8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are very yummy. I will add more cayenne next time because we like a little more kick. I doubled the amount of nuts called for, but left the sugar/spice mix the same amount and it covered the nuts with lots of coating, but not an excess. Thanks to the other reviews for pointing out there's too much coating otherwise. I will make these for a fun treat each Christmas now that I know how good they are.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Piper Lee December 24, 2011

I will have to experiment with amounts next time. I had way too much wasted spice/sugar mix that didn't stick to the nuts. The pecans and walnuts worked the best b/c they have those crevices to hold onto the seasoning. The taste was not as intense and the lovely odor implied! But still yummy! for P-A-R-T-Y 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky1 December 09, 2009

Not sure if I made a mistake or not, but had so much extra spice mix. The nuts were overly coated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieCooks January 01, 2007

Yummy and easy.I've made these as Xmas gifts for a few years now - thought it about time I got around to reviewing it! Very moorish, and definitely not healthy! But geat as a treat for a special event. Watch out if someone isn't used to spicy food - it can pack quite a zing (especially when you have a tendency to double spices like I do)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea-Oz September 02, 2005

I made this using raw pecans, cashews, and almonds. I baked it quite a bit longer than the recipe called for, as I expected the sugar to melt a bit to coat the nuts. While this didn't happen, it doesn't matter one bit! These nuts are amazing. The blend of flavors is perfect, with just enough spice to be noticeable, without being too hot for anyone. I'm going to have these around here on a regular basis and give them as gifts. Thanks so much, Geema!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina February 11, 2005

FANTASTIC...I have to agree it was just the right amount of spice and zip. I didn't have pecans so I just used walnuts and almonds. I have to admit I liked the walnuts best. Next time I will leave out the almonds and will try cashews. One thing is certain, they are additive!!! While they were cooling I couldn't stop "testing" the results!!! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaby Veldtrup March 27, 2004

I didn't have pecans so I just used walnuts and almonds. Yummy! These are rather addictive, I had to put them out of sight so I wouldn't keep nibbling on them. My husband had me grind the nuts in the processor and loved them! Thanks Geema!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 09, 2004

WOW....just the right amount of spice zip! I'm not a lover of walnuts so I backed them off and added some peanuts and cashews. These were great Geema! TY

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE June 29, 2003
Nuts to You