8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed Rita's lead on this recipe and she is right, this is just wonderful! I used left over rice and prepared it using your directions and some of Rita's. I did not add raisins, but did add some dried chopped apricots. This is a great and flavorful rice dish! thanks bluemoon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper January 17, 2006

The orange and turmeric work really well together, and the sultanas and pistachios give it the perfect finishing touch. I'll hang onto this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flor_enojada January 08, 2014

This is good. I used fresh lemon instead of orange but used orange juice in white basmati rice, yellow and black rains & some chopped dried apricot in place of the sultanas, my own homemade chicken stock, unrefined sunflower oil, plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for WELCOME TO EGYPT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 17, 2012

This is ASTONISHINGLY fruity! I recommend serving it as a side dish for very plainly cooked entrees. I used half white raisins and half black. Its a beautiful dish and lip-smackin' good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT March 06, 2009

Featured in my Book#237470. Originally reviewed on July 27, 2008. Perfectly delicious! DH was skeptical of the yellow color but liked it so well he ate seconds and said fix this again. A huge compliment from him! The combination of spices is wonderful. I did serve it with grilled Lake Superior whitefish. Thanks bluemoon downunder for sharing a great recipe. Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal January 25, 2009

This is a real find for somebody trying to pursue a low-sodium diet. I did use low-sodium chicken stock, and I also substituted slivered almonds for the pistachios, but otherwise made as directed. The juicy oranges, nuts and spices work so well together, and I did add a bit of cilatro from my porch "herb garden." I'll be making this lots in the months ahead as it suits my diet plans so well. Thanks, bluemoon! I hope to make your vegetable stock soon, so I can try incorporating that! .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo August 08, 2008

This recipe was phenomenal and a big hit at the Egyptian themed dinner party we had last night. The flavours exploded in your mouth and the wonderful orangey taste brought everything together...the toasted pistaccios were divine !! This recipe rocked and is a keeper in my books !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ALISSA ROCKS September 30, 2007

OH MY! A must try! I don`t know if I was eating dessert or a side! Flavor, Flavor & more Flavor! Ok I made this the quick and easy way! First I used leftover rice yes already cooked and it was short grain rice. I sauteed the bay leaf, cinnamon, onions and garlic in the butter till transluclent, tossed in the pistachios and tumeric, then added the 11 ounce can of mandarin oranges and raisins cooked a minute or two then added the cold rice seperating the grains as you would in fried rice. Used a bit of hot water to get it to the right texture! All I have to say is Bluemoon ((((Thanks)))) for posting this. You made my belly very happy! :)))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ October 17, 2005
Nutty Egyptian-Style Rice