Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Norm's Potato Cakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Norm's Potato Cakes

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe I will be making many times over for brunch/lunch. It looks so attractive on the table and it's so easy to put together with the food processor, especially if you use your "plate" method. This time I used the mixed herbs option and I also added two fat cloves of garlic. Next time I think I will throw in some sharp cheddar as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This was ok. I made it with out any add-ins and made the one big cake in the pan...I flipped it out onto a flat cookie sheet because none of my plates were big enough...it's hard to turn it out on a plate when the pan is hot...anyway the cookie sheet worked pretty well. I also added more flour than the recipe called for, and now I wonder if that is what made these taste a little bland to me? I'm not sure...but I like the idea and will try again...maybe adding some bacon like another reviewer suggested for added flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      These were great! I was looking for something different tonight instead of mashed or baked potatoes. I followed the recipe as written but did need to add extra flour. The family really enjoyed them and requested I make them again soon. Next time I may experiment with added ingredients just for the fun of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I really enjoyed this... My dad used too make this for us as kids. We called it "brownie's" flat like pancakes, i know that what "shermans" (yanks)call chocolate slice... we would have it smothered in (dead horse)sauce...eta BBQ or Tomato... Thanks for the recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      These were wonderful! I added cheese, corn and herbs and served with Mexican-style tomato salsa for SO and DS. As I don't eat white potato, I made a small batch for myself using sweet potato, with a touch of cinnamon. I used a rice bran oil spray and baked my batch in the oven, while the boys enjoyed theirs fried in butter and oil!! Thanks for a tasty, versatile recipe, Kooka!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      When I was growing up, my grandmother made latkes very similar to these. I added a little bit of milk, a bit more flour, and a bit more pepper to the mixture. I didn't add any optional ingredients (I'm a latke purist). I will probably add another small onion next time. I made these into little cakes, and we ate these with sour cream and applesauce. They were very good; almost as good as grandma's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      I made this for brunch this morning. I added about an extra tablespoon of flour and a small handful of cheddar cheese. I cooked it at a lower temperature for about 45 minutes. I cooked it as one big piece. I had a little trouble turning it over to cook the other side, but I just patted it back together. This is a great addition to bunch and my whole family loved it. I used the food processor to grate the onion and potato and it took no time at all to get into the frying pan. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      Made them for lunch yesterday, didn't have any onion so made them without, put cheese in half of them which was good. Will make again with onion, and maybe bacon for more flavour. Made them in the food procesor which was quick and easy, and made individual portions. Very tasty and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      I must admit I had my doubts as I stood there grating the potatoes and onion with juices flying everywhere (haha), but these were very good! I had to add a lot more flour than the recipe called for, but my husband really loved how they turned out. I think the food processor would've been a lot easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2004

      These are wonderful comfort food, and proof that delicious meals can easily be made from simple and inexpensive ingredients. I used your method and made one large pancake, and they were a great light supper with bacon one night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Norm's Potato Cakes

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 428.7
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    32%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 108.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 398.5 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.1 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes