18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great Soup! We had it in bread bowls for dinner and it was filling and delicious! I did add a small amount of whipping cream to the pureed mixture, but i don't think it needed it. This soup is delightful and full flavor! It ended up simmering for about 40 minutes....and was so good!!!! Thanks Asha for an awesome dinner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper January 20, 2006

Very good and healthy. I didn't puree the soup as I like it chunky. Great thing to make with things I usually have on hand. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp April 01, 2012

This is very good soup. I doubled the batch and added some macaroni and black beans to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird March 02, 2012

Yum! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jedimindtrick4 December 07, 2010

I'm not giving stars because I think it is the kielbasa-in-soup part that I just didn't like. I love kielbasa/smoked sausage fried up - oh yum! But, I cut it into cubes, fried it up and added it to this yummy soup that would have been way better off without it. I need a "crust" on my sausage :) I also added about 1/2 a yellow pepper that I had in the fridge, and a can of tomatoes. Nice flavor though. I added kielbasa after blending.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment April 22, 2010

We loved this! I am going to play with it and try to find a way to omit the kielbasa from the puree because it bothers me a little bit, but other than that it is truly VERY good. Rustic and yummy. It screams for bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa and Her Pants May 19, 2009

I made this a bit more full-fat than the recipe called for using regular kielbasa and broth and adult chopped carrots. I did slice the kielbasa thin and fry it up separately to reduce the fat and get it more browned. (Love that browned flavor.) The soup was very good and easy to make. I skipped the puree step (lazy) and wish I had not done so, as it was not quite as thick as it should have been. I kept thinking that something was missing as I ate it. I think I'll add a bay leaf next time, as that will probably fix the issue. Using the canned beans made it come together in short order. It actually took more time to gather the ingredients than to prepare the soup. With the puree and some crusty bread, this would make a nice light dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest April 28, 2009

This was very good and very quick and easy. To save on dishes instead of blending half of the soup I just used a potato masher to mash some of it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy July 27, 2008

I found this recipe in Cooking Light years ago. I really enjoy this soup. It has a nice smoke flavoring to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveGoodFood January 31, 2008

Such a flavorful, robust soup and so easy to put together! Love the colors (the orange from the carrots and the green spinach make it very colorful). Healthy & tasty! I've made this at least a half dozen times and have used other sausage like those "gourmet" roasted red pepper chicken sausages.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet January 19, 2008
North Woods Bean Soup