9 Reviews

This was very good, lots of veggies, I was in heaven and hubby took the left overs to micro for lunch at work. He usually opts for an Arby's.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jan007 June 02, 2002

We thought this was very good. Like other reviewers, I was drawn to this recipe because it did not include the yucky condensed canned soups that other recipes call for. I try to avoid using those when I can. I didn't really measure much of anything, and other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I had to use a large lasagna pan to bake it and after 30 minutes the breadcrumbs were golden and it was perfect. Oh, one substitution I made- I used canned chicken instead of tuna, as my husband detests canned tuna. Even my 1 year old loved it and cleaned his plate. This is a make again for us. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly February 09, 2011

I haven't made this yet, but I'm going to give it 5 stars right now just for not calling for canned soup! I'm going to make tune casserole tonight because I've got some left over pasta and veggies to use and up and I bet I had to look through 20 recipes for tuna noodle casserole before I could find one that didn't call for nasty canned soup! thank you for posting. I will be making a few subsitutes but I'm sure this will work out perfect! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill4man April 22, 2010

Very adaptable...I didn't have some of the ingredients, so instead of water and boullion I used chicken broth (the kind in the aseptic box). I didn't have the pimento so I used Thai red chile & garlic sauce. I also added a dash or two of worcestershire to make up for some lost flavor with the absence of the boullion. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BikeBookBread March 12, 2009

Great recipe! It was easy to make, very satisfying, and much healthier than my usual tuna casserole. I used shredded cheddar instead of the processed cheese, otherwise I followed the recipe closely. Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie September 23, 2007

Very good!!! I used red bell pepper, peas, one medium onion, 3 large cloves of garlic, cheddar cheese, and a little bit if cayenne with great results. I'll be making this often. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheftobe November 24, 2006

This was excellent. I made it for supper tonight and even my husband (who strongly dislikes pasta of any kind) loved it. I used frozen mixed vegetables (peas, carrots, corn) as I didn't have any frozen green beans, and to be honest we don't really like frozen green beans anyways and insteaad of regular cheese I used half fat cheddar cheese. I also cut the recipe in half with excellent results. There is still enough leftover for lunch tommorrow. Thanks for a lovely tuna casserole that is delicious, yet low in fat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr February 09, 2005

Better than dear 'ol moms! We make a few adjustments to suit our tastes: Peas instead of beans 1 cup of chopped onions 3 cloves of garlic Sharp cheddar - not processed

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UTcooks August 05, 2004

This was very good ! Even better the next day. Instead of using breadcrumbs, I put the canned onions on top about 10-minutes prior to taking it out of the oven. I think this really made the dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie in Florida May 27, 2004
Not just another-Tuna-Noodle Casserole