Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Northwoods Inn Purple Cabbage Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Northwoods Inn Purple Cabbage Salad

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2009

      Tastes just like the salad at the restaurant! It gets better the longer it marinates. Since the flavor of cabbage can vary somewhat, be flexible with your seasonings. Some may require a little more sugar, etc. This is really beautiful to use as a "bed" to serve meat on. Goes absolutely fabulous with a grilled ribeye!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      This recipe is a favorite staple of mine. I have been eating it for years and have cleaned it up just a bit. It is great for those of you who are snackers and need to lose weight or want to maintain your weight. You can eat as much of this as you want. I recommend changing the sugar for fresh apple juice. You can omit the lawerys season salt (not to much healthy stuff in that item). As far as how much apple juice...just do it to taste. IT WORKS great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      I lived in California for 54 years and have eaten at the Clearman restaurants since I was 25. When I moved to Oklahoma, with 2/3 of my close family, they wanted me to try to make the Northwoods Inn Purple Cabbage Salad. I tried several recipes but think this one is the closest. The only thing I add to it is about a 1/2 teaspoon of horseradish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      This salad is great and VERY close to the restaurant version. I upped the vinegar to 3/4 cups for a little more zing. The recipe for 2 servings is actually enough for a whole head of cabbage. Highly recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      I liked this a lot. Particularly because it's not one of those salads you have to worry about spoiling out in the summer heat (and it's visually appealing). I'm not a fan of coleslaw, but I can def go for seconds of this. I felt like it needed a bit more vinegar, but as Chef #1173992
      stated, be flexible with seasonings (and adjust to taste). Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      I am so glad you posted this recipe! It is wonderful and tasted like Northwoods Inn! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      Amazing, and I work 1 mile from Northwoods in Pasadena so I have had it more than a few times!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      so simple to make yet so tasty.. thanks for my new addiction!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      EXCELLENT. have been to the one in LaMirada? Artesia? Love the red, and the green w/bleu cheese is divine also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      I always have this in the refrigerator. It goes with everything, and everyone likes it. At the restaurant, they serve it with chopped iceberg lettuce with bleu cheese dressing. Delicious! It also tastes great with any grilled meat or fish, on top of sandwiches and it travels well for potlucks or lunch. I omit the sugar and add 3 Tbsp. of Splenda so it is low carb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      I've made this cabbage salad for years, as Northwoods Inn is a favorite first-stop whenever I go to southern Cal. I obtained a photo-copy of the original recipe from one of their Covina location's chefs years ago, very nice people. I add a pinch or two of garlic powder and split the vinegar 50/50, half red wine and half apple cider vinegars, plus I double the black pepper. But, it's excellent just the way it's posted here too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This is spot ON!! thank you for posting this recipe, I love the cabbage salad for Nwoods inn and now I can have it anytime. My toddler loves to help me eat this!! Thanks, :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Perfect tastes just like the restaurants!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      This salad is just BEAUTIFUL!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      I absolutely loved it. I used it to top hot dogs, instead of sauerkraut for a gourmet spin and it turned out great. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Great salad to add to a potluck or bbq. Easy to make as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Delicious! Just like Northwoods! My friend loved it and finished off the bowl. I've already made it twice and it's def best with the thinnest slice on the mandoline.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      A HUGE hit at my house! Sweetie loves Northwoods Inn and says this is every bit as good as their purple cabbage. I particularly like the color. It's a beautiful accent for any plate. Much more "fun" that regular pale cabbage. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I haven't tried your recipes either, but I got soooo excited when I saw your recipes from Northwoods Inn, Clearmans Village (the village part, is all changed now). As a native from Pasadena, California and now living in Sacramento, CA, I have missed going to Northwoods Inn and have especially missed these 2 salads, which you have posted. I can't wait to try them and I am so VERY grateful! Eliz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Mmm Mmm, good tasting cabbage slaw. Cutting the cabbage with my OXO Mandoline makes such thin slices, making it look so pretty. I thought the teaspoon of Lawry's would be to strong but it was perfect. Don't worry about the 1/2 cup of red wine vinegar because it is not strong like regular vinegar at all. This is an easy salad to mix up from beginners to a pro, so don't pass it up. I adopted this chef for the *Spring PAC game* 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Northwoods Inn Purple Cabbage Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 635.8
     
    Calories from Fat 493
    77%
    Total Fat 54.8 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 63.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 26.9 g
    107%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites