Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / North African Ras El Hanout Spice Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    North African Ras El Hanout Spice Mix

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2008

      I use this all the time and it is excellent. I have it in an unmarked container on my spice rack and people always ask to smell it--leading most often to a unison "wow". Seriously, just try making this spice mixture sometime. I have no doubt your experience will mirror mine; you'll be looking for dishes to use this in constantly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      I recently was diagnosed with kidney failure and was searching for low salt recipes and found this. I just substituted garlic powder for the garlic salt and ground celery seed for the celery salt. I have made beef stew twice and a chicken stir fry and take the leftovers to work and it is delicious (in fact twice when I went to get the second container of leftovers and my wife had already eaten it on me!). Thank you so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This is WONDERFUL! I had everything on-hand to mix this up, and used the optional saffron. I used this in Timman Z'affaran (Iraqi Saffron Rice With Meat) in place of the baharat spice. Thanks for posting, I'll be using this for a variety to things in the future. Made for ZWT6 - NA*ME Region and the Queens of Quisine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      I expected this to be the hottest of the three spice mixes I tried today. It wasn't. It was quite spicey but still very flavorful. I rubbed it on chicken that was then grilled outside. Made for ZWT #6 - 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      What a lovely mix of smells and tastes! I scaled the recipe down a bit and added the rose petals(I have a hillside overflowing with wild roses right now). I made this for the Zaar World Tour Kitchen Gadget Challenge for the Looney Spoon Phoodies! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      I made this to use in a tagine, but I also used it to spiff up some lentils that were too plain. Very nice! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Heh this is quite belated for Veggie Swap-- but this was such a fantastic spice mix! I didn't have any of the optional ingredients and just put in extra nutmeg since I don't keep mace around, and just the scent was mouthwatering. I mixed about a teaspoon or two with some olive oil to sautee some greenbeans and coucous, it came out really exquisite like I'd spent hours on it! Made for Veggie Swap (18 I think) for the VIP (better late than never lol)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Maaaarvelous my dear, just maaaarvelous. I included the anise and rose petals. As a trial I used it in a chicken salad for lunch and it was a pure delight. I made a 1/2 amount as I'm the only one who likes anything flavorful around here (bummer). I can't wait to try it in something really Moroccan. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Great spice mix; extremely fragrant! we loved the flavor and will definitely use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Perfect. I enjoy the flavor and aroma so much that I find myself using it all manner of dishes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      A beautiful blend of spices. I used this in your Easy Crock Pot Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine and it was amazing. I had to half the recipe due to the lack of the full quantities of some of the ingredients and didn't have any of the optional to hand. I'm looking forward to making again and this time including some of the optional ingredients. Thanks FT for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Reviewed for N*A*M*E Spice of the Month Club. No star rating until I choose a recipe to use the spice mix. Recipe yield reduced. Used everything but the nigella-out of them and forgot to purchase more. I'll be back. cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Mmmmmmmmm! Oh so easy and very fragrant. Made as part of ZWT3 and used (so far) in Fragrant Moroccan Beef, Date, Honey and Prune Tagine - Crock Pot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      WOW...the aroma of this spice mix is TDF. I used it with Miniature Pork Brochettes and it was fantastic. I can't wait to try out more recipes using this divine spice mix. (skipped on the optional ing this time) Reviewed for ZWT3...thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for North African Ras El Hanout Spice Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (19 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 93.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    49%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 31.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rose petals

    nigella seeds

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites