Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nutty Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nutty Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2001

      Simple, but tasty. I used sliced almonds (toasted) as my nut, and added a bit of ginger powder. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2001

      Didn't imagine something this easy could taste so great! French beans and walnuts really go wonderfully together. Next time, I'll stir the beans into the sauce, instead of the other way round... that way none of the beans get left out :) Also Bergy, all your veggie recipes that I've tried have that uncanny "don't-you-dare-cook-me-for-a-second-longer" crunch that's pretty darn out of this world... thanks a ton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2001

      Yum - really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      Hi Bergy..These are so easy and fast to make, they were a big hit for our dinner party. I had never used pecans with green beans before and the flavor was outstanding. I doubled the recipes. (big eaters) and it was wonderful with the seafood menu. thanks so much. 2 thumbs up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2001

      These were so easy and delicious. I also added some bacon pieces. They were a big hit on Christmas day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2001

      Very good! Thank you for sharing this newer way to make green beans a little bit more interesting for "the crew". :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2001

      Great way to 'dress up' beans. Really tasty. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2002

      Excellent -- I did double the balsamic vinegar, however the second time to give it a little more balsamic vinegar taste. Personal taste only.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      Wonderful green beans. Using fresh green beans is essential for the success of this recipe. I followed your directions and the only change in ingredients was to use more balsamic vinegar. I doubled the amount. The pecans were a bonus. Easy and elegant. Thanks Bergy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2002

      I LOVED these green beans. They are so fresh and flavorful -- the sauce with nuts is the very best tasting way to eat green beans we've ever had! YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2001

    • on September 16, 2003

      I wouldn't suggest making this with frozen green beans. Definitely use fresh! (I will next time)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Very good. Although I may add more balsamic vinegar next time. I couldn't taste it at all in the first batch. I dont know how someone could complain about a strong vinegar taste unless they didnt use balsamic. It is also very good with some dried cranberries and a touch of butter added. I had some leftovers and tossed in some cranberries and a tad of butter and microwaved it. Came out great too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I made these to go with my Easter dinner. I changed it up a little. All the ingredients are the same. Instead of putting the oil and vinegar in the pan and heating I roasted the nuts in a dry pan then mixed with the rest and tossed the beans in it. They were wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Everyone but DS really liked these. He didn't like the vinegar taste. Next time I think I might take it a little easy on the vinegar, however, the rest of us didn't notice. My not as picky eater DD had 2nds and 3rds! They were really crispy and that wasn't bad but I think I'll cook them a little longer next time. I'm cooking them this Thanksgiving to go with Roasted Turkey and Potato, Pumpkin and Ham Bake (on Zaar). I like green been casseroles but when everything else is so rich I like to have the green beans without all the sauces and soups and this dish is perfect. It's light but flavorful and is a great accompaniment for anything. I really like the flavor of the pecans too. Thanks Bergy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      These were a nice change of pace and looked very attractive on the dinner table. I thought the flavor was good, just not five stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      these were good, but not great. i confess, i used canned(drained and rinsed) italian beans instead of fresh, and i cut back on oil to 1 1/2 tablespoons. i would definitely increase the balsamic to 2 teaspoons next time. and to be fair, i will try with fresh beans next time also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

    • on October 03, 2013

      I had some fresh green beans to use, so I made these as a side for dinner. While the beans were good, we all felt the flavor could be stronger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nutty Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.2
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    78%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites