10 Reviews

My family enjoyed this different twist on empanadas. I thought the flavor was a little lacking at first so I added some garlic salt (not much), cilantro and lemon juice, which perked them up. I also had a ton of leftover filling (about half the recipe) so I froze it to use again. Hopefully it will thaw normally. Thank you for posting. We will keep this in mind for our "Meatless Monday Meal" in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness October 08, 2012

The flavor was excellent! A bit spicy for the kiddos, but just right for me. I shredded the carrots and sauteed with the other vegetables to save time. I also used refrigerated biscuits flattened out for the crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hanny1217 August 04, 2009

good crust but i just used salt instead of soy sauce (did not want discoloration). i brushed the tops with oil. put them in the toaster oven at 375 for 20 min. also i think 3/4 c of filling is far too much. i put 1/2 cup and could just get them closed. thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snickels January 17, 2009

Excellent flavor! My son and husband raved over these. I didn't care for the pastry, so I bought some ready to bake pie crust and used half a crust for each. Also prepped veggies a day ahead and let cool in fridge - filling thickened right up and was easy to use. I made a double batch and froze the veggies portioned in muffin cups to extend the time I had to assemble them (I could only freeze 2 at a time in my side by side). I LOVE THESE. Will cook them again and again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Everybody eats when they come to my house May 09, 2008

These were tasty but I had some trouble with the filling being really wet and smooshing out of the pastry as I tried to close them. Maybe I didn't cook the mixture down long enough. Anyway, freezing them for a bit before baking helped firm them up. I used a different dough recipe, but I also had way more filling than dough. They were a good addition for the vegetarians in our dinner party - they enjoyed them a lot. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. October 07, 2006

I used up the all the filling, but I had to stretch the dough really thin, and it was quite challenging to get the right empanada shape. My family loves these, and they are excellent with fresh guacamole and sour cream. It was a lot of work, but the best part of cooking this dish is the "later". We keep them frozen in the fridge and throw them in the oven on nights that I don't feel like cooking- and you know we all have nights like that! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zelly Bell December 05, 2005

This empanada dough is fantastic, so good that my husband said he could eat the dough alone with no filling! I used a mix of different flours (all-purpose, whole wheat pastry, bread, and soy), which worked really well. The only thing I'd do differently next time is add a bit of salt as the 2 tsp of soy sauce wasn't quite sufficient. I have to confess that I didn't make the filling this time around because we had leftover enchilada filling to use up. However, I have leftover dough in the freezer, so if I use the filling described here next time, I'll certainly update my review. Thanks for a great dough!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. December 31, 2004

Like another reviewer, I had more filling than dough. This wasn't a problem though. The next day I served the extra filling with rice and it was terrific. It was more flavorful the next day anyhow. Next time I won't bother with the dough and just make the delicious filling and serve it again over hot rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunny_day November 09, 2004

This was a very tasty recipe! I made it with soy cheese, as opposed to dairy based cheese, and it was "delish". The family devoured them. I only had two problems with this recipe: the dough was too sticky; I had to add a good bit more flour. Also, I had more filling than dough; I could have made two more empanadas with the left over filling. The filling was delicious by itself, however, and did not go to waste. It was also very nice to see such thorough, detailed instructions for a recipe. My compliments to the contributor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola68 October 31, 2003
"Now and Later" Vegetarian Empanadas