47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Was served this dessert at sweet sister's dinner. She drizzled carmel sauce over it - we loved the crunchy part so much that we even added that sprinkled on top.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cher bear from mn February 17, 2011

It is very hard to find a non-fried fried ice-cream recipe. This was very easy recipe and turned out super yummy! I used Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds cereal and brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also drizzled chocolate syrup with the honey. Totally yummy and very simple!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gcase February 07, 2010

I thought these turned out so tasty! I ended up using honey bunches of oats for the cereal. (can't remember which flavor). And we drizzled caramel over the top. They turned out so good. I had cereal mixture left over and we ate it plain and on bananas later. Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ILikeSweets June 19, 2013

Excellent recipe and lots of compliments from our mexican dinner party! Will definitely do again! I used Honey Bunches of Oats. Drizzled honey on some of them and chocolate on the others and topped with almonds

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julieeparrish October 09, 2012

Loved this recipe. So easy and tastes just like "fried" ice cream without all the fuss. I drizzled it with chocolate sauce and some whipped cream just to make it pretty. It got great reviews when I served it for dessert following a meal of fajitas. I highly recommend!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milwaukee Girl in the South January 13, 2012

I served this over a brownie for my husband's birthday. It earned raves from everyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KansasChef August 14, 2011

We had an early Cinco de Mayo celebration tonight (May 1) and I served this for dessert. It was a hit! My Mother scarfed it up and took home a couple more for tomorrow. Easy, good, and really like the Special K suggestion for next time. Meant to, but forgot to serve chocolate sauce. Very good without it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn May 01, 2011

WOW! This was super yummy and easy! I made this for "mexican night". I used the Special K cinnamon pecan with a little extra cinnamon and no butter. Really good stuff. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JiliBean March 13, 2011

Better than I have ever had at ANY restaurant! So, so good! I love it with honey and my son likes his with chocolate syrup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Backwoods Foodie July 12, 2010

I made it for dessert for our Cinco de Mayo menu. This was so simple & delish! Everyone loved it and has requested it to be made again. We've never had "real" fried ice cream, so I don't know how it compares, but I'm loving this version! I used a different cereal called Wheaties Fuel- it's a mixture of small whole wheat flakes & crispy rice cereal pieces that are slightly sweet with a cinnamon taste. I put the cereal in a freezer baggie & crushed it with a cup, then spread it on a cookie sheet and baked it, occasionally stirring it. With this cereal I didn't add anything- no butter, sugar or cinnamon. It worked & tasted great! I did find I had to smoosh the cereal onto the ice cream balls a little- I wanted really good coverage all around and rolling them in the crushed cereal didn't provide that. We get to try it with the honey or chocolate sauce on it, I can only imagine that makes it all the better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faeanne May 06, 2010
Not Fried, Fried Ice Cream