Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Now That's a Crock of Mac & Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Now That's a Crock of Mac & Cheese

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2011

      I have not made mac & cheese in the crock pot before and to be honest I doubt I'll do it again. While the taste was quite nice the texture was really not to our liking and the leftovers turned to mush. Perhaps my crock pot is hotter, I set it on low but the noodles were cooked in only 90 minutes but the cheese was not yet melted. I found I couldn't leave it for more than 15 minutes for stirring as well making it one that I wouldn't do if I was gone for a few hours. I would however make the cheese sauce again, which was very tasty, in the crock pot and cook the noodles separately. I'll try that at some point and come back with my results. Made for RSC #16. Best of luck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      This recipe indeed is wonderful! It has a great creamy, cheesy consistency with a lovely crunch to the top and the taste is just delish! YUM, everbody loved this! :)
      I dont own a crockpot, so I simply cooked my pasta on the stove-top and then added the sauce ingredients and the topping (which I had mixed in a bowl). I baked the casserole at 375°C for 25 minutes and it was perfectly done. The only thing I changed in order to accomodate this was to reduce the amounts of half and half and milk, cause my cooking time was way shorter. Not much hassle either.
      I enjoyed the addition of onion a lot, but would add more next time. Also I think some garlic powder would be great in this.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a fantastic mac and cheese recipe, chef! Ill make this again and again.
      Made and reviewed for RSC #16 May 2011. Good Luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Never made mac & cheese in a crock pot before - I cooked this on low as instructed. But I opened it a few times and stirred it because the pasta on top wasn't cooking. The consistency when first served was a bit different but reheating it the next day improved the overall flavor and consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2014

      this recipe was horrible. it tasted like old shoes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2014

      I followed directions exactly. Put on high for 3 hours. After 2 hours I shut it off. Cheese is a weird texture and looks like milk may have curdled? Maybe my crock is too hot. But didn't work for me :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      I love it in a crock pot. It seemed more cheesy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      I followed the directions to a tee, for the low setting on my crock pot. I stirred the Mac every <br/><br/>half hour to ensure the pasta was cooked evenly. The only addition I made was during the last <br/><br/>hour of cooking, the Mac was simply to thick and sticky, so I added a quarter cup of milk, just <br/><br/>enough to thin it out. The overall taste was good, it could have been a little cheesier (used <br/><br/>exact cheeses and amounts). I liked the crunch from the Cornflakes. Consistency was to my <br/><br/>liking, I prefer a thick Mac rather than it being creamy. The pasta was cooked perfectly for 4 <br/><br/>hours, Cavatappi pasta is also my favorite. Would have given 3.5 stars if possible. I will <br/><br/>consider making this again but I would add more cheese and milk, and less cornflakes. <br/><br/>To conclude, the taste was good but it was lacking flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2014

      I thought these recipes would be tested by whomever sponsors this site. This recipe was almost inedible. it was just a blob that had no flavor of a mac and cheese dish...pasta only got gooey cooked in the crock pot! Live and learn. The caloric content of a serving must be astronomical and the expense of the three cheeses doesn't warrant serving up such a mess! Sorry but the credibility of this site is down the tubes for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      This was really good, and I loved the mixture of cheeses, along with the onion. The only problem that I had was that this really dried out quickly. I had to add quite a bit of extra milk, and it got kind of black around the edges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2013

      This recipe recieved a high rating from people who didn't even make it according to instuctions... don't be fooled like I was. Followed instructions exactly and this stuff is inedible! The pasta on top would have been an uncooked, dried-up mess had I not stired it (many times). I was tempted to add more liquid but resisted, I wanted to remain true with the instructions. My end result was like eating cheese curds... very dense, disgusting texture (the flavour was okay, thus one star) . This pasta was the most expensive on the shelf, almost 5 bucks for a 1# box, and when I figured in the other costly ingredients it was a VERY expensive failed experiment. I could think of no way to salvage this, so it went into the trash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      This looks so good. I can't wait to try it. I may add bacon because it seems like it will go good with the crunch of the breadcrumbs. Awesome dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      I pretty much followed Lalaloula's lead when making this recipe, & didn't make it in the slow cooker! Made this for a house-bound neighbor couple, & although I usually keep a bit for the 2 of us, this time I didn't, since the neighbors had a son, DIL & a couple of kids for the weekend! So, I relied on their feed-back to rate this recipe on taste & satisfaction, & all I got from them was GREAT! GREAT! WONDERFUL! OUTSTANDING! so I figured it went over pretty well! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      I had never made mac & cheese in a crock before so this was a bit of new experience for me. I will try other mac and cheese recipes in the crock now :D. The taste was good but the texture left a bit to be desired. It was way too sticky, more like what you find on a pizza than in mac and cheese so I added some half and half to it, which helped. Maybe I should have added a bit more but I didnt want to make it soupy. The kids refused to eat it. They normally love mac and cheese. Made for RSC 16.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      Nice recipe! Mine was cooked after 2.5 hrs on high. It was much too sticky, so added about 1/2 cup milk to thin it out and then had too much sauce - so cooked up the remaining 6 oz of pasta left in the box (I purchased a 16oz box) and then threw it in with the rest of the mac n cheese in the crockpot which was perfect. Thanks for sharing! Great RSC recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      I'm a great lover of mac & cheese, so was very excited to try the crockpot version. I'm all for anything that saves time in the kitchen. Unfortunately, this didn't work out at all. Maybe I did something wrong, but I wonder if 'cooked' pasta had been used if it might have been better. I'm truly sorry I can't offer any 'stars', but thanks for putting in the time and effort, and good luck in the contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Now That's a Crock of Mac & Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 380.5
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    45%
    Total Fat 19.0 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.6 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 60.1 mg
    20%
    Sodium 262.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes