8 Reviews

i just tried these becuase i was intrigued by the concept of mircowave baking. It took about 4 minutes total to fully cook these in my microwave. I used a cereal bowl! these are very cake like in texture, but easy to make and quick! i will make again. next time i'll try some white chocolate chips or a frosting. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pepper Monkey March 06, 2004

The recipe says this makes 9 servings. 9 servings my heinie! My friend and I polished the whole thing off last night over a cup of coffee! I totally blew my diet with these brownies, but they were so delicious, I just couldn't stop at one square. They are so easy to make, and ready so quickly in the microwave. The scent of chocolate permeated the whole house, and we could barely wait until it was cool to dig in. Heather, these are very dangerous brownies, thanks so much for posting them and ruining my diet! I'm going to try them again very soon, this time with some of the Skor bits that canarygirl sent me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj April 29, 2003

I had no unsweet chocolate squares, so I took ~cbw~'s recommendation to substitute with 3 tbsp cocoa and 1 tbsp oil PER SQUARE. The brownies were very easy to whip up, but came out a tad dry. To remedy this I poured a thin layer of milk into the bottom of each bowl before putting in the brownie then added a little Nesquick sauce on top. The milk soaked right through and the whole family loved it! They said these couldn't even compare to box mixes. Even though the texture was dry, the flavor was unbeatable. Definitely making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annabee800 November 15, 2009

I needed a quick, chocolate recipe and this came to my rescue. It is so easy to prepare and who would believe you could have brownies after 6 minutes! These were a bit more cake-like than traditional brownies and I did have some difficulty keeping them in one piece while trying to remove them from the dish. All in all, a good recipe. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky May 16, 2005

I don't get why people say these are more like cake. Could it be they are microwaving to long? I made these with salted butter and didn't add the salt and only microwaved 1/4 cup in a dish, cause I am trying to make things to microwave at work and I put the rest in little containers and popped them in the freezer. The one that I made right away turned out just the same as the ones I froze. Mine don't seem like cake, but maybe cause I don't microwave mine to long. These are very rich, but so good, I am not going to complain at all. Will try egg sub. next time, so I don't have to worry about cooking to long. Thanks for posting this recipe, it's worth a 5 star for me, four stars is way to low in my opinion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunshine June 07, 2004

These brownies are really good, though they seem more like cake rather than brownies.. still yummy, and very easy to make when you need to have something sweet. Next time I may try to under-cook them to see if it makes them more fudgy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
89240 March 24, 2004

wow! if you need instant gratification this is the dessert/snack recipe for you! less than 15 minutes from start to finish, i know i'll be making these often. i think walnuts would be a great addition to these and i'll try that next time (i have a feeling there will be lots of "next times")

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia March 06, 2004

These were very tasty and so easy to make. I had a chocolate craving and wanted a quick chocolate fix, and these hit the spot. I didn't have the chocolate squares, so, I substituted 3 tbsp of cocoa powder and 1 tbsp of oil per square. I also popped some miniature snickers into half of the batter since this is the only way my DH will eat brownies. I normally like more of a fudgey brownie as opposed to cakey, but I will definitely be making these again since they are so easy! Thanks for posting, HeatherFeather!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~cbw~ January 08, 2004
Nuclear Brownies