10 Reviews

This is a wonderful recipe I will be making many times over for brunch/lunch. It looks so attractive on the table and it's so easy to put together with the food processor, especially if you use your "plate" method. This time I used the mixed herbs option and I also added two fat cloves of garlic. Next time I think I will throw in some sharp cheddar as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood July 08, 2009

This was ok. I made it with out any add-ins and made the one big cake in the pan...I flipped it out onto a flat cookie sheet because none of my plates were big enough...it's hard to turn it out on a plate when the pan is hot...anyway the cookie sheet worked pretty well. I also added more flour than the recipe called for, and now I wonder if that is what made these taste a little bland to me? I'm not sure...but I like the idea and will try again...maybe adding some bacon like another reviewer suggested for added flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen May 22, 2009

These were great! I was looking for something different tonight instead of mashed or baked potatoes. I followed the recipe as written but did need to add extra flour. The family really enjoyed them and requested I make them again soon. Next time I may experiment with added ingredients just for the fun of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shutterbugds March 08, 2008

I really enjoyed this... My dad used too make this for us as kids. We called it "brownie's" flat like pancakes, i know that what "shermans" (yanks)call chocolate slice... we would have it smothered in (dead horse)sauce...eta BBQ or Tomato... Thanks for the recipe....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dropbear August 16, 2006

These were wonderful! I added cheese, corn and herbs and served with Mexican-style tomato salsa for SO and DS. As I don't eat white potato, I made a small batch for myself using sweet potato, with a touch of cinnamon. I used a rice bran oil spray and baked my batch in the oven, while the boys enjoyed theirs fried in butter and oil!! Thanks for a tasty, versatile recipe, Kooka!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegeMight August 16, 2006

When I was growing up, my grandmother made latkes very similar to these. I added a little bit of milk, a bit more flour, and a bit more pepper to the mixture. I didn't add any optional ingredients (I'm a latke purist). I will probably add another small onion next time. I made these into little cakes, and we ate these with sour cream and applesauce. They were very good; almost as good as grandma's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie'sMama June 05, 2006

I made this for brunch this morning. I added about an extra tablespoon of flour and a small handful of cheddar cheese. I cooked it at a lower temperature for about 45 minutes. I cooked it as one big piece. I had a little trouble turning it over to cook the other side, but I just patted it back together. This is a great addition to bunch and my whole family loved it. I used the food processor to grate the onion and potato and it took no time at all to get into the frying pan. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada May 21, 2006

Made them for lunch yesterday, didn't have any onion so made them without, put cheese in half of them which was good. Will make again with onion, and maybe bacon for more flavour. Made them in the food procesor which was quick and easy, and made individual portions. Very tasty and easy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aussie mum 2_2 April 10, 2005

I must admit I had my doubts as I stood there grating the potatoes and onion with juices flying everywhere (haha), but these were very good! I had to add a lot more flour than the recipe called for, but my husband really loved how they turned out. I think the food processor would've been a lot easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Casiegrl August 11, 2004

These are wonderful comfort food, and proof that delicious meals can easily be made from simple and inexpensive ingredients. I used your method and made one large pancake, and they were a great light supper with bacon one night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie June 05, 2004
Norm's Potato Cakes