Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nutty Egyptian-Style Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nutty Egyptian-Style Rice

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2006

      I followed Rita's lead on this recipe and she is right, this is just wonderful! I used left over rice and prepared it using your directions and some of Rita's. I did not add raisins, but did add some dried chopped apricots. This is a great and flavorful rice dish! thanks bluemoon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2014

      The orange and turmeric work really well together, and the sultanas and pistachios give it the perfect finishing touch. I'll hang onto this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      This is good. I used fresh lemon instead of orange but used orange juice in white basmati rice, yellow and black rains & some chopped dried apricot in place of the sultanas, my own homemade chicken stock, unrefined sunflower oil, plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for WELCOME TO EGYPT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      This is ASTONISHINGLY fruity! I recommend serving it as a side dish for very plainly cooked entrees. I used half white raisins and half black. Its a beautiful dish and lip-smackin' good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Featured in my Book#237470. Originally reviewed on July 27, 2008. Perfectly delicious! DH was skeptical of the yellow color but liked it so well he ate seconds and said fix this again. A huge compliment from him! The combination of spices is wonderful. I did serve it with grilled Lake Superior whitefish. Thanks bluemoon downunder for sharing a great recipe. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      This is a real find for somebody trying to pursue a low-sodium diet. I did use low-sodium chicken stock, and I also substituted slivered almonds for the pistachios, but otherwise made as directed. The juicy oranges, nuts and spices work so well together, and I did add a bit of cilatro from my porch "herb garden." I'll be making this lots in the months ahead as it suits my diet plans so well. Thanks, bluemoon! I hope to make your vegetable stock soon, so I can try incorporating that! .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      This recipe was phenomenal and a big hit at the Egyptian themed dinner party we had last night. The flavours exploded in your mouth and the wonderful orangey taste brought everything together...the toasted pistaccios were divine !! This recipe rocked and is a keeper in my books !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      OH MY! A must try! I don`t know if I was eating dessert or a side! Flavor, Flavor & more Flavor! Ok I made this the quick and easy way! First I used leftover rice yes already cooked and it was short grain rice. I sauteed the bay leaf, cinnamon, onions and garlic in the butter till transluclent, tossed in the pistachios and tumeric, then added the 11 ounce can of mandarin oranges and raisins cooked a minute or two then added the cold rice seperating the grains as you would in fried rice. Used a bit of hot water to get it to the right texture! All I have to say is Bluemoon ((((Thanks)))) for posting this. You made my belly very happy! :)))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nutty Egyptian-Style Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (324 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 522.0
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    33%
    Total Fat 19.3 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 31.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 226.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.2 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 19.8 g
    79%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites