Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Northwest Slicey Cheese Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Northwest Slicey Cheese Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2012

      This was really good. I used a medium cheddar and I would like to try it with a sharper cheese, and maybe slices of onion too. The presentation is beautiful. Thanks for posting.
      Made for ZWT 8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Yummy! Made a couple changes - left the peels on, cooked them halfway in the micro, and added green onions with the cheese. I love them! Made for ZWT 8

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Made as written using cheddar cheese. We loved these potatoes and now DH will be asking for them often. The only alteration I made was to sprinkle on some thinly sliced green onion at the same time as I was adding the cheese. I could make a whole meal out of one of these babies!
      Loved the tip about using the wooden spoon too - Thanks for posting - Made for The Bistro Babes ZWT*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Cut the recipe in half but like Breezermom I left the butter sauce the same only adding a little more garlic and topped the potatoes with sharp cheddar cheese and basted about every 15-20 minutes...yummy! Definately will make again. Served with ham, broccoli and sauteed apples. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      We had a pig roast over the weekend and I had a lot of baked potatoes left over. I made this tonight but didn't have to bake the potatoes. I actually cooked the whole thing in the microwave. I added the butter mixture and cooked for two minutes. I then added the cheese and cooked another minute. Everyone enjoyed these. I did cut back the pepper just a bit due to personal preference. I also didn't peel my potatoes. Loved the look and taste of these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      These have a beautiful presentation, especially if you pull each slice apart a little before plating. I halved the recipe, but left the butter sauce alone. Then I basted every 15 minutes to make sure the garlic butter permeated each slice. I chose to leave the skin on. Really enjoyed these. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      We had a mixed review. DH thought they were really good and I thought they were lacking flavor. To each his own. I did think they looked nice. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      I thought these were a really pretty presentation, and the instructions were very clear. I used the parmesan cheese. However we found them a bit bland and dry. I think I needed to slather the butter mixture on thicker and really make sure it got between all the slices, or perhaps to baste it more often. Made for Zaar World Tour III.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      Loved the presentation on this. I used a disposable chopstick when cutting, so as not to ruin my wooden spoon. Worked well. I used shallots instead of garlic and even though I minced them well, it was hard to get them in between the slices. I would use a bit less butter next time, as there was a little too much oiliness for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      Definitely delicious! Timing and oven temp was right on. Potatoes were tender yet crisp and seasoned nicely. Used extra sharp cheddar. Served with grilled steak topped with blackberry merlot sauce from JAP site, salad, and your Easy as Plum Pie. Dinner was wonderful! Made for Culinary Quest 2014 for Cruising Culinary Queens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      I thought these were ok. They took every bit an hour to soften up and they were fairly small potatoes. I think it was a lot of work/time in the oven to go through for what you ended up with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      I used chopsticks instead of a spoon so the slices went deeper - absolutely amazing! For ZWT9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Love hasselback potatoes and I made just the one for lunch for myself and served with a gardem salad. I used Carisma potatoes (which are low GI) and left the skin on and used fresh minced garlic instead of garlic powder and a mix of sharp cheddar and parmesan for the cheese, my potato was on the small side so only took just less than an hour all up to cook, the only change I would make when making again is to put a spinkle of paprika on the cheese, mainly because I love paprika on melted cheese, thank you momaphet, made for I Recommend tag game and recommended by AZPARZYCG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Oh my goodness, what a great recipe! I especially loved the combination of cheese and garlic butter--those bits of cheese that stuck to the foil were the best part ;). These had a gorgeous presentation, and I love the tip about the wooden spoon. I have made fan potatoes in the past and never had them come out so well. I did reduce the amount of butter just a bit, but otherwise this was made as written and it was a great light vegetarian dinner alongside steamed fresh veggies. Thanks for posting; this one's a keeper. Made for ZWT 8: The Wild Bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2012

      Great spuds!! Made as written and topped with shredded cheddar cheese. They turned out moist and buttery. I did add a little salt to the potatoes after plated, but otherwise would not change a thing. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      We didn't peel ours. I really appreciate the instructions about using the spoon when cutting the potatoes. This is a well-written recipe, and the end result is delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      What a fun preparation on potatoes! They came out creamy and delicious. I left the skin on. Thanks for sharing! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      These are great to impress. Looks great on the plate and looks harder to do than it actually is. The spoon works great to keep from cutting all the way through. Thank you momaphet! ZWT3 - Remembering Amy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      We loved these! I took megnbrycesmom's advice and basted often. I used sharp cheddar cheese and baked them at a lower temperature alongside a roast. The skin was nice and crispy from basting with the butter and the inside was moist , buttery, and garlicky- YUM! Thanks so much for sharing. Made for ZWT 3 Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2005

      Great recipe! I like the instructions, they were very helpful, otherwise I would have probably wound up slicing through and making "scalloped" potatoes! This also makes for a really pretty presentation, the potatoes get nicely browned and wow, with the butter... there were no leftovers! I'd give this more than 5 stars if possible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Northwest Slicey Cheese Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (131 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.1
     
    Calories from Fat 195
    58%
    Total Fat 21.7 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 60.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 451.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes