Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Norwegian Rhubarb Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Norwegian Rhubarb Pudding

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2006

      I liked this for the fact that it had a thickening agent in it. Mom would make this when we were young but it was always soupy, so I never would eat it. The vanilla was a new welcomed experience. Over all this was very easy to make and had nice complementary flavors. Also, I weighed the rhubarb on my scale and then measured it. So 1 1/2 pounds is equivalent to 5 cups. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I'll be sharing it with my mother. Made for Zaar World Tour 2006

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Wonderful! I used 4 cups frozen rhubarb, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 cup tapioca and for the sugar I used the Splenda blend. Love it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      Rhubarb pudding - yum! This tasted great but I wasn't crazy about the texture. It did have more of an applesauce feel than a pudding. Next time I may try pureeing the cooked rhubarb mixture before adding the cornstarch mixture. At any rate a sweet/tart and tasty dessert - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2010 Event (recommended by Deantini)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Wow! We love rhubarb, and your rhubarb pudding recipe is now our favorite as well as a hit with guests. I liked the suggestion to add some red food coloring. I put the pudding into crystal goblets before chilling for a very elegant-looking desert. I make it at least 5 hours ahead or even the day before for the best consistency and taste. When I'm too lazy to make real whipped cream, I find that Cool Whip works just fine. The suggestion to add a bit of lemon zest before serving is a good one. Also try lime zest, which we like even better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      An easy peasy to make dessert gem. I loved it. This rhubarb pudding has just the right balance of the tart flavours of the rhubarb and enough sweetness. And the vanilla is just adding enough flavour without being too dominant. I cooked the rhubarb exactly 10 minutes and it was perfect. I used less sugar for the whipping cream (about 2 teaspoons of vanilla flavoured sugar). The vanilla in the whipping cream worked great. If you mix the whipping cream with the pudding the tartness of rhubarb will be turned into a smooth and creamy fruit taste. I served it at room temperature as well as chilled. At room temperature it would be perfect for an afternoon break. Chilled it is great as a dessert or on a warm evening outside. GREAT. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      This was really good! I love rhubarb in any way shape or form and am always looking for new ways to prepare it. This was very easy and delicious. I made exactly as recipe is posted. next time I may try a little candied ginger in the whipped cream, as I think ginger and rhubarb go very well together! Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      This is great with your cottage cheese if you normally eat peaches or fruit cocktail. This is very good and easy to make. Just so you know. 1 1/2 lbs of Rhubarb is about 8 stalks. I will experiment and try to make it more custardy like pudding. This is a little more like applesauce, but I liked it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Very tart; I didn't feel comfortable taking this to the potluck like planned. Mine didn't gel very well; I may have added too much water (I was distracted by kid interruptions!), so I added some dissolved strawberry jello, some cool whip (incorporated) and mini marshmallows, and took the "pink goo" anyway. Well, it looked interesting enough to get almost completely eaten (I made a double batch since I had so much rhubarb). My son's plate had two huge pink stains; he loved it! It was different, but ok. I may also have put this into a pie crust, if I thought it had the potential to gel better. Regardless, more people ate a healthy veggie than had planned to, so thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      OMG - this is to die for!!!! I remember my mom making this when I was a kid. I served it with a dollop of whipping cream. Made by Unrulies under the Influence / ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      MMMM!! My neighbour just gave me a bag of rhubarb, and since I don't make pie, I thought I would give this a try! SO GOOD! I ate it by itself and with some vanilla yogurt since I didn't have any cream. Oh, and we couldn't wait so it only chilled for an hour :) Made for ZWT #6!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      used tapioca starch rather than corn. Was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      We love rhubarb, and this is by far the best recipe we've ever tried.hands down. Simple and just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      Very easy and yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      Here's another five stars! Very easy to make and not to tart for me. My husband would have prefered it a bit more tart, but he still liked it. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      This is a tasty simple to make pudding. The little bit of vanilla added a little different flavor which I liked. I made this less than 1hr before I wanted to serve it so chilled it in the freezer. The texture was perfect - not too thick or too thin. Thanks Leslie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      Great fresh and easy to prepare dessert. We loved it!Thanks Leslie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      Very easy to make. Right blend of sweet and tart. Served with whipped cream on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      I was surprised at how much I liked this. It was my first attempt with rhubarb and probably only the second time I've ever eaten it, so I was nervous about not liking it. Mine didn't seem to look as smooth as some of the other pictures, so I'm wondering if I was supposed to prepare the rhubarb before cooking it. Other than that, I thought it was an easy recipe to make and I did like Thorsten's suggestion of mixing the whipped cream into the pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      good stuff .who needs pie crust? dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      I love Rhubarb and this was a great way to feature it without masking it with other flavors. Easy to prepare and healthy to boot. I topped mine with a dollop of strained yogurt with lemon zest. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Norwegian Rhubarb Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 289.9
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    46%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 9.2 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 54.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 22.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 30.4 g
    121%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites