Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Norma's Quick Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Norma's Quick Rolls

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2010

      I love how the only 1 star rating for these rolls was from someone who did not even follow the recipe and decided to use whole wheat flour, then complain that these are dry. Stick to the recipe and these will be soft as snow and sooo yummy. I did not roll these out. I have learned that rolling out your dough makes it tough. I just sprayed cooking spray on one hand and rubbed hands together, then grabbed a nice size chunk of dough and threw it on a baking stone. I place them close together so when they were done you had to tear them apart. I also spread the tops with butter right out of the oven. these are to die for. Oh and lowered the temp to 350. I am from the south so we are not high altitude here. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      OUTSTANDING! What a great recipe. Perfect flavor, perfect texture, easy as can be and quick to boot. I mixed and kneaded the dough with my Kitchen Aid mixer and let it rise right in the bowl. Then I kneaded it again with the mixer. I took a shortcut on shaping the rolls, just pressing into a 9x12 pan and cutting into twelve pieces before baking. Thank you for a true 5 star keeper Linda! Made for Zaar Stars tag game, please see my rating system (I promise to make this again soon so I can give it the 5 stars it deserves)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      AMAZING rolls...my family devoured them. I'm not a big bread fan & I even loved them!
      I didn't have oil, so used mayo & shortening & it didn't affect the recipe at all....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      These rolls couldn't be better. I loved the flavor of the yeast, and how delicious they were with our meal. They are quick to make and very tasty! I can't wait to have them with some homemade beans and hot dogs some Saturday night! My DS who is four ate 2 of them and asked for another one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Mmmm....so good. Great after dinner with some butter and jam too! I didn't have time to let it rise the full time so on my next try I bet they will be even fluffier! Thanks for the new recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      I have been meaning to make these rolls for a long time and finally did. They are so delicious and smelled so good while baking. I can't imagine anyone ever thinking these are bland!!! They are the ultimate roll as far as I am concerned and I look forward to having them with beans and hot dogs on saturday nights!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I had to make one very significant change in this recipe. Sorry about that. Since i had a previous bad experience with yeast not working, i proofed the yeast this time to make sure the yeast was working. I also scaled down the recipe to serve 6, as this was the first time i was making rolls. This came out very well. of course the rolls were very small and i made the into small clover shaped rolls. They tasted real good and of course the credit is yours, and I am sorry about the change, but that is due to my own inexperience with working with yeast. Thank you very much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      5 stars for ease of recipe - these come together soooo quickly! I think next time I will add slightly more salt - I used 2 packets of yeast as I didn't have cakes - and I used olive oil. I rolled them into balls (20) and let them rise that final time before baking at 350 - they were a very good yeast roll.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      These were delicious. Made as directed except I baked at 350 on the advice of other reviewers. Mine were ready in about 17 minutes. I've eaten two and am going to head back for the third as soon as I'm done typing. Thanks for sharing. This is the recipe I'll turn to when I want quick and yummy rolls. Update. I used the suggestion from puppitypup and mixed in my Kitchen Aid. I let it rise in the Kitchen Aid and then kneaded it again with the Kitchen Aid. Normally I like to do the kneading by hand but what a time saver especially when you have a 4 year old that likes to help knead dough! Thanks for the great suggestion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Light rolls with flavor that will knock your socks off! Topped with butter and dripping as you eat em, these are amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      A really lovely,and simple roll recipe,that produces perfect results with little effort. I usually would let the liquid,sugar and yeast sit for a little while to foam up,but I followed the instructions,and got right on with it.The dough came together beautifully,and was wonderfully smooth,elastic and a real pleasure to work with. The aroma in the kitchen as these were baking was simply torturous,and once they were out,they tasted just amazing. This recipe is going to become a regular without a shadow of a doubt...Many thanks Linda for another winner!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      Oh wow these were great!! I made them into cinnamon rolls. I did decrease the heat to 350 for 20-22 minutes and they turned out fine. They were getting a little too brown on the bottom after only about 9 minutes so I turned it down to 350. I frosted with a simple buttercream frosting. Yummy breakfast this morning--and sooo easy! Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      Quick and easy! I made 12 hamburger-sized rolls for pulled pork sandwiches and my family devoured them. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      these are truly fastand awesome. I got even better results using bread flour

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      NUM?! Made these today on the spur of the moment. Followed others' suggestions to increase salt, bake at 350 (I used convection as I've yet to figure out why my new blinged out gas stove won't brown ANYTHING), and tried out the Kitchenaid. I did have to add about 1/4 cup of flour to the 2nd mechanical knead, but that might have been more user error than anything else. Put 12 balls in my only muffin tin and 12 in a square pan. Eating a buttered one with cheese right now. KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      These definitely need more salt. And skip the directions to roll them out and cut them. I tried that and made half that way and half were made just grabbing a hunk of dough and forming a smooth ball - the second method was overwhelmingly better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      Quick and easy but relatively flavorless,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      These were great! They were a little bland but that can be easily remedied by adding some seasonings to the dough. And, with the soup I made, dunking added all it needed. Perfect texture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Turned out nice, but tasted bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      these were fun and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Norma's Quick Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (41 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 100.7
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    18%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 58.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites