12 Reviews

I wanted something different for a side dish. So,I went on a Zaar hunt! I'm so glad I found this one! I made this as directed. I let it chill for 2 hours and the flavors blended beautifully. Thanks for this great recipe, moxie!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz February 27, 2004

This was a delicious and sweet side dish! I brought it to a friend's house for dinner last night, and he couldn't stop complimenting me about it! I used cinnamon instead of the allspice, and used McIntosh apples. The spices gave it a great flavor. It was about time I tried this recipe, since I was the one who requested it, lol. Thanks for a keeper, Moxie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kree September 27, 2003

I also omitted the vinegar, in favor of lemon juice, and the allspice in favor of cinnamon, but it made a great, light, sweet salad, nice for breakfast

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 19, 2003

I recall making this long back, but I did omit the allspice and the apple cider vinegar. Nice salad. I used to whisk in some yoghurt and munch it down:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani June 24, 2003

I needed to come up with a dish for a Thanksgiving potluck lunch at my work and I wanted something original as well as easy to prepare and with minimum fuss to offer at meal time, and this salad was perfect. I doubled the recipe to serve 8 to 10 and, in keeping with season, substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and added crushed walnuts. Well, I received compliments across the board ("Did really you make this yourself!?). All the grating did become a bit tedious and, since I prepared it ahead of time the apple oxidized some, but it was a perfect side dish to the entire meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LazySactoCook November 30, 2013

This was the first time I made carrot salad and I'm not sure what I was expecting but it turned out okay. The cloves seemed a little potent with the carrot but over all not bad. Next time I may use ginger instead and add a bit of mayo to make it creamy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 October 13, 2008

This is the first time I've had carrot/raisin/apple salad. I needed a creative carrot dish for dinner, and this was it. I made only a few modifications. I used orange juice instead of apple juice and cinnamon and ginger instead of cloves and allspice. This is simply because I didn't have those ingredients on hand. Thank you for a delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe June 19, 2008

I am a big fan of carrot salads and I enjoyed having this one as a side with my lunch today. The allspice and cloves really gave it was warm feel and made it rather different from the ones I usually have. It was sort of like a mulled apple cider dressing which was very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne March 31, 2008

Good, nice and fresh, but quite sweet, probably a bit sweeter than I was wanting. I think I'll play around with the spices and see if I can make it more to my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samurai jen February 20, 2008

This salad is great summer/spring side dish. I replaced the honey with maple syrup and didnt add the cider vinegar or cloves and instead added a pinch of cinnamon and the taste was beautiful! The subtle undertones of the spices contrast great with the sweet maple syrup and thickened apple juice. And the raisins are so soft and flavoursome, i make extra and put aside as a special treat for the kids. I brought it along to a BBQ and it got such great reviews that it's now my standard bring along dish - everyone requests it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beauty_queen_999 February 17, 2008
Not My Mom's Carrot/Raisin/Apple Salad