9 Reviews

I tried all ingredients listed and the mixture turned out very well for this cornbread recipe: Cornbread. Leftovers are kept in a Gladware container and frozen. Reviewed for Best of 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 02, 2011

I'm really glad I stumbled on this recipe! It's a great sub for white flour - I'm going to pick up an extra flour container and keep this made up on hand. I used brown rice flour in the mix, along with the rest of the called for ingredients. Today I used it in a Banana Bread recipe and it worked out perfectly, even adding extra taste and texture (if you're looking for it!) Thanks for sharing this recipe, Sharon! Made for Veggie Swap 30 - January 2011.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen January 17, 2011

was looking for ways to make my breads more nutritious and more interesting... I sprouted, dried and ground wheat berries and buckwheat groats b4 adding to the blend to make it even more so, added vital wheat gluten too because I knew it would be for bread and might benefit the rise ...used it in 2 breads this past week and they were awesome...thank you Sharon!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free April 14, 2010

I love that this flour is better for us and has ingredients I always have on hand. Had rye flour so used that and would probably use the 1/2 cup of oat flour if I ran out. Bought a Rubbermaid canister to keep this in and will use it whenever a recipe calls for flour. Made and reviewed for Kittencal's Chef's Pick Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 February 27, 2010

I love this! I made a batch to use for muffins, pancakes, waffles etc., so I used Whole Wheat Pastry flour to make it a little "lighter/airy" Worked perfectly! Thank you Sharon! I will be keeping this on hand from now on! Made for Chef's Pick Tag

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom February 19, 2010

Thanks Sharon for a great find. I used some of this (1/2 cup) to make Chocolate-Applesauce-Flax Seed Bars and it worked perfectly. I"ll be using this as you stated in your forward, for anything that calls for ww flour or similar. I didn't have the barley flour and so I did up the amount of oats to 1/2 cup as stated. I used OldFashioned Oats. Made for TYM tag.~

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB January 17, 2010

Simple to put together. I keep most of these ingredients on hand anyway, so can make this up when I need it. I used buckwheat flour for the barley flour. Mad pancakes with it and they were great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey January 09, 2010

I really like this healthy combination and have used it with success in Chocolate bread. It adds extra texture and a bit of crunch from the corn meal. I will keep this on hand as an extra flour in the cabinet, thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini April 16, 2011

This goes so well with my 2010 New Year's resolution to eat healthy! I keep a canister of this handy and add it to anything I can that requires flour. I'll attempt to update my own posted recipes as I try it out on them. I might as well make this my first entry in my book #267435 cookbook! Thanks, Sharon. Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 07, 2010
Nutritious Flour Blend