Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Now This is Alice Springs Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Now This is Alice Springs Chicken

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2011

      For the sauce...I mix (to taste)... Ketchup, Mayo, small amount of Dijon mustard, splash of Worcestershire Sauce, sprinkle of garlic and onion powder, crack of pepper, a nip of GOOD Prepared Horseradish (NOT the creamy stuff for sandwiches, but the stuff that looks grated) and a dab of honey. This seemed to get the tang, sweet and kick I was tasting at Outback. I make this up about an hour (or longer) before I use it so the flavors come together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2014

      This was just like Outbacks recipe. The only thing I missed was the service. <br/>I used local honey and 4 breast that I used my Pampered Chef meat tenderizer. I cut the chicken into serving size pieces. This easily fed 6 to 8 people. I served rice pilaf and steamed mixed vegetables

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Wow! This was fantastic. I sauteed one onion with the mushrooms, and baked nine slices of thick sliced bacon. I also cut the bacon as I put it over the chicken. Make sure you pound the chicken first so it cooks evenly. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      Wow! This was THE BEST chicken! Even my dad said, "That was good chicken," and he never compliments anything! :) We marinated it for 24 hours and grilled it. I saut?ed the mushrooms on the stove, but everything else was cooked outside. The sauce was amazing! Thanks for the recipe. This one is going in my favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      What a wonderful recipe! I did cut the honey in half (personal taste) and grilled the chicken on our charcoal grill but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Love the mushrooms and onions! We will make this again and again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Very good. I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Please EVERYONE try this!! Taste just like the real thing for soo much cheaper. My favorite recipe:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I LOVE this recipe. It may be better than Outback's. Made it exactly as stated, but baked it longer in the oven to get chicken done, then added mushrooms, bacon and cheese. May try the sauted onions with it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      You TKO'd it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Wonderful recipe...just be sure to cook the chicken through but do not over cook...allow for the time to melt and mingle the cheese!!! I used a combination of Montarey Jack and Medium Cheddar cheese. Served alongside wild rice and steamed veggies...it was a delicious meal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Alice Springs Chicken is my favorite dish at Outback. It's been a while since I went there and I had a crazing for it, so I decided to look up online for the recipe. I found two on this site, but the other didn't look very good. This one did so I gave it a try. Couple quick things: The recipe specifies two different oils in the ingredients but the instructions don't specify which to use on what. I just used Canola oil for both the sauce and cooking. The other things is that it says to sear the chicken, which isn't the same as cooking it all the way through as I understand it. However it's only in the oven long enough to melt the cheese, so I just made sure to cook the chicken all the way through in the pan. I'm sure that's how it's supposed to be done anyway. With that said, it came out fantastic! Possibly the best dinner I've ever made. Everyone loved it. It tastes very close to the "real thing", maybe even a bit better. Definitely will be making it again. Thanks so much for the recipe! Oh, and there's still Honey Mustard sauce leftover for sandwiches and stuff. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I waffled on whether to rate this 4 or 5 stars, but because the left-overs called to me so strongly, I gave it 5 stars. This was very tasty, but hubby and guest didn't comment. I used chicken tenders instead of breasts, and that was nice. I skipped the butter and used left-over bacon grease, which did not brown the chicken as much as the butter would have, but it tasted great. Next time I'll skip the salt, as the bacon added plenty of saltiness. I forgot the parsley, but don't think that mattered too much. My complaint about this recipe is it just seems a little bit disjointed to me. Like the chicken is just layered with bacon and cheese and they are not integrated with the sauce. Yes, when you dip the chicken in the marinade it helps, but without the dip it's not a blend of flavors but rather a lot of separate and distinct ones. I most likely won't be fixing this again, as it is way too high carb for diabetic hubby (what was I thinking anyway?) But I will recommend it to non-diabetic folks as a tasty treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I made this exactly as posted except I chopped the bacon instead of leaving it whole and added the onions as recommended. Very, very good. As there's only two of us, the rest is in the freezer for another meal or two which we look forward to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      This was very good and not at all hard to make, i will definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Wow! I've never had Alice Springs chicken before, in fact, I've never even heard of it before. This was extremely delicious. I made it exactly as stated except I chopped the bacon and fried it. I also fried some onions with the mushrooms. So, I just piled the chopped bacon, mushrooms and onions on each chicken breast and covered with cheese. It was great! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Delicious! It tastes just like Outbacks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Thanks for posting! Always a hit! I like to use this recipe for sandwiches, just pound your chicken breasts out to the desired thickness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This was really good. All the flavors work well together. Loved having the bacon on it. I only had a chance to marinade for 2 hours. But I will do that longer next time and I'm sure it will be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      How much heaven can a single plate contain? If the plate has "Now This is Alice Springs Chicken" on it, quite a lot!!! This is a dish I've been eyeballing for some time, thinking that I'd save it for a serious "comfort food" fix. Well, I've been down with the flu for 2 weeks (as winter sets in here in NZ) and decided my system needed a serious foodie fix...and this recipe was JUST the ticket. I haven't enjoyed a dish quite this much in a very long time. It was easy, it's beautiful to serve, and it matches so easily with other foods. I served mine next to some fluffy mashed potatoes and some bright green wilted spinach. May I just say, I can't see how this dish could possibly disappoint. I did cut back on the bacon just a bit but it did not hurt the final outcome in the least. For the mushrooms I used some huge Portabellas, which I sliced. We don't get Mexican cheese here so I used a blend of cheddar and Edam. I only had about 2 hours to marinade the chicken but I will try the 24 hour marinade next time; though I really don't see how it could be any better than last night's fare. I will say that I cooked the chicken a bit longer in the skillet before moving to the oven. I wanted to be sure it was thoroughly cooked. No problem though... Even with not covering the pan with foil right away, the chicken was a tender as could be. (-: This will be a repeat if my family has anything to do with it. Many thanks for posting this YUMMY recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      I made this again for my mothers birthday, and once again, everyone loved it!!! This is definately a keeper!! Thanks so much for the great recipe---

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Now This is Alice Springs Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1034.7
     
    Calories from Fat 529
    51%
    Total Fat 58.8 g
    90%
    Saturated Fat 27.6 g
    138%
    Cholesterol 211.0 mg
    70%
    Sodium 2510.1 mg
    104%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.5 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 75.4 g
    301%
    Protein 53.2 g
    106%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites