16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have not made mac & cheese in the crock pot before and to be honest I doubt I'll do it again. While the taste was quite nice the texture was really not to our liking and the leftovers turned to mush. Perhaps my crock pot is hotter, I set it on low but the noodles were cooked in only 90 minutes but the cheese was not yet melted. I found I couldn't leave it for more than 15 minutes for stirring as well making it one that I wouldn't do if I was gone for a few hours. I would however make the cheese sauce again, which was very tasty, in the crock pot and cook the noodles separately. I'll try that at some point and come back with my results. Made for RSC #16. Best of luck!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just_Ducky!! May 31, 2011

This recipe indeed is wonderful! It has a great creamy, cheesy consistency with a lovely crunch to the top and the taste is just delish! YUM, everbody loved this! :)
I dont own a crockpot, so I simply cooked my pasta on the stove-top and then added the sauce ingredients and the topping (which I had mixed in a bowl). I baked the casserole at 375°C for 25 minutes and it was perfectly done. The only thing I changed in order to accomodate this was to reduce the amounts of half and half and milk, cause my cooking time was way shorter. Not much hassle either.
I enjoyed the addition of onion a lot, but would add more next time. Also I think some garlic powder would be great in this.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a fantastic mac and cheese recipe, chef! Ill make this again and again.
Made and reviewed for RSC #16 May 2011. Good Luck in the contest!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 28, 2011

Never made mac & cheese in a crock pot before - I cooked this on low as instructed. But I opened it a few times and stirred it because the pasta on top wasn't cooking. The consistency when first served was a bit different but reheating it the next day improved the overall flavor and consistency.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA HIKER May 28, 2011

This is the worse macn cheese I ever made. It was extremely grainy and bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hemphill.nancy January 09, 2015

this recipe was horrible. it tasted like old shoes

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
triciat22 September 28, 2014

I thought these recipes would be tested by whomever sponsors this site. This recipe was almost inedible. it was just a blob that had no flavor of a mac and cheese dish...pasta only got gooey cooked in the crock pot! Live and learn. The caloric content of a serving must be astronomical and the expense of the three cheeses doesn't warrant serving up such a mess! Sorry but the credibility of this site is down the tubes for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krissey1234 February 05, 2014

This recipe recieved a high rating from people who didn't even make it according to instuctions... don't be fooled like I was. Followed instructions exactly and this stuff is inedible! The pasta on top would have been an uncooked, dried-up mess had I not stired it (many times). I was tempted to add more liquid but resisted, I wanted to remain true with the instructions. My end result was like eating cheese curds... very dense, disgusting texture (the flavour was okay, thus one star) . This pasta was the most expensive on the shelf, almost 5 bucks for a 1# box, and when I figured in the other costly ingredients it was a VERY expensive failed experiment. I could think of no way to salvage this, so it went into the trash.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Huck55 April 03, 2013

I'm a great lover of mac & cheese, so was very excited to try the crockpot version. I'm all for anything that saves time in the kitchen. Unfortunately, this didn't work out at all. Maybe I did something wrong, but I wonder if 'cooked' pasta had been used if it might have been better. I'm truly sorry I can't offer any 'stars', but thanks for putting in the time and effort, and good luck in the contest.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 May 28, 2011

I followed directions exactly. Put on high for 3 hours. After 2 hours I shut it off. Cheese is a weird texture and looks like milk may have curdled? Maybe my crock is too hot. But didn't work for me :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kdiidion September 24, 2014

I love it in a crock pot. It seemed more cheesy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriscoBay February 25, 2014
Now That's a Crock of Mac & Cheese