Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Nut Encrusted Mahi Mahi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Nut Encrusted Mahi Mahi

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2004

      This was one of the best fish recipes I have ever made. I would give it more stars if I could. It had the presentation of being gormet, but was extremely easy to make. I used mahi filets and followed the recipe exactly. For the nuts, I used walnuts. Also, I put it in the oven for 10-minutes at 350, then put it on broil for about 3 minutes longer to make the outside crispy. Thanks for a great recipe !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This is a regular in our Hawaiian home. My husband loves to spearfish here on Oahu, and we have fresh fish at least once a week. Tonight it’s uhu (parrot fish). I get a big bag of mac nuts from Costco since I use this recipe so often. The first time I made it, I had trouble getting the crust to stick, so I dunk the fish in Egg Beaters first. The sauce is so simple, yet so perfect. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      We really enjoyed this. I cooked it exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. I did add an extra teaspoon of mustard to the sauce because I like it a little zippier. Another keeper! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      This was delicious. I definitely didn't need all that sauce for 2 filets, I would recommend halving the sauce recipe. I used frozen Filets from Whole Foods, defrosting them a bit in the micro and ended up baking them for about 25 minutes. I didn't need to broil them at the end like others suggested, they browned up nicely. I didn't have cornflakes so I used Chex instead and I don't think there was a huge difference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      The best!!!!!!! Fish was moist and my family said make again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Would make for company any time. Did put under broiler at the very end to crisp top. Served with brown rice and a salad....perfect

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      excellent recipe. I actually made it with crushed pistachios and no cereal, but it was very good. The one thing I would change is to cut back a little on the mustard, it was a bit spicy for my house...but maybe I just have an extra strong batch of ground mustard. Regardless, it was very good and I will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      I am eating this right now, and I LOVE it! I didn't have any dry mustard, so I used a squeeze of yellow mustard instead, and it turned out pretty good. I definitely want to try it with the dry mustard next time, because I think it will make the sauce alot better. I also cooked the glaze on low for a few minutes to thicken it up a bit. It doesn't take alot of the glaze on the fish, just a little bit goes a really long way. Also, I had thicker fillets, so I baked them for 20 minutes, with the last 3 broiled.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Low fat?????????

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2014

      This sounds pretty tasty but how do you get that it is low fat? According to the nutrition section one serving has 464 fat calories to total calories of 767.3, that's 60.47% fat, definitely NOT low fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      This fish was really good. I used walnuts but would really like to try it with macadamia nuts next time. The sauce was really good also. My fillets were a little thicker so it took longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      Super yummy and super easy! I was only able to find salted macadamia nuts so I omitted the salt and used a low sodium soy sauce so it wouldn't be too salty. Additionally, I only coated the fish on the top and sides then after it baked for 10 minutes at 350, I broiled it until the top was slightly browned. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      A lot of people modify recipes, and so did I. First, I used 1 cup chopped walnuts and 1/2 cup bread crumbs, and had enough for another serving or two [saved for next time, no problem]. The mahi-mahi needed to bake for 15 minutes, then I broiled it for nearly 5 more minutes. It was moist but done inside and had a nice crust on top. For the glaze I used 1/6 cup honey, 2 teaspoons dry mustard, and about 1.5 teaspoons soy sauce -- equal parts honey and soy just didn't taste right, so I started over on that. Part of the glaze went on after the baking but before the broiling, and I almost burned it -- keep a close eye if you do that. My wife said it was delicious, and I had to agree. We're both looking forward to next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Not a good recipe unless you fix it, something like this: 10 minutes is NOT enough for this. I see someone had to broil it in the end (of COURSE you want the outside to be browned and crispy) and someone else baked it for 25 minutes after thawing in the microwave. After 10 minutes my fish (about 2 inches this) was still quite raw; another 15 did the trick, and the fish was still moist. Mahi mahi is actually pretty tolerant. I used hazel nuts because that's what I had, and added salt to the coating, mixed it with olive oil to help it adhere to the fish. The flavor was quite nice. Did not bother with the glaze, the fish was delicious on its own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      I have been making this for quite a while now. It is fantastic!!! I would give it 10 stars if I could! I make everything as the recipe states. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      This was a great recipe for someone who is cooking for one! Easy yet worth the fairly short prep time. I used cheerios and pecans (in one of the other reviews) %u2013 then made the glaze with garlic powder as I am not fond of mustard, and cooked it to thicken it. It took about 20 minutes with a thick mahi mahi steak that was still defrosting. I served it with leaf lettuce, orange and dried cranberry salad with a drizzle of low fat sesame ginger dressing, and steamed asparagus. I plan to try the original soon. It is in my cookbook file now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      YUM!! This was quick, easy and flavorful and I didnt even make the sauce.Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Nice! I used walnuts and Panko crumbs. We're divided on the soy glaze: I liked it, he didn't. I might work on that a little; I too might like it reduced. The fish took about 5 minutes longer to cook than written. Thanks for posting . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      Served this at dinner last night for some friends and it got rave reviews. My husband said we had to have this again soon! Like others, I used cheerios in place of the corn flakes and pecans for the nuts. Also, I had to cook the fish quite a bit longer than the recipe indicates. This truly was the highlight of dinner. ------ update 4/16: I will be making this for the second time tomorrow... my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      My Mahi Mahi cooked perfectly with the time allotted. The coating lacked much flavor. The soy glaze was okay on the fish and good on the rice. I think it would be better marinaded in the soy mixture, but I didn't try that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Thanks for sharing this recipe guava girl :) I actually had this at Roy's when I visited Oahu and it was so delicous. I looked onlien for the recipe and was delighted to find yours. I made it for Valentine's Day and never reviewed so I wante dto today. I have a friend coming and thought I'd share this wondeful meal with her thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Nut Encrusted Mahi Mahi

    Serving Size: 1 (425 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 960.0
     
    Calories from Fat 479
    49%
    Total Fat 53.2 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 165.4 mg
    55%
    Sodium 3035.7 mg
    126%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.2 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 52.5 g
    210%
    Protein 54.3 g
    108%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites