Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / North African Sweet Potato Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    North African Sweet Potato Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2003

      Very delicious. I love having another way to make sweet potatoes that is so fast and easy. As I was making these, I just couldn't resist putting in some finely chopped pecans and it turned out to be a good choice. This recipe makes enough latkes for several families, so I only made 1/3 of the original recipe and it worked just fine. Love these latkes, Mirj.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      I used organic sweet potatoes and they were tasty with warmed organic apple sauce and some ate with organic unhomoginised yogurt. I cooked them in organic extra virgin olive oil rather than gmo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      The flavour of these is awesome! My potatoes were a bit too finely grated so they turned out extremely fragile and we had a lot of crumbs instead of proper pancakes, but the taste was soo good!! I'll make them again soon for sure, they were a huge hit in our house. Thanks for sharing!
      Made for African Tag Game / African Forum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Big hit with the fam. Make sure oil is nice and hot before starting. We found the crispier pancakes tasted the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Delicious - especially straight out of the frying pan! We tried several types of pancakes (onion, carrot, eggplant, etc.) but this won top awards after the onion. And the recipe is so easy to make. I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2005

      Good easy recipe - I added a few spices to the batter for extra flavour. A great accompaniment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      You know when your 3 year old excitedly yells out to her father "Daddy, Daddy, come look. Mummy's making little pancakes for dinner. Oh WOW!" that you probably have a good recipe on your hands. I made 12 small pancakes/latkes which were demolished rather quickly by everyone including the 9 month old. I really liked this recipe because it is dead easy to prepare. I was worried that the latkes would fall apart but they held together really well. Best to be generous with the oil too and forget the calories and the fat content. Just drain them well later. Thanks Mirj for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2004

      These were pretty good. Didn't grab me too much, but were a nice accompaniment to meatloaf with some applesauce. I tried to pan fry mine with just cooking spray but I couldn't get it to work. I ended up cooking them on a griddle and it worked well. Thanks so much for something great to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for North African Sweet Potato Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 222.8
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    16%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 155.0 mg
    51%
    Sodium 744.5 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes