Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Norwegian Red Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Norwegian Red Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2011

      That would be the best red cabbage recipe I've ever made! The kitchen smelt like a German Gasthaus! I have printed this one and will definitely cook it again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I made this for Jul, along with Swedish Meatballs A number of similar recipes result in watery cabbage, but this one did not disappoint. Just the right consistency! I was delighted with this and wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Simple,easy and tastes like it should. Great contribution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      I really liked this recipe, but it was just a bit too sweet for me. If I make it again, I don't think I'll add the full amount of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I rarely eat cabbage buy joined a CSA and ended up with a head that I didn't know what to do with. I tried this recipe and was surprised by how much I actually liked it (I had it in my head that cabbage=yucky no matter how it was prepared!) I used the food processor to shred the cabbage and this recipe ended up being super easy! I won't be rushing out to BUY cabbage anytime soon but I'll be sure to pull out this recipe every time I get a cabbage from my CSA!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      A wonderful change of pace. Pretty much followed recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      verry good and easy the jelly gave it a different flavor from simmilar recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I made this for Mother's Day for my Norweigian DIL and it was a hit! She really liked it, although she said her mom's "traditional" recipe has a bit more sour taste. Next time (and there will be a next time!) I will likely leave out the sugar as the red currant jelly is very sweet by itself and maybe increase the vinegar to 3 tablespoons to see if I can get the right sweet/sour combo. Thanks fo the great recipe Sily Sally!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      Very good. Replaced the butter with one tbs olive oil, cranberry jelly replaced the red currant jelly (cause I didn't have that). Served it with chicken. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      What a special dish! I made this as the side for pork chops with buttered noodles. It really was a refreshing taste. The only change I made was to sprinkle some caraway seeds over the top. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      I made this dish for my vegan girlfriend just by substituting the butter for olive oil. Tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2005

      This is an excellent dish using red cabbage. It is easy to put together and the flavors are outstanding. I especially liked the addition of the red currant jelly. It gave the cabbage and lovely piquant taste. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe. I will definately use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Norwegian Red Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.1
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    35%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 753.0 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 35.8 g
    143%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes