Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Norwegian Red Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Norwegian Red Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2015

      This is a recipe we eat quite often in Belgium. Towards the end of the cooking time, we add some cut up apples. Don't forget the bayleaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      That would be the best red cabbage recipe I've ever made! The kitchen smelt like a German Gasthaus! I have printed this one and will definitely cook it again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I made this for Jul, along with Swedish Meatballs A number of similar recipes result in watery cabbage, but this one did not disappoint. Just the right consistency! I was delighted with this and wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Simple,easy and tastes like it should. Great contribution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      I really liked this recipe, but it was just a bit too sweet for me. If I make it again, I don't think I'll add the full amount of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I rarely eat cabbage buy joined a CSA and ended up with a head that I didn't know what to do with. I tried this recipe and was surprised by how much I actually liked it (I had it in my head that cabbage=yucky no matter how it was prepared!) I used the food processor to shred the cabbage and this recipe ended up being super easy! I won't be rushing out to BUY cabbage anytime soon but I'll be sure to pull out this recipe every time I get a cabbage from my CSA!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      A wonderful change of pace. Pretty much followed recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      verry good and easy the jelly gave it a different flavor from simmilar recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I made this for Mother's Day for my Norweigian DIL and it was a hit! She really liked it, although she said her mom's "traditional" recipe has a bit more sour taste. Next time (and there will be a next time!) I will likely leave out the sugar as the red currant jelly is very sweet by itself and maybe increase the vinegar to 3 tablespoons to see if I can get the right sweet/sour combo. Thanks fo the great recipe Sily Sally!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      Very good. Replaced the butter with one tbs olive oil, cranberry jelly replaced the red currant jelly (cause I didn't have that). Served it with chicken. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      What a special dish! I made this as the side for pork chops with buttered noodles. It really was a refreshing taste. The only change I made was to sprinkle some caraway seeds over the top. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      I made this dish for my vegan girlfriend just by substituting the butter for olive oil. Tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      This is an excellent dish using red cabbage. It is easy to put together and the flavors are outstanding. I especially liked the addition of the red currant jelly. It gave the cabbage and lovely piquant taste. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe. I will definately use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Norwegian Red Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.1
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    35%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 753.0 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes