18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Saying "bake pork like you normally would" is not nearly descriptive enough. I need a recipe because I don't know how to cook a pork butt!

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen October 07, 2001

5 stars, and I'm from NC, so I should know! We just had the firey NC sauce with our pulled pork. It was wonderful. Had a great flavor that complimented the meat. I made it three days ago and let it set in the fridge...I think I should have added a bit more tabasco, as it was not really firey, but I don't like it to scald my mouth anyway. Thank you for sharing.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta January 15, 2003

I've never given a negative review at Zaar, so this is my first. I had 3 pounds of already baked pork roast on hand and was looking for a good recipe for pulled pork. All the ingredients in the Lexington-style sauce suited my family's tastes...but the rest of the recipe was a train wreck! I even started a thread about this recipe, hoping that some chef could simplify it for me and we just threw up our hands! First, there are no directions on how to bake a pork roast, for those that don't know how. Second, it mentions "left over butt roast" and the fact that you "boil it with water, onions and garlic." That would have reduced my already fork-tender pork roast into "pork paste!" When it comes to the sauces, it says to "add all the ingredients". But, if you've never done this before, I had to question "Does that also mean adding the shredded pork that #4 suggests?" I may actually make the sauce, add the meat to it and see how it turns out. But, I'll be reposting the sauce recipe with clear directions for people who are not familiar with this type of cooking.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef November 09, 2009

Let me just say, that the pork alone was tasty! My son ate only the pork on the buns, no sauce at all and he loved it! I enjoyed the fiery sauce a lot more than the Lexington, but I think that is just a personal preference thing. Some of my family liked the Lexington more, so I guess it depends on individual taste. We served the with Coleslaw, Potato Salad, cream corn, and Cherry Pie. It was a great dinner!! Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlipC April 17, 2004

I LOVED the fiery NC sauce ( I used my rub and cooked it the overnight method-9 hours at 250 degrees uncovered), but I used the sauce recipe and it was WONDERFUL!!! I had tried one other sauce recipe on here and though it was good, yours is the best!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerkitten D December 13, 2003

What can I say - a great pulled pork recipe and a keeper for us. Made it with Lexington sauce will try NC style next time Served in homemade buns and with fries for a great saturday night meal for large family gathering.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeJedi October 20, 2009

The Lexington style was very good. I live 10 minutes from Lexington and go to the BBQ festival every year, so I know all about good Lexington BBQ!! It didn't taste exactly like what I get from my favorite restaurant, but it was still really good. The fiery NC style seemed to have way too much vinegar. It made my whole house smell horrible. My husband usually prefers NC style, but he didn't like this. I would give your recipe for NC style 1 star and your recipe for Lexington style 5 stars if I could rate them separately.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Passaro December 22, 2008

I Love This! Top with some cole slaw. YUM!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moonbut December 05, 2008

Love the NC sauce!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaclynkb October 06, 2008

I made both these sauces to use with So It's Bekah's Pulled Pork Now - I couldn't decide which to use, so I made a half batch of both. It worked out wonderful! Best pulled pork I've ever had!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth A. September 06, 2007
North Carolina Pulled Pork