Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / North Woods Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    North Woods Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2006

      Great Soup! We had it in bread bowls for dinner and it was filling and delicious! I did add a small amount of whipping cream to the pureed mixture, but i don't think it needed it. This soup is delightful and full flavor! It ended up simmering for about 40 minutes....and was so good!!!! Thanks Asha for an awesome dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      Very good and healthy. I didn't puree the soup as I like it chunky. Great thing to make with things I usually have on hand. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

      This is very good soup. I doubled the batch and added some macaroni and black beans to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Yum! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I'm not giving stars because I think it is the kielbasa-in-soup part that I just didn't like. I love kielbasa/smoked sausage fried up - oh yum! But, I cut it into cubes, fried it up and added it to this yummy soup that would have been way better off without it. I need a "crust" on my sausage :) I also added about 1/2 a yellow pepper that I had in the fridge, and a can of tomatoes. Nice flavor though. I added kielbasa after blending.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      We loved this! I am going to play with it and try to find a way to omit the kielbasa from the puree because it bothers me a little bit, but other than that it is truly VERY good. Rustic and yummy. It screams for bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I made this a bit more full-fat than the recipe called for using regular kielbasa and broth and adult chopped carrots. I did slice the kielbasa thin and fry it up separately to reduce the fat and get it more browned. (Love that browned flavor.) The soup was very good and easy to make. I skipped the puree step (lazy) and wish I had not done so, as it was not quite as thick as it should have been. I kept thinking that something was missing as I ate it. I think I'll add a bay leaf next time, as that will probably fix the issue. Using the canned beans made it come together in short order. It actually took more time to gather the ingredients than to prepare the soup. With the puree and some crusty bread, this would make a nice light dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      This was very good and very quick and easy. To save on dishes instead of blending half of the soup I just used a potato masher to mash some of it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      I found this recipe in Cooking Light years ago. I really enjoy this soup. It has a nice smoke flavoring to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Such a flavorful, robust soup and so easy to put together! Love the colors (the orange from the carrots and the green spinach make it very colorful). Healthy & tasty! I've made this at least a half dozen times and have used other sausage like those "gourmet" roasted red pepper chicken sausages.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      This was sooo good! I left out the turkey kielbasa and dried Italian seasoning; but added a pkg of dried onion soup instead. It was perfect with garlic cheese biscuits! My husband and I are looking forward to leftovers tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      Easy to make and really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I cook this recipe almost every month (sometimes twice a month - even in hot weather). It can be altered to accommodate almost any taste (sometimes I make it on vegetarian night and leave out the meat) and can be frozen. It is very easy and tasty. Even my picky kids like it. This always makes enough to have leftovers (for lunch or dinner the next night). we do ve

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      I have to say this soup is so delicious that I made it a second time and doubled it. I must say leftovers is as or more delicious the next day. All we needed was a salad and buttered bread. Thanks Asha for a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      loved this very much. I chopped up my baby spinach a bit before adding and used 16 oz. skinless smoked sausage. Wonderful flavor and could use a variety of beans to suit your taste. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      We enjoyed this recipe. I used dry beans that I had made up the night before and measured out 2 cups of cooked beans. I did not weigh out the sausage but used a piece about 1 1/2 inches long. In order to get the kids to eat it, I pureed the whole pot of soup and skipped the spinach(I think the spinach would taste great in it though). This soup is fast and cheap to make. Thanks for such a hearty soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      A lovely, flavoursome, so easy to make soup which has been on my ‘to be made soon list’ for far too long, and is now in my quick and easy, healthy recipes to be made often cookbook! I made it with deliciously sweet baby carrots, a chicken stock version of my Vegetable Stock Vegetable Stock and, because I wasn’t sure about just where to purchase turkey kielbasa or indeed if I’d like it, I used a dozen of Berthas Meatballs Berthas Meatballs (a great recipe I have made several times; I had some of in the freezer), added in step 5. I blended some of the soup with my immersion blender and added probably double the amount of spinach in step 9. Great soup: everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’m intrigued BTW as to why it’s called “North Woods” bean soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2006

      Very easy to prepare and very very delicious on a cold winter day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for North Woods Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (464 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.2
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    25%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 27.4 mg
    9%
    Sodium 579.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 11.9 g
    47%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes