11 Reviews

I mixed up about two-thirds of this recipe for myself (when I have oatmeal, I like a LOT of oatmeal ;) ). It makes a creamy, filling and nourishing bowlful! If using unsweetened soymilk and natural peanut butter, as I did, I'd recommend adding just a touch of salt to bring out the sweetness of the banana. I was generous with the peanut butter, too. Thanks for a quick oatmeal I'll definitely repeat!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child March 08, 2010

No excuse for not eating breakfast! This is so quick, hearty and creamy, I really enjoyed it. Like a reviewer below mentioned, I used natural PB and rice milk, so I added a pinch of salt. I also used regular oats instead of quick (worked fine) and served with some brown sugar. 1/2 the batch made a perfectly sized portion for me. I'm sure I'll make this many more times, and might play around with other nut butters. Thanks very much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner March 20, 2011

Super yummy oatmeal! I doubled the recipe for three of us but it really is rich, so the single serving would have been plenty. I also doubled the peanut butter in each bowl, and next time I'll try the single tbs suggested. Really really good, thanks for the keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz July 26, 2010

Oh YUM, this is one of the best breakfast Ive had in a long time! So satisfying and yummy, mmmm! I used a chai spiced oat milk for making this and it turned out fabulous. The banana made this thick and sweet and I just LOVED it, cant wait to make it again! :)
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a true keeper with us, bmcnichol!
Made and reviewed for PRMR Tag November 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula November 19, 2011

Super yum breakfast and I just love the vanilla addition :D. It was made in the micro and was cooked to my taste in 1min 20 secs. I used water in place of milk and old fashioned oats instead of the quick. Super quick, super easy and delicious. It can't get any better than that. I just added a light touch of Splenda, 4 banana slices and a sprinkle of cinnamon to the top and enjoyed (a lot).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 21, 2010

I've been trying to eat a little more oatmeal and this was pretty tasty. I did add some brown sugar and more milk and peanut butter after cooking b/c it was a little bland actually. I used regular oatmeal (not quick cooking) and it worked fine. I made half the recipe and it made a generous helping. Made for I recommend tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 July 05, 2011

I really enjoyed this take on oatmeal. I used 1/2 C. oatmeal to 1 C. milk (I used a whole grain milk alternative from Trader Joes) and scaled down the other ingredients just a tad. It made one perfect serving for my breakfast this morning. I appreciated the fact that I didn't need to add any extra sweetner. I usually add some stevia to sweeten my oatmeal just a bit. The peanut butter was a great addition, too! I used a natural chunky peanut butter. After eating this healthy and hearty breakfast, I'm sure I'll feel full for hours! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 09, 2011

Other than adding a tad sugar to this made as posted.. Love the peanut butter in this.. Made for I recommend..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker April 07, 2011

I halved the recipe for one, and was amazed at how great this was. I did add a sprinkle of salt, but no sugar, to this. Wonderful breakfast. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 03, 2011

I made half recipe just for me. It was filling enough. The taste is great. I added brown sugar. Thanks Bonnette :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 12, 2010
Nutty Banana Oatmeal