10 Reviews

When I stumbled upon this recipe, I had my doubts since for me it's always been beer battered/fried halibut for fish and chips. I tried this recipe anyway and I'M GLAD I DID!!! This is incredibly good! I used the melted butter recipe (as opposed to the beaten egg recipe), and that's what I'm doing today for dinner tonight. NUMMMMMMMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billatkublakhan October 10, 2009

I made this recipe for a dinner party last night. I put the fish on sliced purple cabbage, topped with homemade tartar sauce. Instead of using russet potatoes for the chips, I baked yam fries with curry powder. It was easy to prepare and was a huge hit. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaLinGra September 16, 2009

What a great recipe. I t was delicious. My kids ate it right up. I also passed this recipe on to my friend who has a wheat allergy. Finally she can have fish and chips again with no allergic reaction!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2hyper May 22, 2009

Very good. I skipped the salt as I thought it would be too salty and I am watching my salt intake. For this same reason I also used half crushed chips and half plain breadcrumbs. It was perfect. I might try it with salt and vinegar chips next time too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Energized1 March 24, 2009

This was pretty good. I used the egg method and I liked that the coating was really crispy in the end. It wasn't as flavorful as I had expected it to be though. I think I'll try making it with dill pickle chips or add some other seasonings next time. I'll be making it again though for sure. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zepharum March 31, 2008

This was super! I used Ruffles sour cream and onion chips and just crumbled them with my hand. I used the butter method as well and added a dash of Old Bay seasoning. I did have to use flounder as the grocery store was out of halibut. I think this would be good on any type of fish. even shrimp or sea scallops. Very unique and easy to prepare. the crunchy topping is outstanding. :) ~Bird

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu March 12, 2008

I wasn't sure how this was going to turn out but it was good. I used ruffle style chips and crushed them with a rolling pin. It left a neat texture but I think i'd like to try the food processor next time. I also used the egg method and definitely would use a flour coat first the next time. I would also be interested in knowing if anyone has tried different flavours of chips...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whatscooking February 22, 2008

I agree wow!!! I was looking for a quick and easy recipe to make for my son tonight, as he eats earier than us on school nights. Of course I can't make a new recipe without trying it myself so I made appetizer portions for myself and my hubby. Just as it was done my hubby got a phone call, so I took it into his office so he could eat it hot. When he came out he said " What was that? That was absolutely delicious you can make that for my dinner". I will definately be making this again as a main meal for us. It is the most easiest thing to prepare and tastes fab. I served door stop fries on the side of my son's dish. I did buy tartar sauce to serve with it but never used, it was perfect as is. Thanks for posting, will become a regular..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef October 17, 2007

I did find some halibut finally :) I made this during the week to rave reviews ~ even my picky fish eater loved it. It was super simple to make which I love. This will become a regular on our menu! Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook May 19, 2007

WOW, DH said this was the best coated fish he has ever had ! He loved it... I'm impressed because it was *really* easy to make. I used butter becuase I thought that if I was going the whole hog on a family sized pack of potato crisps then we could be decadent all the way.. next time I will use egg to compare, also because if this becomes a regular in our house (and it will) then I will need to save a few calories somewhere! I can see this pre-prepared and in the fridge, then into the oven and served for a buffet lunch or dinner becuase yes, it would *definiately* be a crowd pleaser ! Please see my rating system: 5 wonderful stars for a recipe that's easy and that had DH reaching for thirds long after he admitted he was full becuase he just HAD to finish it, he liked it so much. One note: I didn't use salt becuase I thought that the chips were salty enough and salt loving DH didn't mention that it wasn't salted enough... and if you are making a largish batch be aware that a large family sized bag of potato chips, once dealt to in a food processor, whizzes up smaller than you think. I had ample for 5 pieces of fish, liberally covered, but might have been stretching for more. Great recipe ! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 24, 2007
Not Your Mama's Fish N' Chips (Halibut)