Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Not Just Another Cream of Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Not Just Another Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2010

      Wonderful!!! Subbed beef broth for chicken, used only 3/4 c water and 2 c whole milk instead of 1/2&1/2. Added garlic w/ onions because . . . well, I add it to everything except oatmeal. Since I used whole milk instead of half & half I'll add a little more flour next time to thicken it a bit more. Lots of flavor and perfect for a blustery Northwest day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      mmmmmm.....yummy. first time to taste fresh mushroom soup. this was very good and so easy to make. will make this again and again, good comfort food. dh and i enjoyed this with a nice chef salad. thanks paulcm for posting this recipe!!! UPDATE: 1/14/10 Still using this recipe. Cooked it tonight and enjoyed with a grilled cheddar cheese sandwich. This soup is so flavorful, not to thick or rich, simply delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I made this as part of our traditional Polish Christmas Eve dinner and it was quite a hit. I had a couple of recipes I was going to try but they were a bit labor intensive and I was running out of time. This was quick and easy and very delicious. My husband and father-in-law raved about this soup. Even non mushroom lovers gave this a thumbs up.

      I used half button and half baby bella mushrooms and 2 cans of chicken broth instead of condensed broth and water. This will be the soup I serve every Christmas Eve. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I printed this out months ago but just used it tonight and what a treat it was. I substituted beef broth for the chicken and it tasted just like Souplantation's soup! It was warmly received by all my family who ate it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      I made this using twice the ammount of mushrooms (a variety!), and vegetable broth to make it vegetarian.Carmelizing the onions before adding the shrooms gave it a wonderful color (as did adding some paprika) and flavor. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Thank you so much for this recipe! My kids are on the Feingold Diet, which eliminates artificial flavors and colors and three petroleum based preservatives. We have not liked any of the "approved" mushroom soup brands. I really wanted some green bean casserole last night and this worked perfectly!! I will note that I used 2 cups of homemade chicken broth instead of the condensed soup and water. I will next time either add more flour or cut it down to 1-1/2 cups as it was a little thin for the casserole. The taste, however, was heavenly! I think it would be awesome as a soup made from portebellas, though I have never eaten cream of mushroom soup in anything except a casserole! Thank you again so so much!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      Very good soup. I did add a dash of nutmeg and some thyme to give the soup much more depth. It was very delicious. Also, it was perfectly fine with just plain milk substituting the half and half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      Fantastic!! I also diced some baby carrots, and celery. Was awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      This was so creamy and good. My whole family loved it, even my seven year old who doesn't like mushrooms said it was yummy. I also added some enoki mushrooms to the button mushrooms because I had some that needed to be used. It was really wonderful. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      This soup was so good and super easy to make. I wished I had doubled the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Just made this today (1-29-11). At my hubby's request I added a smallish amount ( 1 cup) of thinly sliced celery and carrot (in a doubled soup recipe), which I sauteed along with the onions and diced mushrooms. Used all stock -- no water, along with baby bellas. It was grand! For just me I will use just mushrooms, but more of them.

      Thanks for the wonderful addition to my soup arsenal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      A good soup and not much work. I added celery and a little carrot with my onion and used portabella mushrooms. would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Excellent flavorful soup! I used 5 ounces fresh button mushrooms, 4 ounces reconstituted portabellas, and the mushroom soaking water. I also reduced the salt to 3/4 teaspoon and added another tablespoon of flour. Will make this soup again ~ Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Love this soup! It's so smooth and creamy and I can't believe I have been eating canned soup all these years when it is so easy to make it yourself! I would recommend cutting and preparing the ingredients in advance. Although my soup turned out great, I browned the soup quite a bit while preparing. The changes I made are as follows: becel margarine instead of butter, black pepper insead of white, organic chicken broth and half and half light cream. I also added one chicken breast and a half a cup of rice. I don't know how this serves six unless you use very small bowls. But I like big bowls of soup. Thanks for posting! I'll be making this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Great recipe! My fiance is not a fan of mushrooms so i put it all in a food processor before adding the flour to make it into smaller bits. Even he loved it (or claimed to) and had me pack some for his lunch the next day. We had it on a rainy afternoon with some grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches. You gave us a cozy afternoon, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Really nice and creamy soup where you can actually taste the mushrooms and the dairy in it... I used organic butter and organic 2% milk mixed with heavy cream. I also used Better Than Boullion for the chicken broth... Easy to make and so much tastier than the canned stuff... I ended up simmering the mixture for almost half and hour (before adding the half and half) because I was waiting on my BF to get home. This made the soup turn a beautiful golden color and intensified the taste. Just delicious! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Lovely - we all enjoyed it immensely! Thank you! Only thing I changed was using my own chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Made this for my boyfriend's birthday last night. It was fabulous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Very very good, took it to a Thanksgiving potluck, and it was wonderful. It is a thin soup wich I like! THanks for the great, easy recipe. I added a dash of Italian seasoning and some cayenne for a little boost of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Delicious soup! I followed the directions as shown. Also, I doubled the recipe and made some changes. I used 1 can of condensed chicken broth and 36 ounces of low-sodium, non-fat regular chicken broth instead of water. Next time I will skip the condensed broth and just use regular broth. I used fat-free half and half. I used about 2 1/2 tablespoons of butter, which I will cut to 2 next time. I also used 8 ounces of button mushroooms and 8 ounces of cremini mushrooms. The soup was thin, but that didn't matter. I would rather have a lower fat soup, than a thick soup with tons of fat. As long as it tastes great, I'm good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Not Just Another Cream of Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.2
     
    Calories from Fat 117
    68%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 35.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 827.1 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites