10 Reviews

These are GREAT! I used frozen green beans because I didn't have canned. I also used dried basil and added it with the salt and pepper. Best green beans I have had in a long time. Frozen beans turned out crispy, not soft like canned.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildhorse May 14, 2003

So simple yet so good. I didn't add the basil at the end as I forgot. This was so easy to make. Hubby even asked for more and they were all gone. We love green beans and this is just another way for us to enjoy them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol February 25, 2010

Made for LET'S P-A-R-T-Y DECEMBER (09) COOKING EVENT and so glad I did. Canned beans can be so boring (at least the way I cook them). What a pleasant taste. DH really likes green beans and, I kid you not, had three helpings! I told him to slow down because I needed to eat some in order to review!! We had them with Baked Rigatoni which was also made for the P-A-R-T-Y. Really complimented the main dish. Thanks for the nifty idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanna Marie December 16, 2009

I gave this five stars even though I made a couple of changes, because my VERY picky DS scarfed this up (and he doesn't love green beans!) I did add the garlic in the beginning of cooking and it sort of burnt so next time I will add it towards the end, maybe the last couple of minutes or so. I have been trying to get rid of some jarred parmesan, so I added that at the end also. I even liked it with the fakey parmesan. I think a little lemon juice may brighten it at the end, but that is just for experimenting. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsomniak6 November 01, 2006

This was such an easy recipe that cooked quickly and resulted in a delicious side dish. I used a can of green beans, drained. I added a clove of garlic while sauting the beans as suggested by other reviewers. I used dried basil abd tossed it in right before removing the pot from the fire. Thank you for sharing your recipe luvmyhubby!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug August 07, 2005

Just wonderful and tasty! I also used frozen green beans and the recipe came out fine. Will try it with the garlic version next time. But this recipe is delicious! Thanks luvmyhubby!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut July 04, 2005

These were delicious! I added some garlic and that was all they needed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycookinmama June 05, 2005

Very Good, my husband would'nt let me throw away the last 6 beans., I had to save them in the fridge. So fast and easy, I will be making this again..Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio March 06, 2005

YUMMY! This has become a regular at our table. Used frozen beans, and added garlic & Italian Spice blend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedWonder November 05, 2004

Opened my can of beans and thought I'd fly on here to see if I could beef em up a little.. found this recipe. Got to say my kids even like them! Very good! Quick and easy! Thank you.. will make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christie1135 January 27, 2004
Not your average GREEN BEANS!