18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nutty and exoticly spicy, this was a real treat! Easy to make and cooks perfectly, producing nice fluffy rice. Thanks for a great recipe!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau April 07, 2003

A nice flavor packed change of pace from plain rice. I made the recipe exactly as printed and it came out perfectly. I added toasted hazelnuts at the end. We had this as a side dish with Canary Island Style Pollo en Adobo#44219. Although they are from separate continents, the pair went well together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MEAN CHEF December 12, 2003

Although I did not use the spice blend recommended, I wanted to leave a review. I did not believe that you could cook this rice in ten minutes - but I did and the results were perfect. Tender, fluffy rice. The water to rice ratio was perfect. I used garlic and onion and they flavored it nicely. I was having a strongly seasoned meat so I wanted the fragrant rice, but no spice competition. Superb recipe. Next time, I'll add the spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.furay May 18, 2009

A lovely light tasting rice dish that would go well with most curries. I used 3 whole green caramons in place of the ground and garnished with chopped spring onions and toasted slivered almonds. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie September 26, 2008

This was so good! My DB makes Indian food quite a bit, and I thought I would surprise him with this dish. He loved it too. I had spicy BBQ ribs, salad and melons with this. It was a great side dish, and I think it would be good with just about anything. I used slivered toasted almonds for the nuts. This is a keeper, and I will be making it often. Thank you canarygirl, for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MailbagMary June 17, 2008

Yummy!!! I doubled the recipe. I was making it for a potluck at work. Paired it with a chicken curry. Was nice and sublte, but interesting spices. I omitted the nuts as some folks at work dont like them.......I would def add them if making it for myself. This recipe will be used alot in my kitchen, thanks for sharing it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin4u4 May 10, 2007

This is good. I will be making this again, maybe with the raisins next time too. Good leftover too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 April 04, 2007

I couldn't stop eating this, and it was my first time having basmati! I thought the spices might be overpowering, but it was all perfect and light with just the slight warmth from all the flavours. I left out the nuts and bay leaf and used cinnamon and nutmeg instead of the cardamom. I can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu December 04, 2006

This was wonderful! I didn't have any corriander powder but added a little chilli powder instead. Also, I added Sultana raisons (before simmering) which turned out to be a great addition. I garnished with toasted almonds and fresh corriander. This recipe is a keeper!!! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef#2891 May 04, 2006

Excellent pilaf! I didn't have cumin seeds so I used 1/2t ground cumin .. I also garnished with the nuts (almonds and pine nuts). My husband really loved this, Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa January 09, 2006
Nutty Basmati Pilaf