Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nutty Basmati Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nutty Basmati Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2003

      Very nutty and exoticly spicy, this was a real treat! Easy to make and cooks perfectly, producing nice fluffy rice. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2003

      A nice flavor packed change of pace from plain rice. I made the recipe exactly as printed and it came out perfectly. I added toasted hazelnuts at the end. We had this as a side dish with Canary Island Style Pollo en Adobo#44219. Although they are from separate continents, the pair went well together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Although I did not use the spice blend recommended, I wanted to leave a review. I did not believe that you could cook this rice in ten minutes - but I did and the results were perfect. Tender, fluffy rice. The water to rice ratio was perfect. I used garlic and onion and they flavored it nicely. I was having a strongly seasoned meat so I wanted the fragrant rice, but no spice competition. Superb recipe. Next time, I'll add the spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      A lovely light tasting rice dish that would go well with most curries. I used 3 whole green caramons in place of the ground and garnished with chopped spring onions and toasted slivered almonds. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This was so good! My DB makes Indian food quite a bit, and I thought I would surprise him with this dish. He loved it too. I had spicy BBQ ribs, salad and melons with this. It was a great side dish, and I think it would be good with just about anything. I used slivered toasted almonds for the nuts. This is a keeper, and I will be making it often. Thank you canarygirl, for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      Yummy!!! I doubled the recipe. I was making it for a potluck at work. Paired it with a chicken curry. Was nice and sublte, but interesting spices. I omitted the nuts as some folks at work dont like them.......I would def add them if making it for myself. This recipe will be used alot in my kitchen, thanks for sharing it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      This is good. I will be making this again, maybe with the raisins next time too. Good leftover too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      I couldn't stop eating this, and it was my first time having basmati! I thought the spices might be overpowering, but it was all perfect and light with just the slight warmth from all the flavours. I left out the nuts and bay leaf and used cinnamon and nutmeg instead of the cardamom. I can't wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      This was wonderful! I didn't have any corriander powder but added a little chilli powder instead. Also, I added Sultana raisons (before simmering) which turned out to be a great addition. I garnished with toasted almonds and fresh corriander. This recipe is a keeper!!! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      Excellent pilaf! I didn't have cumin seeds so I used 1/2t ground cumin .. I also garnished with the nuts (almonds and pine nuts). My husband really loved this, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      This was such a wonderful pilaf. I followed the recipe exactly except for one minor change. I didn't have any fresh garlic on hand so I had to use garlic powder. This is a keeper! I will be making this again for sure! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      Pefect pilaf, didn't change a thing! Great instructions and wonderful flavours, I can't wait to eat the leftovers today for lunch! I served this with grilled chicken breasts in spiced yoghurt and they went together beautifully; will be making this again this week to go with butter chicken, thank you very much for posting your wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      Excellent blend of flavors with this rice. I served the rice with Mirj's Cumin Meatballs #14255 and found that they worked well together. Thank you Canarygirl for sharing the recipe. It is one I'm sure I will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      I'd give this 10 stars if I could. Folks, u really gotta try this one! Totally delish! I made it exactly like stated and it came out perfectly. My DH even loved it .... and I loved eating the leftovers for breakfast. Good Work! Can't get over how good this is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2004

      I had this with curry chicken with peanuts (your recipe) - they went perfectly together. The rice is moist, slightly sticky which I love. Very flavorful, I could've eaten this alone, without any curry! I used all the ingredients in the list, and added 1/4 tsp turmeric for a slightly yellow rice. I scaled it down to 2 servings, and used 1/2 tsp salt to flavor it. After sauteing the rice in the wok, I transferred it to my rice cooker. I used roasted peanuts. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

      Made this using brown basmati rice; just increased the broth to 2 1/4 cups and the simmering time to 45 minutes. Wonderfully seasoned rice. Loved it with cashews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2004

      I made this yesterday for an international-themed girls' luncheon and served it with Chicken Makhani #97573...delicious! I doubled the recipe but did not double the cooking time...came out perfect! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2004

      This had a very good taste and smelled great. I used the slivered almonds. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nutty Basmati Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 411.9
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    39%
    Total Fat 18.1 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 503.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 10.5 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites