8 Reviews

I haven't tried this recipe so I'm not rating it, but I just wanted to say that you can easily make chocolate bowls by dipping paper or silicon muffin cups in chocolate and letting them harden, then just peel off the muffin cup. I usually dip once, let harden, then dip again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SashasMommy July 08, 2010

You shound'nt be allowed to post these kinds of receipes, they are sooooo fattening, but OHHHHHHHH SOOOO good!!!!!!!!! I made these over the wkend and they were a real hit. Everyone loved them, as one of the members said, " THIS IS PURE HEAVEN!!!!!!!!" Thankyou soooo much for posting this wonderful receipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!UMMMMMMMMMMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 March 10, 2009

OH MY GOSH!!!!!!! this is amazing. i will send it to everyone i know! I used whipping cream instead of milk and i halved the recipe since i have a small ice cream machine. But i will be making this alot it is my kryptonite. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pizza Fetish February 28, 2009

I agree with wath others said, taste is great, but the consistency isn't great. I think you would need too make a custard with coffee taste and then freeze it. But as said, the taste is really good! Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maïté G. June 24, 2008

I loved the creaminess of this gelato. Why buy gelato if we can do our own. And this one is perfect. I loved the taste of espresso and amaretto (which I added at the end when the ice cream was almost ready). All the ingredients are made to be together. This is pure heaven. Thanks Babes. Good luck! Made for the Babes of ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette June 22, 2008

DD and I attempted this recipe for Fathers Day. I agree with other reviews that milk alone does not create a creamy texture, so I might try with cream or half & half next time. Also, we were not able to achieve a whipped topping effect with the small amount of heavy cream indicated and ended up using a pint (and reduced the cinnamon by half.) We knew that the chocolate bowls were beyond our expertise so we made amaretto flavored chocolate bark with shelled pistachios which turned out great. One thing we completely forgot when it came to serving time was the warmed nutella sauce, but none of us thought it really needed it anyway. We loved all the various flavors. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Cee Jay June 15, 2008

A few tweaks and this would be five stars for me. Flavor and presentation are fives, for sure! I made petite chocolate bowls using the balloon techniques as in Chocolate Bowls. 8 oz. chocolate yielded me 12 bowls. I searched high and low for espresso powder but couldn't find it. I knew instant coffee just wouldn't give the same flavor so I just used 2 shots of espresso instead. My gelato was lighter but the right flavor was there. I think I will substitute some cream for some the milk next in hopes of a creamier gelato. I adored the cinnamon cream, had to add a bit more cream as mine was too thick but I could have eaten a bowl of that alone. This would really be an impressive dessert for company as you can see from my photos. Advice though, do as much as you can the day before, it will make assembly much faster. Go Babes! Zaar World Domination!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph June 12, 2008

I give this recipe 4 stars because the combination of flavors is excellent! However, I felt that the gelato itself was more the consistency of iced milk and lacked the creaminess of most gelato I have eaten previously. I'm planning to play around with the gelato recipe a little bit and see if I can get the consistency to match that at my favorite little haunt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscrys79 June 11, 2008
Nutty Hot Babes Gelato Sundae