10 Reviews

Really good flavor, and not hard to make, but a little salty. So cut back on the salt unless you like it that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 24, 2015

I had made my own meatballs and was looking for something different to make with them. I used your gravy recipe and it was wonderful. This was really a different recipe for us. We all enjoyed it. I did have to add more flour to thicken up the gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 14, 2011

I did use a reduced sodium broth and didn't think they were too salty. I made as written except just cooked on the stove top at medium heat covered for 35 minutes. They were cooked through and still juicy/tender. Served with Gouda Mashed Potato Casserole 276182 and they went well together. Made for PAC Fall 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH October 23, 2011

Thought this recipe was delicious but I agree with another review that said it was too salty (my husband always oversalts everything and even he agreed it was too much). I am planning to make these for an upcoming party and will be using reduced sodium broth to cut down on the salt. Also, I made the meatballs and froze them prior to cooking and am planning to throw them in the slow cooker with the broth mixture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollysparker October 17, 2011

This recipe was exactly what we love for our Sunday Dinners.... pure comfort food. I did have to make some changes because of DH's allergies to gluten, milk, eggs and yeast. I used beef broth instead of cream in the meatballs and left the egg out completely. For the gravy I used cornstarch instead of flour and I served the meatballs over garlic mashed potatoes made with chicken broth instead of milk products. Even with those changes this dish was a hit with everyone from my 4-year old identical twin granddaughters all the way up to my 81-year old Dad. Served them with buttered peas on the side. The only complaint my DH had was that he could not use bread to sop up the delicious gravy! The recipe made 30 nice sized meatballs that were moist and flavorful and it was rich enough that after 6 of us ate there were still leftovers which I froze. We will have this meal very often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks March 28, 2011

I enjoyed this, but I thought it was just too salty! I used a mix of ground beef and ground pork, and served over mashed potatoes. DS loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 04, 2010

I made the recipe as posted except for one addition; I added sauteed mushrooms to the gravy. Hubby and an unexpected guest enjoyed the meatballs for dinner tonight. I served them over noodles with a side of green bean almondine. They both loved the flavor of the meatballs, and said the gravy was very tasty, but hubby would have preferred the gravy to be thicker. The gravy was quite thick when I added it to the covered casserole, and placed it in the oven to braise. Perhaps it was the addition of the sauteed mushrooms that thinned out the gravy? There is enough leftover for another meal. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 January 20, 2010

These were really good & certainly out of the usual for our household. I did add about 12 ounces sliced mushrooms to the gravy - DH gobbled it up though he teased me about the "bally dinner" as I served with brussels sprouts (thought those were green beans in the freezer LOL).(trying to limit some carbs after the holidays) We will make this again. Thank you Cindy for a keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend January 14, 2010

Very good meatballs and gravy. I served them over noodles the first meal and leftovers were served over rice. I really enjoyed the taste of the gravy. Thanks for posting Cindy. Made for Fall 2009 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn October 10, 2009

This is amazing. The neatba;;s are light and the gravy id delicious. My whole family loves it. I have used the mixture for meatloaf with the gravy on it, and it's just as good. Shape the meatloaf on foil so it drains and bake 1 hr at 350.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leith D. October 16, 2007
Norwegian Meatballs in Brown Gravy