illinois, and this recipe is for real! The steaming IS the important part, and the mustard is the definitive condiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2003

      My mother had come to visit me from New Hampshire earlier this year in Jan '03. I live in Kansas. I brought her to have her very first Nu-way. She loved them and said that their root beer is the very best she had EVER tasted. I sent her this recipe, she made it and said it tasted exactly like the ones she had in the resteraunt. My BF wants to make them soon as he loves them too. Was so glad to see this posting! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      This was very good. I vaguely remember these as a kid. I used 97% lean ground beef and the rest the same. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      I grew up in Wichita, Kansas where the NuWay Sandwich shop originated. The shops are still there, and the sandwiches are still GREAT! I live in Kentucky and crave them, so I was thrilled to see this recipe. I've tried several recipes hoping they would come close to the original, but have had no luck until this one. Follow this recipe EXACTLY -- NO substitutions -- if you want your homemade NuWays to have the unique taste you grew up with. This is a winner! Thank you, Claire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      Haven't had one of these in years--pretty good stuff! The steaming didn't steam enough for me, so I popped them in the microwave briefly. Nice memory! Also made enough meat for 8 with the buns I used.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      have wanted to have these since watching the Rosanne tv show but not likely to happen in western N.Y. so this is our only real chance. DH said "what the heck-sloppy joes without the sauce-are you nuts?" Then he tasted them-and ate 3 sandwiches! Really enjoyed supper last nite thanx to you! Will be having these again; i imagine these would be a good make ahead and reheat meal for work nights.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      As the niece of Helen McEvoy who ran original Nu-Way in Wichitak, ks, I can tell you I have tried many times to replicate the sandwich in my own kitchen. Truth is, there is no way to do that! My Uncle Tommy made the special steam/fry cooker. The initial water/beef crumble method you've mentioned is correct. The cooker is deeper on the end that completes this initial process. THEN you drag the steamed crumbly meet up to the shallower end and the meat is then fried, but the secret is to fry it but not over fry. That's when you slap some mustard on a bun, slap some meat on it, salt it, add onions and sliced dill pickles. yummm, just enough grease from the frying process. Wrap in wax paper tightly and let sit few minutes. Serve with soft serve malt , ice cold root beer (they mix their own) or have a side dish of Mannings Chili (instructions on side) with steam fried Nu-way meat used and pinto beans. Just like being there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      These turned out great! I was surprised by how good they tasted even though the meat has absolutely no seasoning in it. The meat gets ground up to the perfect consistency for maid rites, which I think is part of what makes them so good. Very good recipe, if you like loose meat sandwiches give this one a try, you'll be happy you did :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      I loved it! It reminded me of a Krystal burger, or in some neck of the woods, White Castle. Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      We make these regularly and absolutely love them! Of course, I'm a mid-westener! When I make mine, I add the yellow mustard right in with the ground meat as well as on the bun when assembling. I also add a tablespoon of vinegar to the mixture and some salt and pepper. We've introduced many of our friends to these and they love them too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      DH is an Iowa boy and I'm a Southern gal and I LOVE Maid Rites! He just about drowned from drooling so much when I was reading him the reviews and then tonight.....he thought he had to be back in Iowa! Great to have the recipe and thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Wow!! These are really good! I'm from Michigan and have never had a "maid-rite", but I see why people are so addicted to them. I made as written except I added beef base and crushed garlic. I think that the order of the toppings are key, I put cheese, then pickle and onion, then mustard then the meat and bun top. I wrapped the sandwich in wax paper and let it sit for a few minutes and WOW!! Blew me away! They sort of remind me of the flavor of White Castle burgers. I'm really glad that I tried this recipe. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      Thanks for posting. Excellent recipe. Just like I remember NuWays! This has been a hit every time I've made them. So easy, but so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      this is great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      I've never eaten a Maid-Rite, so my rating has nothing to do with how much it tastes like one. I doubled the recipe and, except for adding 2 qts. of chicken broth to the water, followed the recipe exactly. The meat was more mushy than juicy, and it lacked flavor. I knew I was going to rate and review this, so I asked my family to rate this on a scale of 1 to 5. One person gave it a 3 and everyone else gave it a 2 or less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      My DH, DS and I LOVE Nuway's so I was very anxious to try this recipe! It is the closest to the "real thing" as we have tried. We all loved them and there was not even any leftovers to have for lunch the next day! Thanks so much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      I thought the meat was a little too mushy & not much flavor to it at all. Also the amount of water should be specified.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nuways A/K/A Maid-Rites

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.9
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    69%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 80.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 77.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 19.6 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes