Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nutritious Delicious SLENDER Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nutritious Delicious SLENDER Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2002

      This recipe is both nutritious and delicious! Both my husband and I love it. We've been dieting a few weeks now and this is the perfect snack between meals. I did use non-fat chicken broth instead of water (Health Valley brand - it added about 9 calories per serving) and sometimes, when we want a something a little more substantial, I've added 1 cup dry pasta. This is a keeper and we'll be eating this again and again. One more thing - you may want to reduce the pepper a bit - It's a little to hot for us with the full serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      If you are on a diet, this is definetely the soup for you. I was so tempted to add some heavy cream, but decided to make this as is. It turned out very light and if you want a thicker consistency, prepare to simmer for another 30 min. I think next time I make this, I will add mushroom stock instead of water. It doesn't add much calorie to the soup but gives a substancial amount of flavour. But this is definetely a "slender" soup and costs considerably less (and tastes much better!) than those wishywashy "low-fat" soup you get at the deli. Thank you Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      Karen, you don't have to be on a diet to love your soup! This reminds me of a soup handed down to me by my mom. I kept all of your proportions exactly the same, but I added 1/4 cup Heinz ketsup, 1 14.5 oz diced recipe ready tomatoes, 1 bay leaf, just 1/2 tsp salt, 1/8 tsp of cracked course ground pepper (instead of the 1/2 tsp pepper), and 1 clove of minced garlic. I added vegetables in the following order (when the first one got half tender I added the next) that way nothing got overcooked...onions, green beans, celery, then the carrots, and lastly the potato cubes. At the end I added an ear of fresh corn kernels. Cabbage and turnips instead of potatoes would be a change of pace. But let me tell you Karen it's a wonderful and tasty soup just the way you have it. So tangy and delicious! Thanks again Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2003

      I've been making a variation of this for years. I use 2-3 c chicken broth, 3 c of shredded cabbage, 1 can diced tomatoes, 2 c sliced carrots, 1 can drained & rinsed beans (I prefer white kidnet or garbanza) & 1 box of thawed chopped spinach. I put all of this in the crockpot & let it cook all day. I've always served it over spaghetti as we call it minestrone! I NEVER put pasta in it when I'm cooking it as it gets mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      An excellent diet soup, also a good base soup for add-ons. I used no-salt tomatoes in place of the V8 because of medically advised salt restrictions. I also added one cup of freshly cooked pinto beans that I wanted to use up, then added a heaping tablespoon of chili powder. Excellent taste, but next time I'll try it without the beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Wow. So easy and yummy! I made this in the crock-pot letting it cook for 5 hours on high. I also changed up the ingredients to fit what I had on hand. So I ended us using 1/2 carrots, 2 cups of potato, 2 2/3 cups green and wax bean mix, 4 cups V-8, 1 cup low sodium fat-free chicken broth, 1 cup water, 1 Tbs. basil, 2/3 tsp. pepper flakes, 1 bay leaf, 1 Tbs. dried minced onion, and half the salt called for. I will probably add corn, chicken and or beans to it next time. But it's wonderful without!! Thank you for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      I love this soup! Easy to make and can be very versatile. I made 4 servings as posted, but in winter I will make the full 12 servings so I can stock the freezer with individual servings - YUM! Very low cal and healthy too! Thanks for posting Karen=^..^=, Made for When It's Hot Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      This is a great low-calorie soup! I love it because it's cheap, effortless, healthy, delicious, and filling. I will definitely be making this again and again! Next time I think I'll cut down on the amount of green beans in exchange for more potatoes. I'll also reduce the pepper because it was a little too spicy for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Great soup! I made this for my lunches this week. The vegetable juice gives it a surprising amount of flavour. I used a different brand of vegetable juice and used a mix of frozen green and yellow beans. Other than that I followed the recipe as it's written. Made for Healthy Choices Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Very good! I followed the recipe omitting the extra salt. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      This was a WONDERFUL soup!!! It got great reviews all around. I love how you could do so many things with this too. I've added basil and oregano to it before and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      My husband and I absolutely love this soup! I use the "spicy hot" V-8 for this soup. The possibilities with it are endless: I have made it as per your instructions or added beans, spinach, shredded chicken breast I had on hand, etc. I made it lots of times already and will make many more times. Thanks, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This was very easy and good. I added a few small zucchini and some garlic. I Loved It.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      I thought this was a great, no-fuss, low-cal meal. I actually used 4 cups of veggie juice and two cups of water. That was for our taste, my hubby would not have eaten it if the broth tasted too watered down. I also added some dried basil and garlic/pepper seasoning. I kept 1/2 of the soup in our fridge, and froze the other half for another time. A cup of canned white beans might be a nice addition as well. Thanks for a great, tasty low-fat recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2003

      Great soup for a light supper and for dieting. I added some parsley flakes and garlic powder to taste. Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nutritious Delicious SLENDER Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (2332 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 39.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    87%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 386.4 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes