Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Not for Sissies Red Hot Chili - Crock Pot Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Not for Sissies Red Hot Chili - Crock Pot Chili

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2010

      my husband loves spicy stuff and this is his favorite dish for me to make. since he loves me i make it for him

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      This is a great recipe for chili. I made this chili for a church competition and I had great reviews from the guys. However it was extremely too hot for most so I would suggest to cut the spices in half to one oz instead of two. Other than that I will make this my go to chili from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      At the last minute, I grabbed this chili recipe for a chili cook-off at work. I made it exactly as directed. It was easy peasy! Everybody loved it and out of 14 entries, it got the 2nd most votes. People said it was very good and spicy, but not obnoxiously hot. I'm going to make a pot for the family this weekend. Good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      This recipe is very tasty and is so much better than my old chili dish! Depending on my target audience I either omit the cayenne or substitute the Jalapeno for 4x more Habenero peppers and substitute crushed tomatos for a jar of Ghost Pepper salsa. If you shop around for the right broth & beans it makes an excellent gluten-free meal that lasts for days. The 4 serving batch (it serves well more than 4!) fits perfectly in my 5 quart crock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      Excellent chili. I omit oregano. Very good, whle family loves it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      This is by far one of the best chili recipes I've found. I opted out of using the bacon and added a habenero for a little extra kick. For a little healthier option, I'll substitute half ground turkey for the beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Wow, GOOD and SPICY stuff! My husband loves this! I used what I had on hand--so used ground turkey (in place of beef), and chicken broth (in place of beef broth), and this turned out super good! Loved the bacon in this! Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Loved this recipe!!! I couldn't add the 2 chopped onions because I ran out of room in the crock pot, this recipe most certainly feeds more than 8 people! I added onion powder instead and didn't puree the tomatoes (was lazy) and just chopped them, this chili was a huge hit!!!!!! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      this is a damn good chili there is no changing this recipe the seasoning and ingredients are perfect VERY GOOD CHILI award wining quality

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      My husband loves this recipe just as is - but it's too spicy for me! I scale down the spicy stuff but only a tad. Love the flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      Everyone loved this chili! Mine turned out a bit watery I'm guessing due to a lack of tomato paste, so I might use diced tom's next time instead of crushed. But the flavor was kick butt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Being a Texan this what I expected. Good hot chili. True Texas chili does not have the beans, so I omitted them. I also subbed some good ole chipolte peppers for some of the cayenne pepper. Very nice flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This was really yummy. I cut all the spices & jalapeno in half and still won "spiciest chili" at my church chili cook off. I used Sweet Italian turkey sausage, (about 2.5 lbs.) in stead of ground beef and it added a really nice flavor. Great recipe, I'll make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Great flavor. I did make 1/2 a recipe. The whole recipe would not fit into an average size slow cooker. I used 1/2 the amount of cayenne and it still had plenty of heat. I also used less cumin. A Santa Fe chef told me once, "You should not be able to taste cumin, but you should know if it's missing". I skipped the puree (Step 4) and added minced ingredients instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Great chili! I finally won our chili cook-off after years of trying different recipes :) The funny thing is that I didn't have time to cook it slowly, (left it to the last minute) so I microwaved it for about an hour! I think the bacon is what gives it that special something. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      I've made this for my SO to take with him hunting. Will let you know what the boys think when he gets back. UPDATE sorry took so long to update. I had halved the cayenne pepper as wasn't sure how hot all the guys would want it. It was loved by all but one that doesn't like hot so will definitely make again this year and just cut down some more on the heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I really wanted to try this recipe,but it just seemed so big. So I have this recipe calculator that will take recipe ingredients and scale them up or down as the case may be. Down to the 1 lb. of ground beef level. It was really good chile. Kind of a smokey flavor. Crush the bacon up good so it's stealthy (it seems to be the secret ingredient).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I use no bacon, add ¼ c of salsa and ½ c of corn. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I made this for my mother's birthday and it was a hit! I added one less can of kidney beans only because with all the other ingredients, I didn't have room in my crock pot. It was at my threashold of hotness (I can take the average hot wing) and served it over rice....sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Great!! I used 1/2 pound of bacon instead & added a can of sweet corn...ummmmm I will cook this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Not for Sissies Red Hot Chili - Crock Pot Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (836 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1081.2
     
    Calories from Fat 579
    53%
    Total Fat 64.3 g
    99%
    Saturated Fat 22.8 g
    114%
    Cholesterol 192.7 mg
    64%
    Sodium 2287.1 mg
    95%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 21.6 g
    86%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 68.1 g
    136%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites