20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really good. I used a medium cheddar and I would like to try it with a sharper cheese, and maybe slices of onion too. The presentation is beautiful. Thanks for posting.
Made for ZWT 8

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlaskaPam August 12, 2012

Yummy! Made a couple changes - left the peels on, cooked them halfway in the micro, and added green onions with the cheese. I love them! Made for ZWT 8

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl August 11, 2012

Made as written using cheddar cheese. We loved these potatoes and now DH will be asking for them often. The only alteration I made was to sprinkle on some thinly sliced green onion at the same time as I was adding the cheese. I could make a whole meal out of one of these babies!
Loved the tip about using the wooden spoon too - Thanks for posting - Made for The Bistro Babes ZWT*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned August 07, 2012

Cut the recipe in half but like Breezermom I left the butter sauce the same only adding a little more garlic and topped the potatoes with sharp cheddar cheese and basted about every 15-20 minutes...yummy! Definately will make again. Served with ham, broccoli and sauteed apples. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf September 19, 2010

We had a pig roast over the weekend and I had a lot of baked potatoes left over. I made this tonight but didn't have to bake the potatoes. I actually cooked the whole thing in the microwave. I added the butter mixture and cooked for two minutes. I then added the cheese and cooked another minute. Everyone enjoyed these. I did cut back the pepper just a bit due to personal preference. I also didn't peel my potatoes. Loved the look and taste of these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 07, 2010

These have a beautiful presentation, especially if you pull each slice apart a little before plating. I halved the recipe, but left the butter sauce alone. Then I basted every 15 minutes to make sure the garlic butter permeated each slice. I chose to leave the skin on. Really enjoyed these. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom June 05, 2010

We had a mixed review. DH thought they were really good and I thought they were lacking flavor. To each his own. I did think they looked nice. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview August 31, 2009

I thought these were a really pretty presentation, and the instructions were very clear. I used the parmesan cheese. However we found them a bit bland and dry. I think I needed to slather the butter mixture on thicker and really make sure it got between all the slices, or perhaps to baste it more often. Made for Zaar World Tour III.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy May 27, 2007

Loved the presentation on this. I used a disposable chopstick when cutting, so as not to ruin my wooden spoon. Worked well. I used shallots instead of garlic and even though I minced them well, it was hard to get them in between the slices. I would use a bit less butter next time, as there was a little too much oiliness for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alvinakatz September 16, 2014

Definitely delicious! Timing and oven temp was right on. Potatoes were tender yet crisp and seasoned nicely. Used extra sharp cheddar. Served with grilled steak topped with blackberry merlot sauce from JAP site, salad, and your Easy as Plum Pie. Dinner was wonderful! Made for Culinary Quest 2014 for Cruising Culinary Queens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal September 03, 2014
Northwest Slicey Cheese Potatoes