Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / North Woods Chicken and Wild Rice Soup - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    North Woods Chicken and Wild Rice Soup - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2012

      Very quick and easy to put together. Saut?ed chicken breasts (after a quick pulsing in the food processor) with garlic salt and pepper. Added minced garlic and liquid smoke during the simmer stage to enhance the smokey bacon flavor since I did not have enough bacon. Used Madeira wine in place of the sherry. The flavors together were truly wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      This soup is delicious! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Made this without sherry (and added a couple of carrots), and it was terrific! Thick, warm and comforting - a perfect soup for a cold winter's day. Thanks for a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      I made this without the sherry, and it still turned out delicious. Perfect cold-weather comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Very good. My whole family liked it. I didn't have dry sherry so I substituted cooking wine. The soup was very thick. Next time I will probably thin with milk to make it go further. We didn't have any left over to freeze. I will make again on a cool day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Made it as written and it was very good. Doubled and froze the extra and it reheats well. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Great soup! I served it with fresh baked bread and salad. I only got about 4 servings out of it though. The bacon really makes this soup...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This made an excellent, warming meal served with a green salad and crusty bread. I had leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and that was used in place of the chicken and as Chef Jean Louise, Mirin for the sherry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      This soup was really excellent. I added a pint of fresh, shelled black-eyed peas, because I needed to do something with them, and substituted mirin for the sherry, because that's all I had on hand. Otherwise, I prepared as written, and it turned out fabulously. I had the leftovers for lunch the next day, adding a little water just before microwaving, and it was just as good as the night before.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Excellent! Very rich soup. Doubled recipe. Added 2 carrots (sauteed).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      OMGosh! Heavenly! I had to restrain myself from eating more! This soup is very rich and creamy. I boiled some bone-in chicken breasts because they were on sale. I may add a little water or more broth because mine got pretty thick. Everyone in my family gave this a thumbs up. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This. soup. is. FABULOUS. It never made it to the freezer (though I had intended it to) so I can't rate on that basis (although I'll be trying that!). But it was so good, so filling, so comforting. My 18 month old ate TWO bowls of this, and DH even liked it (and that's saying something!). Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Not bad soup, but somewhat bland. However, I didn't use the half and half (I subbed skim milk), so that may've made the difference. I added garlic (b/c I always do!) Sorry, but probably won't make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      Awesome soup and very creamy, too! We loved this and it sure is a nice change from normal chicken rice soup. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for posting this Jill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Very good & creamy. We skipped the bacon (don't like bacon), added a clove of garlic, doubled the paprika and added a dash of cayenne pepper & ginger for some zing. We will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      Time for another five stars for you. This is delicious and I am a cook and freeze nut. We have an RV and it is wonderful to pull something out of the freezer on the road. I added some chopped carrots for color. Gloria

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for North Woods Chicken and Wild Rice Soup - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 490.2
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    66%
    Total Fat 36.3 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 16.6 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 103.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 837.8 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 21.2 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites