42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was one of the best fish recipes I have ever made. I would give it more stars if I could. It had the presentation of being gormet, but was extremely easy to make. I used mahi filets and followed the recipe exactly. For the nuts, I used walnuts. Also, I put it in the oven for 10-minutes at 350, then put it on broil for about 3 minutes longer to make the outside crispy. Thanks for a great recipe !

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie in Florida April 07, 2004

This is a regular in our Hawaiian home. My husband loves to spearfish here on Oahu, and we have fresh fish at least once a week. Tonight it’s uhu (parrot fish). I get a big bag of mac nuts from Costco since I use this recipe so often. The first time I made it, I had trouble getting the crust to stick, so I dunk the fish in Egg Beaters first. The sauce is so simple, yet so perfect. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
palm715 February 25, 2010

We really enjoyed this. I cooked it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. I did add an extra teaspoon of mustard to the sauce because I like it a little zippier. Another keeper! Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ March 04, 2004

This was delicious. I definitely didn't need all that sauce for 2 filets, I would recommend halving the sauce recipe. I used frozen Filets from Whole Foods, defrosting them a bit in the micro and ended up baking them for about 25 minutes. I didn't need to broil them at the end like others suggested, they browned up nicely. I didn't have cornflakes so I used Chex instead and I don't think there was a huge difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alikoizumi June 08, 2011

The best!!!!!!! Fish was moist and my family said make again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Would make for company any time. Did put under broiler at the very end to crisp top. Served with brown rice and a salad....perfect

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nina W. June 18, 2010

excellent recipe. I actually made it with crushed pistachios and no cereal, but it was very good. The one thing I would change is to cut back a little on the mustard, it was a bit spicy for my house...but maybe I just have an extra strong batch of ground mustard. Regardless, it was very good and I will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate-O March 14, 2010

I am eating this right now, and I LOVE it! I didn't have any dry mustard, so I used a squeeze of yellow mustard instead, and it turned out pretty good. I definitely want to try it with the dry mustard next time, because I think it will make the sauce alot better. I also cooked the glaze on low for a few minutes to thicken it up a bit. It doesn't take alot of the glaze on the fish, just a little bit goes a really long way. Also, I had thicker fillets, so I baked them for 20 minutes, with the last 3 broiled.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emoximuu January 09, 2010

Low fat?????????

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jopalis September 03, 2009

This sounds pretty tasty but how do you get that it is low fat? According to the nutrition section one serving has 464 fat calories to total calories of 767.3, that's 60.47% fat, definitely NOT low fat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooks H. April 22, 2014

This fish was really good. I used walnuts but would really like to try it with macadamia nuts next time. The sauce was really good also. My fillets were a little thicker so it took longer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW April 09, 2014
Nut Encrusted Mahi Mahi