Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nutty Barley Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nutty Barley Bake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2009

      Everyone loves this from my husband to my grandmother. We usually sub 2tsp of canola oil for the margarine/butter (heart health reasons), and it still comes out tasting like heaven. Works equally well with dried or fresh parsley, and we've come to prefer sliced almonds with the skin on for a bit of extra texture/fibre. We'll make it again and agan. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This recipe is so easy to make and is so wonderfully tasting! I left the almonds in larger pieces so it gave the dish more of a nutty flavor and texture. The only substitue I made was using oil instead of butter and chicken broth instead of beef. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quick, healthy recipe! Discuss the taste, how difficult it was to make, any adaptations you made or menu suggestions. If you did not like it, please explain why or provide constructive criticism.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2012

      Very good! I tried it with sunflower seeds, too, and it was just as good as with almonds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Loved this! The flavor was terrific! The only changes I made was to add a few sliced mushrooms and a clove of garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful! I used slivered almonds and it really is very, very nutty. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      I love barley, and we all just really loved this dish! I used slivered almonds and real butter, but only used 2 tablespoons butter and subbed olive oil for the rest. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      I haven't made this yet so no stars yet. I did want to comment on the incredibly high sodium level for such a simple dish. It took me a moment to figure out it was from the canned beef broth that the recipe calls for. If and when I make this I can guarantee I'll be using either low sodium canned broth or homemade which I make using NO sodium.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Wow, this is incredible! It was really easy, and I don't think I'll ever buy a box of seasoned rice mix again. I was looking for a simple barley recipe since I didn't have any brown rice. I used vegetable broth and added some fresh chives. It smells awesome out of the oven, tastes awesome, and I can't wait to try it cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      I've never cooked barley (apart from boiling it to death in soups!) so this was a first! I looked at the previous reviews and decided to use oil instead of butter and reduce it to 1 tablespoon, add in some garlic along with the onions, barley etc, and use pine nuts rather than almonds. I used fresh parsley and stirred that through at the end instead of the dried stuff (DIL has tons growing in her garden right now). Only 4 of us for dinner and I'd have hated to share it with more diners (I reckon we got 3/4 cup each). We loved the flavours, the healthiness of it and the nutty, chewiness too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Very, very good!! Even my kids gobbled this up. The flavor was really delicious and it was a snap to put together. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nutty Barley Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 220.8
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    36%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 655.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.8 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    26%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites