Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "Now and Later" Vegetarian Empanadas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "Now and Later" Vegetarian Empanadas

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2012

      My family enjoyed this different twist on empanadas. I thought the flavor was a little lacking at first so I added some garlic salt (not much), cilantro and lemon juice, which perked them up. I also had a ton of leftover filling (about half the recipe) so I froze it to use again. Hopefully it will thaw normally. Thank you for posting. We will keep this in mind for our "Meatless Monday Meal" in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      The flavor was excellent! A bit spicy for the kiddos, but just right for me. I shredded the carrots and sauteed with the other vegetables to save time. I also used refrigerated biscuits flattened out for the crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      good crust but i just used salt instead of soy sauce (did not want discoloration). i brushed the tops with oil. put them in the toaster oven at 375 for 20 min. also i think 3/4 c of filling is far too much. i put 1/2 cup and could just get them closed. thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Excellent flavor! My son and husband raved over these. I didn't care for the pastry, so I bought some ready to bake pie crust and used half a crust for each. Also prepped veggies a day ahead and let cool in fridge - filling thickened right up and was easy to use. I made a double batch and froze the veggies portioned in muffin cups to extend the time I had to assemble them (I could only freeze 2 at a time in my side by side). I LOVE THESE. Will cook them again and again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      These were tasty but I had some trouble with the filling being really wet and smooshing out of the pastry as I tried to close them. Maybe I didn't cook the mixture down long enough. Anyway, freezing them for a bit before baking helped firm them up. I used a different dough recipe, but I also had way more filling than dough. They were a good addition for the vegetarians in our dinner party - they enjoyed them a lot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      I used up the all the filling, but I had to stretch the dough really thin, and it was quite challenging to get the right empanada shape. My family loves these, and they are excellent with fresh guacamole and sour cream. It was a lot of work, but the best part of cooking this dish is the "later". We keep them frozen in the fridge and throw them in the oven on nights that I don't feel like cooking- and you know we all have nights like that! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2004

      This empanada dough is fantastic, so good that my husband said he could eat the dough alone with no filling! I used a mix of different flours (all-purpose, whole wheat pastry, bread, and soy), which worked really well. The only thing I'd do differently next time is add a bit of salt as the 2 tsp of soy sauce wasn't quite sufficient. I have to confess that I didn't make the filling this time around because we had leftover enchilada filling to use up. However, I have leftover dough in the freezer, so if I use the filling described here next time, I'll certainly update my review. Thanks for a great dough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2004

      Like another reviewer, I had more filling than dough. This wasn't a problem though. The next day I served the extra filling with rice and it was terrific. It was more flavorful the next day anyhow. Next time I won't bother with the dough and just make the delicious filling and serve it again over hot rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

    • on October 31, 2003

      This was a very tasty recipe! I made it with soy cheese, as opposed to dairy based cheese, and it was "delish". The family devoured them. I only had two problems with this recipe: the dough was too sticky; I had to add a good bit more flour. Also, I had more filling than dough; I could have made two more empanadas with the left over filling. The filling was delicious by itself, however, and did not go to waste. It was also very nice to see such thorough, detailed instructions for a recipe. My compliments to the contributor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "Now and Later" Vegetarian Empanadas

    Serving Size: 1 (2806 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 477.1
     
    Calories from Fat 215
    45%
    Total Fat 23.9 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 66.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 519.3 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes