60 Reviews

I love how the only 1 star rating for these rolls was from someone who did not even follow the recipe and decided to use whole wheat flour, then complain that these are dry. Stick to the recipe and these will be soft as snow and sooo yummy. I did not roll these out. I have learned that rolling out your dough makes it tough. I just sprayed cooking spray on one hand and rubbed hands together, then grabbed a nice size chunk of dough and threw it on a baking stone. I place them close together so when they were done you had to tear them apart. I also spread the tops with butter right out of the oven. these are to die for. Oh and lowered the temp to 350. I am from the south so we are not high altitude here. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tigershoes January 07, 2010

OUTSTANDING! What a great recipe. Perfect flavor, perfect texture, easy as can be and quick to boot. I mixed and kneaded the dough with my Kitchen Aid mixer and let it rise right in the bowl. Then I kneaded it again with the mixer. I took a shortcut on shaping the rolls, just pressing into a 9x12 pan and cutting into twelve pieces before baking. Thank you for a true 5 star keeper Linda! Made for Zaar Stars tag game, please see my rating system (I promise to make this again soon so I can give it the 5 stars it deserves)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup May 19, 2012

These were delicious. Made as directed except I baked at 350 on the advice of other reviewers. Mine were ready in about 17 minutes. I've eaten two and am going to head back for the third as soon as I'm done typing. Thanks for sharing. This is the recipe I'll turn to when I want quick and yummy rolls. Update. I used the suggestion from puppitypup and mixed in my Kitchen Aid. I let it rise in the Kitchen Aid and then kneaded it again with the Kitchen Aid. Normally I like to do the kneading by hand but what a time saver especially when you have a 4 year old that likes to help knead dough! Thanks for the great suggestion.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo November 16, 2009

AMAZING rolls...my family devoured them. I'm not a big bread fan & I even loved them!
I didn't have oil, so used mayo & shortening & it didn't affect the recipe at all....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vikkibecker7 October 19, 2011

These rolls couldn't be better. I loved the flavor of the yeast, and how delicious they were with our meal. They are quick to make and very tasty! I can't wait to have them with some homemade beans and hot dogs some Saturday night! My DS who is four ate 2 of them and asked for another one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustMeMelMel February 25, 2011

Mmmm....so good. Great after dinner with some butter and jam too! I didn't have time to let it rise the full time so on my next try I bet they will be even fluffier! Thanks for the new recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisalisa1001 February 07, 2011

I have been meaning to make these rolls for a long time and finally did. They are so delicious and smelled so good while baking. I can't imagine anyone ever thinking these are bland!!! They are the ultimate roll as far as I am concerned and I look forward to having them with beans and hot dogs on saturday nights!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BillieJoeUtah November 19, 2010

I had to make one very significant change in this recipe. Sorry about that. Since i had a previous bad experience with yeast not working, i proofed the yeast this time to make sure the yeast was working. I also scaled down the recipe to serve 6, as this was the first time i was making rolls. This came out very well. of course the rolls were very small and i made the into small clover shaped rolls. They tasted real good and of course the credit is yours, and I am sorry about the change, but that is due to my own inexperience with working with yeast. Thank you very much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sangeetha May 30, 2010

5 stars for ease of recipe - these come together soooo quickly! I think next time I will add slightly more salt - I used 2 packets of yeast as I didn't have cakes - and I used olive oil. I rolled them into balls (20) and let them rise that final time before baking at 350 - they were a very good yeast roll.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixiesmom January 31, 2010

Light rolls with flavor that will knock your socks off! Topped with butter and dripping as you eat em, these are amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymcleod62 August 13, 2009
Norma's Quick Rolls